We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Garberville”

Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Garberville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2016

This is a three star hotel so do not expect more that that. What we got was a clean and spacious room. (Room 23 for us) Bed was very comfortable and that was the reason we were there. Bathroom was spacious and again clean. It is at the start of town when traveling North. It was quiet even though closer to the Freeway. As noted the pool is not worth swimming in, but you are probably there to see the Redwoods and you are much better to find a swimming hole on the River, Owner is very friendly and helpful, and one of the nicest we came across. As noted by others the reception is not manned but the owner is only a couple of minutes away. We love these older motels with personality. It is part of Americana. So not a generic Best Western!! Support the local community by staying at a local hotel. For Food we recommend Eel River Cafe for Breakfast and Calicos which has live music for dinner. Both are full of personality and great hosts and great food. The locals are an eclectic bunch but we found them all very friendly when we worked up the nerve to talk with them.

Room Tip: Room 23 has two queen beds and is at one end of the hotel. Is a very large room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2016

Room was clean, breakfast better than average for this type of motel. Easy access in beautiful area with the largest trees you will find anywhere. The town can truly be called Funky but there are a number of simple but very good cafes.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequenttravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Hotel is easily accessible from highway. The office is not staffed continuously so you need to know that and be OK with that. Check-in was easy as long as I made the time window when the front office person would be there.

Room was clean and spacious. Grounds need trimming and you can't use the swimming pool (but we weren't planning to do so anyway).

This was the perfect stay for us as we began our Avenue of the Giants sightseeing trip.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PhxTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

Dingy room that smelled stuffy on entry. Poor lighting, almost non-existent internet. Difficult to find power sockets. Over priced.

The good point was the nice guy on reception.


Need I say more? Well the tv was poor and the carpet stained.



Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank GuyRocksOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Having said that, if you can afford the Benbow Inn, you'll be fine. After all, it isn't actually IN Garberville
If not, and you can afford to stay at the Best Western, and to eat there, and stay in your car all the time you're not in the hotel you'll be fine
If you can't afford the Best Western, you really need to stay somewhere else
Garberville has a really bad drug problem, and it's really not a nice place for normal people
There are scores of reprobates roaming the streets
They live rough around the other hotels
When they have a bit of money, they club together and a room at the budget motels
We ended up here after refusing to stay at the Motel Garberville but really, this place isn't a right lot better
The carpet was absolutely minging
The sheets, if they had been changed, had not been ironed
Lord knows what the brown blanket with the fag burns was hiding
We paid over $100 and slept on top of the bed in our jackets, fearing what we might catch, and we kept our shoes on to walk to the bathroom
It's really not nice in Garberville
Don't stay here

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank GRWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed here the night before visiting the Avenue of he Giants. There are probably 4 hotels right on this street and this is was the only hotel with vacancy. We were told it was the second nicest in town. All the hotels are pretty old but adequately maintained. Clean, quiet and met our need for the night.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

Like many others, we chose this place because it was close to the Avenue of the Giants. Also, because the only Best Western in town wanted $180/night. When we first opened our door, there was a quarter size spider on the wall above the bed. The maid came in and killed it with a broom since it was out of reach. No big deal, I can handle one spider... But then we killed 3 other spiders and an earwig IN/ON THE BEDS. My aunt and uncle got a room 4 doors down and they had sugar ants IN THEIR BED!!! Just an overall GROSS place!! Pool was too green to even think about swimming in. Coffee pots in the rooms didnt work and were very dirty. Never ever EVER!!!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
4  Thank Brittney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Humboldt Redwoods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humboldt Redwoods Inn

Address: 987 Redwood Dr, Pob 98, Garberville, CA 95542-3114
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Garberville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Garberville
Price Range: $150 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Humboldt Redwoods Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Humboldt Redwoods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humboldt Redwoods Hotel Garberville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing