We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chinese Food, But Service is Wanting”

ABC Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 69 Restaurants in Foster City
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Shell Blvd
Reviewed July 9, 2018

ABC has an extensive menu of Chinese food from which to choose, although some items tend to be a bit pricey. The service, however, left something to be desired as it appeared as if the non-Chinese, non-Asian customer was a bit of an inconvenience; we almost felt staff was hostile because we were Western. This really ruined what would have otherwise been an outstanding, five-star experience.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank treborz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 92 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2018

We have been coming to ABC Seafood Restaurant for Dim Sum for about 10 years now & it never disappoints. The wait could be long, which is never good, but once you get seated it is worth it.

Service can be off & on. Like the last visit, we asked for hot yellow mustard & it took asking 4 times before we finally got it. Water refills can also be very challenging.

I miss the carts they use to push around the Dining Room, but they now use a menu to write your orders. The food is always really good, making Dim Sum one of my favorite foods. My wife & I enjoy coming here & I can't wait to come back.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michaelkT1957ZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful restaurant in a little shopping center. Well attended no locals and workers from nearby. Traditional Chinese dishes that were served quickly and were hot and delicious. Chicken and veggie potstickers were ample in size, shrimp dumpling were super crisp and a delight to eat. The tea braised chicken was super moist and enough to share. Truly a wonderful meal and site not to miss.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

ABC Seafood restaurant once had a reputation as one of the top dim sum and seafood restaurants in the Bay Area. Sadly the quality of the food and service has declined precipitously over the years. I quit coming to this restaurant for many years but tried it again last year. I was pleased to see quality had returned.

Revisited the restaurant today and found the experience very disappointing. Deep fried food was cold and unappealing. The pork dumpling was also one of the worst I have ever eaten. The last dish was served 20 minutes after the previous dish , long after we no longer felt like eating anymore. Service was non-existent.

What a Sad disappointment to what was once a great restaurant.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Lacheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile

Dumplings were uneventful. Two small pieces of plain pork folded in fried dough. No sauce served with them or anything flavorful to go along. Hot tea is served on arrival and was good looseleaf tea. Chairs were dark in color, yet still visibly stained. As was the extremely dirty floor, which clearly hasn’t ever been cleaned. Fried rice dish was bland, I’ve had better. Despite being at one of only two occupied tables in the entire restaurant, the service was terrible, slow, with lack of attention.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank hotvacation2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ABC Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to ABC Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing