We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Great place to visit and it's FREE!

The Chinook salmon were still running up the fish ladders so we took a look. It's interesting to... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
rodneyk601
,
United States
Beach day at the Flat

Nimbus Flat has a nice swimming area, and there are sailboats, kayaks, a SUPS for rent. The beach... read more

Reviewed August 8, 2018
seashoregal05
,
Roseville, California
Read all 58 reviews
  
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
35
19
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
19
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salmon run fish ladder american river small museum lake natoma release geese trail upstream visitors
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 58 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2017

really fun to catch fish by the dam. Whenever i go, i always catch at least one. For me this is like the only spot that i would recommend to catch salmon.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Gabriel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2017

The fish hatchery is an awesome place to visit. I have visited it several times and I did just this month. Even though there are no fish right now it is great o see the river so high and flowing so well. The hatchery is a great entry point to the trails along the river.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank ryj706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

This is a great weekend stop on The American River Parkway for a long or short hike to clear your mind and recreate.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2017

We love visiting the hatchery. The hatchery offers a free toddler story and craft time during the cooler months (too hot in summer). We love watching the fish jumping up the ladder during salmon season. It is so wonderful to have a great educational place for the family to come and learn about nature.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank SaraJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2017

Love birding this area of the American River from autumn through spring and the observing the salmon run (raptors!) in the fall is such a treat just a few miles from home!

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank A548HYsarahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews