We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
89
56
13
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
56
13
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holiday inn express happy hour bacon front desk free cocktail hour conference room visiting friends comfortable area complimentary glass of wine nevada city in town breakfast buffet rooms are clean light snack close proximity located within walking distance pull out sofa
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 170 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018

A little pricey but it's in the historic Grass Valley with walking distance to all the restaurants and shops.

the breakfast shows more thought than the old cold bagel and coffee. Scrambled eggs, pancakes, breakfast burritos, bacon, sausage, a wide variety of cereal, tea and coffee are thoughtfully prepared.

The staff is friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are clean, quiet, and comfortable.

The only problem that I encountered during my stay was the shower. Either the bottom lip is too low or the curtain is too short but the water floods the bathroom floor making it necessary to use many towels.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dotian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSAlan, Owner at Gold Miners Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Dotian M,
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you return. We are very proud of our Gold Miners Inn but as we all know it's the staff that makes the difference. We will find out which room you were in and correct the problem and sincerely appreciate your taking the time to tell us.
Thanks, again
Michael Bullis
President
Destination Properties LLC
mbullis@destinationproperties.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018

This former Holiday Inn has been modernised and we found our room very pleasant, well equipped and clean. The hotel no longer has a restaurant or bar but there is an evening cocktail reception where guests can get a drink and a light snack. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. Breakfast takes the form of a buffet which we felt was rather basic. If the breakfast were improved, this could be an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike-Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

Our suite was spacious, clean, and very comfy. This is always the case in every room. My husband stays there quite frequently while traveling for work. In fact he calls it home. Being located near the Main Street makes it easy to access the local businesses. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, especially Jackie who manages the breakfast buffet and afternoon happy hour. Every day fresh cookies do make you feel at home. It’s very quiet, no traffic noise. Rooms are newly redecorated and spacious. I bring our boxer with me when I come to visit. There is a little park not very far, easy walk. I rate Gold Miners Inn 4 out of 5 stars but that is only because they don’t have a restaurant. But there are several good ones in Grass Valley . My fave is the Italian Bistro across the street! If you’re in the area don’t miss this gem in gold country and maybe do a little wine tasting. Bon Appetite and Sweet Dreams !!!

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Anderlalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018

This was a real surprise. In such a small town this gem of a hotel. The suite we had was excellent. The noise level non existent (very very important in a hotel bedroom) The temperature was controlled by the guest & worked perfectly. Clean, comfortable elevatots that worked & quickly. There is no bar per se but they do a happy hour from 5-7pm. Yu can walk to ALL the downtown main street restaurants & bars.
This place had the nicest people too. How many times has a breakfast lady asked all the guests if they had everything they wanted & was it all OK? Thats a first for us.

Room Tip: Any room - they are all great.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Philbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018

We only stayed one night here so perhaps our experience was limited. It certainly didn't seem to match the experience of other reviewers here which caused me to choose the hotel in the first place.

Check in was fine, the gentleman at the front desk allowing one of us in early because the other room wasn't quite ready. Both rooms we had faced the front of the hotel with the parking lot and entrance immediately below. Furnishings were pretty adequate but nothing unusual. Even the breakfast was fairly standard but so crowded that we elected to go downtown to get something to eat.

The main limitation for me was the close proximity to the freeway -- if you didn't mind the sound of cars whizzing by all day and even well into the evening, then this is the place for you. But with a very noisy air conditioning unit, I had to sleep with my windows open as far as it would allow, so it made for a bad night sleep. We couldnt move to another room because at the time the hotel was full. Almost all of the rooms face the freeway that curves gently as it goes past the L-shaped hotel with only a few rooms somewhat sheltered by trees.

We come up here every year for an event but wont be back.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbeLincoln115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews