We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Solid 2 1/2 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rancho Cordova/folsom
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gold River
Certificate of Excellence
idaho
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Solid 2 1/2 Star”
Reviewed 23 January 2010

The hotel has 3 floors, I asked for a quiet room and got the top floor and enjoyed my 11 night stay. My room was a little stuffy on arrival so I keep the window open and that helped. The room worked out great for me and was a good size with a kitchenette, fridge, stove, microwave, sink. A king size bed that was pretty comfy and a hide-a-bed sofa. TV and a desk with wireless internet. The bathroom was OK. The free continental breakfast buffet was was better than most, with 3 hot food items each day such as eggs, link sausages/bacon, biscuits and gravy, breads, yogurts and juices. and hot cocoa! One night a week they have a complimentary dinner. The staff was nice. Didn't try the pools or work out room. Located close to the highway, with some fast foods , C-stores near by. I booked this through hotwire and got a great deal on it for a 2 1/2 star, so for the money I'm going to rate it high and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idahodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyndhamgoldriver, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rancho Cordova/folsom, responded to this review, 4 March 2010
Our goal is to provide an exceptional hotel environment that caters to the extended stay guest as well as the overnight traveler. Our facilities include suites with full kitchens and as reviewers have noted we offer a complimentary breakfast buffet daily with alternating hot items. We appreciate the reviews that we receive that compliment the service and comfort we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    167
    55
    20
    14
See reviews for
192
80
33
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island WA
Level Contributor
224 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Hawthorns are hit or miss. This is a miss. The hallways have a weird smell; a mix not of fresh ciggarette smoke, but decades-old smoke mixed with Las Vegas Excalliber Hotel air freshener and my Aunt Patty's basement.

The heater/AC unit in the room had two settings: off and suffication. The sheets were made of some sort of synthetic material that I think is also used to make shower curtains or Fedex envelopes. Weird carpet and bedspread stains that I am still trying to get out of my mind. The towels were likely donated or discarded from an underfunded highschool -rough, scratchy and threadbare. The breakfast bar had good eggs and excellent coffee. The apple juice tasted like it was beginning to ferment in the dispenser. The second morning there was a meat-based sustance in the steam table that I think was supposed to be hash. It smelled a little like dog food, but my curiousity got the best of me and I decided to taste it. I also wisely decided to spit it out. The location is good and there is a starbucks across the street so you have somewhere to go to minimize the amount of time you have to spend in the room.

The exercise equipment was crammed into a small room off the lobby. All of it looked like it was from the 90's and in rough shape.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2009

i loved this hotel ...im telling you if you want a nice hotel for a good deal Hawthorn suites would be the one to pick whenever your in the sacramento or rancho cordova area.... the breakfast was great lots to choose from and the customer service was fantastic whenever i had a problem or question they were there for me thank you hawthorn suites p.s im always there two times a week see u guys there if your reading my review lol

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanAMEboy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2008

Stayed here after a disastrous hotel in San Francisco that was double the price! It was so nice to have a clean room with kitchen area so we could cook for ourselves. Breakfast was good value for money with plenty of choice that changed daily.Having free access to the internet meant we could check up on the kids at home regularly with ease. Good laundry area meant I could wash/dry all my clothes at a fraction of the cost at home, and not have to fight jet lag to wade through mountains of dirty clothes on return. Great, quiet place to stay.Good restaurants (spaghetti factory,cattlemens) only a 5 min drive away.Staff helpful and pleasant.

  • Liked — Own kitchen & good breakfast
  • Disliked — A bit out from civilisation
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mad_womanNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2008

Stayed at the Hawthorn and found the hotel to be a little better than average. The building and room was clean. All rooms only have a king size bed and a couch that converts to a bed. According to the front desk, no rooms with two double beds. The bed in the couch is less than good - not much back support. We also had a kitchenette in the room with a good size refrigerator and microwave oven. There is also complementary wireless and wired internet connections.

Breakfast was a hot assortment of three items that changed each morning. Hot waffles available every morning along with bagels, cereal, fruits, coffee, juice, and danish. Food was acceptable. There is a McDonald's and a Starbucks next to and across the street if the hotel food does not suite you.

Pool is relatively small and situated on the south end of the hotel.

The best part of the hotel was its very affordable rates and central location to the sites in the Gold Country. The hotel is 20 minutes to downtown Sacramento where the Old Town, State Capital building are all highly recommended. The Train Museum is amazing!

The Sutter Gold Mine tour near Sutter Creek was enjoyable as it is an active mine where the tour takes you down into the mine itself. Very friendly staff.

Another highly recommended site is the Daffodil Hill - outside the town of Volcano (when in bloom). My wife and daughters found the place to be quite beautiful. So much so that they forget about the 90 minute drive over winding roads. Also near Volcano is the Black Chasm Cave tour - very unique and worth the trip.

Placerville and the Marshall State Gold Park are also within a 30 minute drive. We did not visit those places, but the brochures look like it would be worth the trip. The Gold Bug Mine was not recommended by the people at Sutter Gold Mine.

Over all an enjoyable, comfortable, affordable trip.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WK_FamilyVaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boise idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2008

This started out as an above average stay, nice staff, ok pool and something for everyone at breakfast. The rooms are larger than most, but are laid out strange so they can call them a suite. Don't sit on the sofa sleeper, very uncomfortable and its size and mattress is only for children. Then the problem. Returing to our room on the 2nd floor from breakfast ready to load up and head out, when what should we find but a dog running around POOPING in the hall. There is no description that can describe the smell!! When we called the front desk we were told that it has happened before and that the people who have the dog also have 3 cats and if we would like we could speak to the manager the next day. Since we were leaving that would not do. Avoid this place until they do away with pets.

  • Disliked — Dog poop
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kestrelway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

I'd stayed at this location for about 2 weeks back in 2003, when my family and I had first moved to California. Back then it seemed like a hidden gem, for rates that are on average ~20-30/night lower than what the other big brand hotels charge you get a mini (fridge, stove, sink) or full suite in a clean hotel, which also serves a hot breakfast in the morning. Competitors in its same price range in the area tend to offer a more frightening experience which made it all the more attractive as an option.

So recently I had a reason to go back for a visit and was interested to see how the hotel had held up over time.

Am pleased to say its still one of the best values in the Folsom-Rancho Cordova area:

Rooms are clean, appointed nicely, a little dated in bedspread etc but nothing that would put you off. Spacious as well, they feature a pull out couch and sitting area and kitchenette. Only downside is there is not seperation between the sitting area and bedrooms like youll get at a Summerfield or Residence Inn, but that may also be due to the type of room I booked.

The kitchenette has a double burner stove, oversized mini fridge and a real kitchen sink, which I recall made this a real winner when we stayed there last time with our two girls.

Bathroom has a full vanity outside (in the room) which you can actually sit down and use (instead of a small mirror crammed alongside a bed)

The location is not really near any attractions of note but it is convienent (right off US 50, near a McDonalds, Chevron gas station and across from a collection of stores and a Starbucks) and parking lot is well lit. There is no road noise to speak of (and the road the hotel is on appears to be generally lightly traveled.

The breakfast buffet is your basic hot breakfast: eggs, bacon, pancakes, coffee and while its not going to win any culinary awards its solid.

In general if youre a typical traveler who doesnt feel the need to surround themselves in fine Corinthian leather and luxury or require the pampering of a full service hotel, you're going to like the place. Couple it with the suite layout and the generally attractive rates they offer compared to the Marriott, Hilton's and Larkspurs 2 miles up the road makes this one a winner in my book.

  • Liked — clean, spacious room, great value
  • Disliked — suite did not have seperate bedroom and living room space
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cdublu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gold River
2.8 km away
Larkspur Landing Folsom
9.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites Rancho Cordova
Comfort Inn and Suites Rancho Co...
#11 of 17 in Rancho Cordova
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Folsom
6.4 km away
Lake Natoma Inn
Lake Natoma Inn
#7 of 11 in Folsom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
7.6 km away
Best Western Plus Rancho Cordova Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rancho Cordova/folsom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rancho Cordova/folsom

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rancho Cordova/folsom
Address: 12180 Tributary Point Dr, Gold River, CA 95670-4506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Gold River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gold River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rancho Cordova/folsom 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rancho Cordova / Folsom / Gold River is an all-suites hotel located in the Gold River community of Sacramento County, California, between Rancho Cordova and Folsom. Guests enjoy spacious accommodations with complimentary high speed internet, HD satellite viewing on 32" LG flat-screen televisions, free hot breakfast buffet, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool/spa. The hotel is just two blocks from Lake Natomas, the historic American River Bicycle Trail and the Sacramento State Aquatic Center. Local dining options include Cattleman's Steakhouse, the Old Spaghetti Factory, Tommy T's Comedy Dinner Theatre, Marinello's Italian restaurant, Chicago Fire, Chops, and Rudy's Hideaway. Shopping is just minutes away at the Folsom Outlets and the new Palladio Shopping Center in Folsom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rancho Cordova/folsom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Rancho Cordova Hotel Gold River
Hawthorn Suites Gold River
Gold River Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing