We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I read ALL the reviews”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #46 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Fremont, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish I read ALL the reviews”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just arrived from a weekend's stay. If cheap is what you want, you can get cheap elsewhere in the same area, but sooooo....much better. No elevator, no AC but allegedly with a heater, which does not work! Pictures on internet look great but REALLY! It is old and dirty. Booked 3 rooms for an alleged "bargain". Our room with 2 Queen size beds only had TWO really rough towels, which weren't even white. When we called the front desk for 2 additional towels, no answer. Could not sleep all night from feeling cold. Didn't want to use the quilt cover which only made me sneeze due to dust. We were coughing all night from the musty smell. It was either living with the smell or the cold at night (when we open the windows). And, what continental breakfast? Got there at 8 am and all doughnut were gone! Fortunately our dear friend sneaked us into Comfort suite the the buffet breakfast. And her room was so clean and new, for only $67. It had a King size bed and a sofa bed, soft white towels and nice clean and soft pillows and bedding! Now we know. Never again!

Room Tip: Don't go there. Horrible...REALLY. It is like a motel 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    18
    18
    24
    48
See reviews for
39
40
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The staff really is great we asked for extra blanket in the evening as weather was cold. Chris brought it up who took care of us on checkin and recommended a faboulus steak house in town. Rooms were nice clean and spacious with plenty of space to walk around. We slept comfortable well and was quite as rooms were interior corridors. We had a nice view of the pool and looked good to jump into if there weather was better. The breakfast was decent with they had a variety of cereal tried oatmeal.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCKINLEYVILLE
Level Contributor
169 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just be warned. They have the old "Chiller" system, so you only get one: heat OR A/C. not both choices. When they deem it necessary, they will change over to A/C. same with heat. In 2nd week of Feb., didn't need either. I like to cool down after a hot shower in the morning, so I do appreciate having the A/C option(which I didn't have). We were told twice on the phone while making the reservation(had to call back after getting the rate online-they're not authorized to give you the cheaper online rate over the phone), that they would bring in a microwave for us. we asked again when we saw there wasn't one at check in. When we came back from dancing, there still wasn't one. so much for those leftovers in the cooler. The room was big and attractive. I only gave them a 2 out of 5 for the TV on their Comment card but now I forget why. A lot of places are putting a cap on the volume now. which I hate when the heater is running and you can't hear. Lighting, generally, everywhere, leaves a lot to be desired. The staff was friendly, but we never did get that microwave. no pool/hot tub. One of our favorite BV's is in Santa Rosa, CA, but I'd probably only stay at this one again if it was just for one night to sleep and run. and I would avoid it March, April(in case they haven't switched to A/C yet) or Dec./Jan. (because I still like cooling after hot showers).

Room Tip: DO ask what they currently have on, or will have on, when you'll be there: either the heat or th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fresno hotels

Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This is a large, older style motel. We couldn't believe how large the room was. Our room was quiet, comfortable and very pleasant. We booked on a booking site @ $60 (Aus) for the night. Our cheapest accommodation in California and one of our preferred rooms.
Location was good and easy to find. Breakfast was only fair, but 'filled a hole'.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WTP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Conveniently located close to freeway good on and off ramp access. Less than 2 hours on 41 from Yosemite's south gate. Plenty of free off street parking for the R/V. It is an older hotel complex but very clean and well maintained. With Inter hallways and the double queen room we stayed in was roomier than most. The free continental breakfast was limited to only 2 cold cereal choices with only powered coffee creamer. The breakfast self service area was crowded and we had to wait in line for each breakfast item. With a better breakfast area, more continental breakfast selections and some real coffee creamer I would give this establishment four stars.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

In between camping in King's Canyon National Park and Yosemite, we decided to spend the night in Fresno. After cruising up and down the street a few times to scope out the other hotel properties (Motel 6, Quality Inn, etc.), we settled on the Water Tree based on looks (clean, no thugs hanging outside the room doors) and price. The hotel clerk was super nice and was more than happy to price match. The first floor room we got was HUGE (two queens plus enough floor space for a small yoga class) and very clean. Everything was a little bit dated (rotary phone in the bathroom!) but who cares, it had a shower and bed and felt safe.

Room Tip: Use your smartphone to find the best price and get the clerk to match
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annibella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

This hotel had nice comfortable rooms spacius rooms the hotel had mini fridge coffee maker and basic room values. Will return next time in town.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank romans45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fresno hotels
0.8 km away
The Hotel Fresno
The Hotel Fresno
#44 of 64 in Fresno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.6 km away
Best Western Village Inn
5.8 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - Fresno Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Extended Stay America - Fresno - North
8.5 km away
Ramada Fresno Northwest
Ramada Fresno Northwest
#26 of 64 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
6.9 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#31 of 64 in Fresno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 4141 N Blackstone Ave, Fresno, CA 93726-3808 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway)
Region: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you as our guest on your way to or coming from experiencing all of the natural beauty to found as you explore Yosemite National Park, Sequoia National Park and Kings Canyon National Park. For your convience Walmart Superstore is just accross the street. Feeling like testing your luck? We are a short drive from Table Mountain Casino and Chukhansi Casino. These are just a few of the wonderful adventures and experiences that await you as a guest of the Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway. Take advantage of Red Roof Inn Fresno - Yosemite Gateway's relaxing outdoor pool (open from April-October). All rooms are 100% non-smoking and complete with free WiFi, a refrigerator, hair dryer, iron & ironing board and work area. Also, enjoy a microwave and 32" LCD TVs in our newly renovated rooms. We have a conference room for your business meetings or our business center is open to assist you with any needs. We know it will be hard to leave, so late check-out is available. Enjoy complimentary coffeehouse style coffee and tea in the lobby. Don't feel like going to a restaurant? Relax and take advantage of our order-in feature. If you are traveling for business, for fun, for nature, the Red Roof Inn Fresno-Yosemite Gateway is here to welcome you to Fresno and welcome you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Fresno Water Tree Hotel Fresno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing