We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$185
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Benbow Historic Inn(Garberville)
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garberville Motel(Garberville)
US$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn of the Lost Coast(Shelter Cove)
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
12
18
15
10
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
18
15
10
19
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 74 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2016

Room was clean, breakfast better than average for this type of motel. Easy access in beautiful area with the largest trees you will find anywhere. The town can truly be called Funky but there are a number of simple but very good cafes.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequenttravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2016

Hotel is easily accessible from highway. The office is not staffed continuously so you need to know that and be OK with that. Check-in was easy as long as I made the time window when the front office person would be there.

Room was clean and spacious. Grounds need trimming and you can't use the swimming pool (but we weren't planning to do so anyway).

This was the perfect stay for us as we began our Avenue of the Giants sightseeing trip.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PhxTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2015 via mobile

Dingy room that smelled stuffy on entry. Poor lighting, almost non-existent internet. Difficult to find power sockets. Over priced.

The good point was the nice guy on reception.


Need I say more? Well the tv was poor and the carpet stained.



Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank GuyRocksOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2015

Having said that, if you can afford the Benbow Inn, you'll be fine. After all, it isn't actually IN Garberville
If not, and you can afford to stay at the Best Western, and to eat there, and stay in your car all the time you're not in the hotel you'll be fine
If you can't afford the Best Western, you really need to stay somewhere else
Garberville has a really bad drug problem, and it's really not a nice place for normal people
There are scores of reprobates roaming the streets
They live rough around the other hotels
When they have a bit of money, they club together and a room at the budget motels
We ended up here after refusing to stay at the Motel Garberville but really, this place isn't a right lot better
The carpet was absolutely minging
The sheets, if they had been changed, had not been ironed
Lord knows what the brown blanket with the fag burns was hiding
We paid over $100 and slept on top of the bed in our jackets, fearing what we might catch, and we kept our shoes on to walk to the bathroom
It's really not nice in Garberville
Don't stay here

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank GRWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here the night before visiting the Avenue of he Giants. There are probably 4 hotels right on this street and this is was the only hotel with vacancy. We were told it was the second nicest in town. All the hotels are pretty old but adequately maintained. Clean, quiet and met our need for the night.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews