We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Perfection”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

This is quite possibly one of the nicest, unique and satisfying places I've ever stayed in.

A wonderful couple (Lauren and Bill) own this place and it's a sight to behold - immaculately kept (we stayed in the Meadow Lark cabin) in a beautiful location.

Views - spectacular. Peace and quiet - guaranteed. Relaxing - definitely. Value for money - priceless.

You have to persevere with the road into the property (our Satnav didn't cope very well!) but you'll be rewarded. Amazing place, not too far from Yosemite's west gate.

Seek this place out - you will not be disappointed. I'd give it 6/5 if I could!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017

We loved this place due to how close it is to the Yosemite entrance and how clean and fresh the property is kept. We only stayed one night but wished we would have stayed longer. On arrival we were greeted graciously by the hosts who also live on the property. Their confirmation email had very useful information about the area including grocery shopping, gas, cell phone service etc. The Internet worked well enough. All in all this is a well run property kept immaculately clean and homey. We would stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JBG_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

This is a beautiful, well-equipped cabin for easy driving access to Yosemite National Park. It had everything we needed for a long weekend away with the family! We loved grilling outside near the river and stargazing in the evening. We'd go back in a minute!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jlb23me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren N, Owner at Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you for your lovely review of the Yosemite River Cabin! This beautiful vacation home is a separate property operated by Sunset Inn (it's on our web site), located just 5 miles from the entrance to Yosemite! So glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We chose Sunset Inn as we wanted to stay in a Cabin rather than a resort hotel, and Sugar Pine Cabin proved to be a great choice. From the relaxed welcome when we arrived - later than planned - to the local knowledge and advice available from Lauren and Bill, it is an idyllic place to stay. The Cabin had everything we needed: comfortable bed, small but well equipped kitchen, lots of hot water. If you are looking for an away-from-it-all place, this should suit you fine. And still only 15min drive from Yosemite Village - and that drive is a spectacular use of 15mins every time you drive into the Park.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gems-Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Sugar pine cabin was a lovely, rustic cabin perfect to return to after day hikes and sightseeing. The cabin was comfortable with all the essentials needed to cook a nice meal at the end of the day. There is a charcoal grill, a gas stove and a toaster oven and sufficient pots and pans to cook most anything you would want. We had steaks, lamb, potatoes, broccoli, green beans, rice, eggs and bratwurst while we stayed there. You just need to know enough basic cooking to be able to cook without a microwave. I was happy to see stainless pots and pans, as I am not a fan of Teflon. The kitchen had exactly what we needed. We ate much nicer meals more inexpensively than if we had chosen to eat out every meal (which can be frustrating and difficult to find in a National Park setting).

The trees around the cabin were perfect, and the outbuildings were rustic and in my opinion, added a country charm that made me feel at home. The chickens also made it feel like home for us, as we have chickens ourselves. The eggs were delicious, and I was thrilled to see a pastel green one from one of Lauren's hens.

We hiked Mirror Lake Trail where a couple of spots on the trail had flooded from a very wet spring season. Lauren let us use her boot dryer, which worked perfectly for our boots to hit the Mist Trail early the next day.

One day we drove all the way to Sequoia and Kings Canyon. That's a very long day trip. We left very early and returned late at 10:30. Lauren and Bill had set the porch light on for us. They're very thoughtful and helpful folks.

The experience was as much about the lovely setting and the gracious, kind hosts as with anything else. Our trip was lovely, and Lauren, Bill and Clyde (the dog) were a huge part of that.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wpbrown317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

We stayed in a cabin for two nights. Despite the weather being less than accommodating the owners, Lauren and Bill, made us very welcome. Cabin was well fitted for self-catering. The bed was very comfortable. Attention to detail was all around. Even the board games supplied came in very useful! Managed to see some of what Yosemite had to offer despite the main park area being closed. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank DevonPalmtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We had the Sugar Pine Cabin and it was like a home away from home. The cabin had a small kitchen so we could cook our own food after a long day of hiking. Perfect. The hosts were so friendly and their chickens provided eggs for breakfast. Perfect. It was comfortable and homey. I can't say enough good things about this wonderful place!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
8.2 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
1.4 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
562 reviews
27.2 km away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.6 km away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
828 reviews
29.2 km away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,693 reviews
17 km away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins

Address: 33569 Hardin Flat Rd, Groveland, CA 95321-9607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Groveland
Price Range: $205 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Inn is a small, family owned and operated lodging. Three beautiful, cozy cabins offer king or queen beds, equipped kitchens, private bathrooms, wood burning stoves and sun porches. Located just 2 miles from Yosemite National Park, in a peaceful mountain setting, surrounded by huge aromatic pines, on the edge of a lovely private meadow. A stay at Sunset Inn is a true mountain getaway. We also offer a fabulous vacation home nearby, privately situated on the banks of the Tuolumne River, able to accommodate up to 6 people. We invite you to visit and enjoy this unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing