We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a quick trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Gilroy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed in the "Family Suite" over the weekend. It was the 2 bd/ 1 and 1/2 bath. It was not quite what I expected from pictures and reviews. We had to change rooms because first suite only had 1 bath. Front desk was visibly annoyed with our change. The beds were comfy but rooms small - especially the one with single queen. Barely room to turn around in especially the half bathroom (no counter space). Only one TV in room with the two queens. It was small - and out dated - sound was funky. Difficult to hear over heater running without being overly loud. Small frigerator was in the closet. Bathroom was dated with standard size tub. Exterior also dated with what seemed to be truckers in the area. It was quiet but they were smoking outside the door ways frequently as we passed in and out of the building. Laundry on property was convienent. Breakfast was okay - a positive is the small menu variations day to day. Staff at breakfast was great - very attentive, polite, and responsive. It was clean but the dated carpet and tile took away from this factor.

Room Tip: If you need more than one room, it is better to get the second room than to try to save costs by boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1BigNDNFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

we stayed at the forest park inn for one night, and it was one of the best nights of our whole trip!
the room and the bed were very big, clean with updated design. The breakfast was really good with alot of options to choose from.

if you are on a road trip, going on highway one and tired looking for a place to sleep- this is it!
great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeredMBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Comfortable:
Great beds with soft bedding... we could have slept all day if we didn't have to get to Palo Alto
Easy to use/romantic fireplace
Clean and newly renovated
Very quiet

Charming:
An unexpected tennis court!
Very friendly staff

Convenient:
We were driving from LA to Palo Alto... without any traffic (late night) it was 4.5 hours from LA, and a little less than an hour from Palo Alto. We chose to stay over night here because the hotel is a MUCH better value than the hotels closer to P.A.

We would stay here again and would absolutely recommend it to others, especially if traveling by car from SoCal to Silicon Valley

Room Tip: I'm not sure if the whole hotel has been renovated... ask to stay in the new section for the nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avideno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

After a long, tedious day of driving from South Orange County to the San Jose area on I-5, we somehow found ourselves at a good stopping point in Gilroy, the Garlic Capital of the World. While there are a few inns near the acres-long and -wide outlet mall across the highway, we stayed at the Best Western Forest Park Inn, closer to what would be the older part of downtown Gilroy.
By 7 p.m., we were hungry and minivan-happy, and this Best Western looked like the place to unwind. We unpacked and stretched out on the clean beds with the bedspreads folded down while my 12-year-old performed her bedbug inspection routine. It passed! We ambled over to the restaurant on the premises, the Black Bear Diner, for home-cooked pot roast and tilapia,
We ended up staying another night, because the location was close to San Jose, and Gilroy is quiet and lowkey. The inn's breakfast was better than most I've had at Best Westerns, with fresh fruits, eggs, waffles, and muffins and breads that tasted like they came from a local bakery and not from a Little Debbie box.
Everything was clean and quiet, and the front desk service was especially helpful with directions into San Jose and Santa Clara, even providing a Google Maps printout.
Would I return? Certainly. My kids loved the koi pond and bridge just outside the front office. And on our first evening, when I stepped out of the minivan, a wind kicked up the scent of fresh garlic from local fields. For garlic lovers - that's a heavenly aroma.

Room Tip: To ensure a quiet stay, choose a unit toward the back of the property and away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwforestparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western PLUS Forest Park Inn. Our staff is so glad that you enjoyed the wonderful services we offer! Gilroy has much more to offer during your next stay, such as the Gilroy Gardens theme park. It is a wonderful outing to enjoy with the kids! We look forward to seeing you again at the Best Western PLUS Forest Park Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Room 328 has a nice 32 inch flat panel TV - however it is bolted to a flat wall and does not tilt - so you can't watch it while laying in bed - There is one chair across from the TV but I like to lay in bed and watch tv.

They have limited channels and no HD channels - Why install an nice HD flat panel with no HD channels - the volume fluctuated between channel and the picture within the screen was set on a narrow wide picture instead of full picture and the occcupant can not correct it because the setup buttons on the tv and remote are disabled. The picture on many channels had snow like in the olden days when someone turned on an electrical appliance near a tv.

So in the end yoiu have a nice TV with snow a poor picture that only uses 50% of the actual screen size and can't watch TV from the bed

4 canned recessed lights on 4 differrent switches, hidden behind lamps and other furnishings
The light over the desk is controlled by the light switch by the front door. 2 lights are either are burned out.

The wall mounted heater fan is so loud that you can not hear the TV over the fan.
The heater fan does not go off on Auto you have to turn it off and then the room gets cold.

The tiniest microwave ever - a bag of popcorn will not even fit in it.

The Refrigerator was off (to save energy) but never got cold even overnight.

The bed was was comfortable and the gas fire place is a nice touch

In the end I would rather have functional working things then nice decor.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I have been staying often on business. The rooms I have been have been comfortable with updated amenities. I greatly appreciate the wireless access, the fitness center and the included breakfast.

The entrance hall to each room reminds me a little of "Dad's remodeled basement" but there are nice desks with chair to work at and the toilet/shower is separate from the vanity in the bathroom. A small refrigerator is inside the closet with mirrored doors.

The fitness center has a good selection of equipment; I note that the nordic trac has been out of order for some time. I do appreciate the TV, towels and cold water available. Breakfast area has plenty of seating, make your own waffle irons, some fresh fruit. Bacon day is great! Mild salsa in addition to the hot sauce offered would help the egg selection. There is a selection of cereals, breads, pastries, and oatmeal packets. Coffee, tea, milk, etc.

Plenty of parking and an adjoining Black Bear diner. Reasonably priced and just a short distance from the Outlets. Friendly, helpful desk staff.

Room Tip: I prefer bottom floor for easier access to the car and the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed here on route to Yosemite as the hotel was conveniently located for us. The room was very comfortable. All the usual amenities of a Best Western. Plenty of parking space and a Black Bear restaurant next door.

Gilroy seems to be the garlic capital of the US, possibly the world. As you drive into town you can smell garlic on the air. We like garlic so didn't mind this but if you don't then best stay on 101 until you get to the next town. Staff were friendly when we checked in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilroy
3.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Gilroy
0.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gilroy
0.1 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 9 in Gilroy
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Days Inn Gilroy
Days Inn Gilroy
#8 of 9 in Gilroy
251 reviews
13.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Morgan Hill-San Jose South
12 km away
Hampton Inn Morgan Hill
Hampton Inn Morgan Hill
#2 of 13 in Morgan Hill
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn

Address: 375 Leavesley Rd, Gilroy, CA 95020-3606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Gilroy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Gilroy
Price Range: $129 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this Gilroy hotel offering all the comforts and conveniences of home and near key area attractions and businesses.Whether traveling on business or staying for a relaxing getaway, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn is the ideal place to stay. Located in Gilroy, California, guests staying at this hotel will be treated to all the comforts of home while being conveniently located to a variety of area businesses and attractions.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn offers beautifully appointed guest rooms all with private balconies to enjoy the peaceful Gilroy nights. Each warm and spacious guest room at this Gilroy hotel comes fully equipped with a refrigerator, coffeemaker, cable satellite television with HBO®, in-room movies, Nintendo® and high-speed internet access. Guests are welcome to a complimentary full breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, spa and steam room, exercise facility and meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 150 guests.Within a short car ride from the hotel, guests can enjoy spending the day touring a variety of area wineries. Families especially will enjoy being located just three miles from Gilroy Garden Theme Park. Shopping enthusiasts will appreciate this hotel's close proximity to the Gilroy Premium Outlet Mall. Gilroy also hosts a variety of events year round including the Gilroy Garlic Festival and Hollister Biker Rally.Make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Forest Park Hotel Gilroy
Best Western Forest
Best Western Gilroy
Gilroy Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing