We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yurt is nice, bed is horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yosemite Lakes RV Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2011

The yurt itself was clean, spacious, and very attractive. It has an attached deck with a gas grill (contrary to some other reviews, ours had a grill brush attached with a chain) and a fire pit. The bathroom is large, and there is good hot water. There were four adults staying in the 4-person yurt, but it seemed to be designed for two adults and two children. There were only two wine glasses, and the coffee pot was a small 4-cup unit. Luckily, all kitchen implements were clean, unlike some other places I have stayed with kitchenettes. The knives were dull, as usual. The heater was a gas-burning stove situated in the living area, controlled by a thermostat. It lent a cute rustic feel to the yurt, even though it was quite bright when it went on in the middle of the night, which bothered one of our party. There is a large skylight at the peak of the yurt which was great for letting light in, but it could easily bother you if you intend to try and sleep in. Be aware that even though the camp is located 5 miles from the park entrance, it will take you ~45 min to get to the valley.

Alas, not all was so nice. The sleeping accommodations are, quite simply, unacceptable. There is a full size bed and a futon, which doubles as seating in the living space. The futon mattress will remind everyone of that beat-up futon you regularly saw in college apartments. It wasn’t comfortable, but it was actually preferable to the bed, which was honestly the worst bed I have tried to sleep on in ages. The foundation/box springs under the mattress was too small, so the last 6 inches of one side of the bed hung off into air, and couldn’t be slept on. The ‘head’ of the bed was noticeably lower than the ‘foot’. After the second night on this bed I would have preferred to sleep on the hard wood floor on a sleeping pad than spend another night in the bed. I sleep better when I am tent camping than I did on this mattress. (in addition the pillows are very thin, and if you have room I would advise that you simply bring your own)

The stove is an electric two-burner unit (which looks quite beat-up for how new everything else appeared), and no matter how we fiddled with it, we couldn’t get both burners to work at the same time. There is no oven. I don’t know if it was the time of year, but the front desk was woefully unprepared for any requests. They couldn’t give us extra toilet paper or paper towels (one roll of each was in the unit when we arrived). They had no more lighters. (one was in our unit, but wasn’t lighting well, and the piezo-electric starter on the grill was broken) They didn’t have wood for sale, as the store was closed. (I’m not sure it was ever open. This was well before dark)

In general, aside from the bed, none of this should be a big deal for something that is basically a step above camping, but these yurts are marketed as having ‘resort style amenities’, and are normally priced as such. We purchased our nights as part of a Groupon deal, and saved more than 50% off the normal listed price. At that price my biggest complaint was the bed. If I had known how bad it was I would have packed an inflatable mattress. At regular prices, however, I would have been incredibly disappointed in the stove and the front desk as well. At regular rates you can stay in yosemite valley at the Yosemite lodge for the same price. I would probably return if I got another great deal, but not at their regular rates.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CAScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,074)
There are newer reviews for Yosemite Lakes RV Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2011

Wood smoke is so harmful to health, those with existing diseases and those who are healthier, so we were very grateful to find a place to overnight that we could breathe air. Thank you Yosemite Lakes and Cabins for your no fire allowed policy!

Awesome grand scenary, very nice Yurts and Facilities well maintained and managed, clean water and the clean fresh air of nature. That is what RVing is about.!! We get enough toxic pollution in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EducatePeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed in a hillside Yurt for 2 nights before spending a night at Curry Village to stay in the centre of yosemite.
We loved our Yurt. It was comfy and cosy, the bathroom is large, and clean, we found everything to be clean and comfortbale. The double bed wasn't great (don't sit on the end of it!) but this is just posh camping after all! We didn't really see or hear anything from any of the other yurts so although they are quite close it isn't a problem. The staff at reception were friendly, it is a bit like a ghopst town there with the building seeming a little deserted, but their computers went down so someone drove our receipt to us which was great. The children tried swimming on the river, it wasn't really deep enough to swim at the end of August so more of a paddling river then swimming but they had fun anyway! It was about a 45 min drive to Yosemite Village, but a truly stunning drive and we really didn't mind at all. It is a stunning location, in unusual accomodation without the huge crowds we found the next night at Curry Village in the centre of the Valley.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eek-i-saw-a-mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

What a disappointment this place was--no grilling allowed unless propane fueled and no fires for s'mores...are you serious? The tent spots are so crammed, we couldn't tell where one campground begins and another ends. The place for our tent was literally five feet from someone else's picnic table. Terrible for smaller kids who go to bed earlier and others want to stay up and chat. Group next door was blasting rock music. The power-hungry management drives by every 15 minutes or so to make sure everyone is abiding the rules. That's when they stop and tell us to take down our beach towels from the clothes line we had put together. Why? "The community does not permit clothes lines." Seriously? I didn't know I was in a community. This place charges three times higher than the national parks for half the space and half the amenities. The only thing I will give them is location. And you know what they say...location, location, location. Only stay if you are desperate, go out to dinner and don't mind getting to know your neighbors who will be very, very close to you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I am totally not a camping person but we wanted to do something a little different as part of our trip to NoCal. We chose a riverside yurt and it was totally brilliant. The yurt itself was really fun, a huge round structure with loads of space for us and our two young children. It had heating and an A/C system and as a result there was none of that musty/dusty smell that you can get with these kind of things.

It was really fresh and clean, and bug and spider free. Bathroom was clean and perfectly adequate. The towels were clean and plentiful and the bed linen clean and fine too. Kitchen was good and there was a lovely gas grill on the deck overlooking the river. It was perfect to sit grilling steaks while the children paddled in the river.

The yurts are in a row along the river so you do have neighbours, so don't come expecting to feel like the only ones there- but there is enough space between yurts and we didn't find it a problem.
On one evening there was a band playing down by the RV/ tent area which was really fun and there was generally a nice atmosphere. We stayed only 2 nights and could quite happily have stayed longer. Our 4 and 6 year old said simply that it was the best place ever...!

One tip- make sure you stop and stock up on supplies in Groveland- we drove straight through thinking we could buy food for that evening's dinner at the shop on site. however, it closes at 4pm. We ended up having to drive back to Groveland (which was open till 9pm) after checking in- which isn't a big deal, but if you have spent all day in the car you don't want to have to drive off again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelmumatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

I chose to stay at the yurts here because of their proximity to Yosemite. For $170/night, I expected a comfortable bed. Apparently, you are paying for the location. It was mostly fine aside from the horrible bed, pillows, and linens, although the gas grill was too filthy to use. They have housekeeping do most of the cleaning, but you must do your own dishes and take the trash with you. They warn of a 'cleaning fee' if it's not left "as clean as you found it." Again, for $170 a night, I expected a little more.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeeMartin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

This was our fourth time being at this campground and we love it!! We always book the hillside yurt, close to the store and quiet and the hot tub is great!! We came in the winter one time and the yurt was cozy and warm and the snow was everywhere and the hot tub great. We are going back 6-27-09 and will enjoy each minute of it I'm sure. We love the yurts because the bathroom is right in the yurt with shower and towels provided. The kitchen has dishes, cups and glasses and pots and pans. No need to pack all these things, just unpack and go to Yosemite!!! It is better than a hotel and much more fun.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Disneydolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
10.6 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
5.7 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
497 reviews
31.5 km away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,143 reviews
33.5 km away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,620 reviews
25.2 km away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Lakes RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lakes RV Resort

Address: 31191 Hardin Flat Rd, Groveland, CA 95321-9716
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Groveland
Price Range: $108 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lakes RV Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Yosemite Lakes RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lakes Cabins And Hostel
Yosemite Lakes Cabins Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing