We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
44
48
14
17
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
48
14
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews live music clawfoot tub mark twain room historic building hotel bar downtown grass valley modern conveniences great historical hotel very cool place gold rush town saloon ghost haunted crabtree plumbing highway
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 138 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Do NOT stay at this property until the new owner renovates. The outgoing owners are minimising spend - WIFI has been turned off, breakfast is minimal, our room was filthy (see photo) & no AC! This WILL be a great hotel once there has been some investment, but the outgoing staff currently have no interest/motivation "oh, sorry, did it say we still have wifi, we haven't"

Room Tip: Book another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rugbyfollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

Right downtown Grass Valley. The old building, ghosts included, is worth the stay. The rooms are furnished in period antiques. It’s like a trip to the 19th century. Very cool place. Nice restaurant and bar, too

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank mes227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

What a great last minute find while riding down the highway on our Harley just 10 minutes from checking in!

What a nice “Old” historic hotel that has been well preserved. If you are looking for modern conveniences, this is not the place for you.

Check-in was quick and easy. Our room was nice, big and very clean. The beds were amazingly comfortable. It provided everything you need.

We enjoyed adult beverages in the hotel bar. Great service and a really nice view of the town.

Perfect place for a last minute 1 night stay!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Patty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2018 via mobile

We chose the Holbrooke because it is centrally located in Grass Valley. On a positive note it is a beautiful historic building. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The saloon's bartenders and karaoke so much fun. On the downside our room was a big disappointment. It was not clean and needed updating. I mentioned it to the front desk clerk and was told they are in process of hiring more staff. Personally, I will not return.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2018

We enjoyed the Holbrooke Hotel so much on our vacation to Grass Valley and Nevada City. The hotel was old (but charming) and clean and we stayed in the Lotta Crabtree room. The room is showing some age, however, we had everything we needed. The old clawfooted tub was an adventure in itself as I'm short it was challenging to get into it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was simple but plenty for these two seniors who aren't big breakfast eaters. We had dinner at the in-house restaurant and the food was excellent. The hotel location was very close to the shops and galleries in downtown Grass Valley so we didn't have to look for a parking space. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tcbinaflash48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews