We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beltane Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beltane Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
franklinma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“beautiful and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

we selected Beltane Ranch because of it's beautiful setting and we were not disappointed. The accomodations suited us perfectly. We were in room #1 which was a corner room and we spent many hours sitting out and enjoying the awsome porch, from breakfast in the morning, to afternoon cheese and crackers with their wonderful Sauvignon Blanc (which they produce), until late into the evening under the stars. Upstairs corner unit was actually 2 rooms which had 2 entrances. Porch went around side of building and provided seating at both front and back of propery with great views from each. Owners were friendly and accomodating and we found the location perfect for exploring wine country. It wasn,t "fancy'' but it gave us such a wonderful feeling while on the property that we truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capekathybrewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    23
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
93
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

From the outside, the Beltane Ranch looks beautiful, even historic. Inside however, it's a different story. The decor was very outdated, the carpet grimy, the bed uncomfortable. Overall I was disappointed and didn't feel comfortable. There is a lot of noise from other guests (thin walls?). The location is not ideal (a bit of a drive to anything). The breakfast, however, was wonderful and the staff was very nice. It was ok, but I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank two_green_peas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

What a place!! Such a stunning location - the grounds and gardens were beautiful and thoroughly enjoyable to walk around. The room was tastefully decorated and was very clean. It was lovely to sit out on the porch in the morning and again in the morning (enjoying a superb breakfast). We felt so relaxed and at ease and only wish we had booked more than 1 night! Thank you so much Beltane Ranch!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

A wonderful garden, lovely room, breakfast brought to us in the garden in the morning.

Nothing was too much trouble here, great advice on places to eat, we would recommend Fig Cafe in Glen Ellen for excellent food and great service.

You arrive at Beltane Ranch and just instantly relax, I cannot say better than that!

Try a bottle of their Chardonnay, which you can chill in the guest drive on the back veranda and drink in the garden in the evening....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polli396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

My wife loved this stay. It was beautiful, few rooms, cattle on site and wonderful grounds. It helped that on their web site it noted Victoria secret did photo shoots here. That aside, the room was great, nice bath and sofa with tables on the upstairs porch. My only item was no tv, well, sometimes that is nice. You could get a clear view of the stars at night and it was very quiet. They had a nice breakfast and were pleasant to deal with. A thumbs up review for this location!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quicktraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Beltane Ranch was a perfect setting for a group of high school friends (from the 60's, in our 60's, hmmm!) who like to relax and have fun. We started our mornings with a walk or just gathering in the breakfast area waiting for the delicious farm-fresh breakfast. We spent our days exploring Sonoma valley, the towns, parks, restaurants and of course the wineries! Then in the evenings we gathered outside near the wonderful gardens, and then spent hours sharing the bottles of wine, fruit, cheese, snacks while we told wonderful stories of our past. Since we had the whole inn to our group, we could laugh heartily without disturbing anyone. The rooms were clean and comfortable, in keeping with the heritage of the Inn, but not luxurious for those expecting fine hotel-style accommodations. Our group has gathered all around the US every few years for 20 years, and this was probably the most preferred choice by all. We think we'll be back in 2 years!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze_n_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

If you are looking for a place to spend a few slow-paced days in the Sonoma Valley, Beltane Ranch is the perfect choice. We spent 2 nights, and I wish we had stayed longer!

The entire facility is rustic and homey, but still clean and comfortable. The breakfast is nothing short of excellent.

Be sure to set aside some time to spend wandering around the gardens and grounds, enjoying a glass of wine on the porch, and admiring the spectacular scenery. It would be a shame to stay at Beltane Ranch and not take time to "stop and smell the roses."

If you are looking for contemporary, upscale decor and a room with all the modern conveniences, this is probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 225Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
2.9 km away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
2.1 km away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
13.2 km away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
12.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
2.9 km away
Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beltane Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beltane Ranch

Property: Beltane Ranch
Address: 11775 Sonoma Highway, Glen Ellen, CA 95442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the wine country and surrounded by estate gardens, vineyards and orchards, the historic Beltane Ranch sits on a hill overlooking the breathtaking Valley of the Moon. Guests enjoy walking trails, a tennis court, home grown produce and olive oil and incomparable sunsets on the sprawling grounds. The historic wineries, extraordinary cuisine and boutique shopping of the Sonoma Valley make for endless opportunities for adventure and exploration. Winner of Congressman Huffman's North Bay Sustainablity Award, Beltane Ranch is also a 100% Certified Sustainable Vineyard & Winery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beltane Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beltane Ranch Hotel Glen Ellen
Beltane Ranch Glen Ellen, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing