We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was not sure what to expect from other mixed reviews, but this is a skip it for me.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grover Beach
Orange County, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Was not sure what to expect from other mixed reviews, but this is a skip it for me.”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We ended up getting this hotel through Hotwire.com. I was disappointed because I was looking for a hotel in Shell Beach or Pismo Beach and we ended up getting this hotel that was right off the freeway exit in Grover Beach. I believe it was listed at 3 or 3.5 stars and I don't think that is accurate.

The staff was nice and friendly and the chocolate chip cookies at check in were yummy, but that is about where the positive experience ends.

Pros:
- Close to freeway and other conveniences (food, drugstores, gas stations, etc.)
- The rooms were decently clean
- The offer breakfast in the AM. The bagels, yogurt and coffee were good, but the rest is a little bit like airline food.

Cons:
- The hotel is noisy. The construction is older and there does not seem to be an insulation between floors. I think the people in the room above us had kids that were running around their room instead of outside. It was like a heard of elephants banging on our ceiling. Not exactly peaceful or restful.
- The beds were not comfortable and the springs squeeked and creaked.
- The only AC was the old boxes in the wall and this one looked like it had been there since the 70's. It BARELY worked and was loud and would freeze up after being on for only an hour or so. We were on the ground floor, so I didn't want to leave the windows open and the AC did not cool the room down enough to sleep.
- The toilet was constantly running and everything else in the room buzzed or made noise, the flourescent lights, etc.

The price was good for the area, but I would have rather paid more and actually gotten some sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor to avoid noise above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piscesmo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    90
    48
    18
    16
See reviews for
73
79
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
1,893 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,279 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed here for three nights in high summer season and found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, despite what looked like a full house. Our good-sized, clean room had a comfortable bed but older pillows that gave little support. We liked having free wifi, a refrigerator, an iron/ironing board, free parking and good lighting.

Alas, we often heard jarring footsteps overhead and traffic noise from nearby highway 101. The room had a dated look with an old-fashioned TV set, inexpensive carpeting, furniture with nicks and scrapes and marks on the lower portion of the walls.The bath tub drained extremely slowly, so even a quick shower led to substantial water sitting in the tub.

The first morning we went to breakfast at 9 a.m. and found the sitting area by the ample buffet to be too small for the number of guests. We sat, jammed into the area, eating off of paper plates with plastic utensils. The next two mornings we went earlier and the smaller number of guests there made breakfast much more enjoyable.

We decided on this hotel, because its cost was much more affordable than many other hotels in the area. None of the drawbacks were enough to send us elsewhere and we certainly had an OK stay.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My two children and my parents and I stayed here in March. We loved it the rooms where clean, comfortable, and quiet. The breakfast is wonderful, and views while you eat are awsome! The beach is just down the road from the hotel which made it super convient for us! The acess to HWY 1 is great, you hop on and away you go. Even though we were here in March the pool was great! It is heated and provided hours of fun for myself and my kidos!!
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, dont't worry you won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonco3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I drove down from San Jose, CA and my cousin up from Ventura, Ca. We stayed a Saturday and Sunday. Michelle at the front desk was a "kick" and we had a very nice chat while I checked in. Our room was nice and clean. We went to Pismo and to some fun thrift stores that Michelle recommended. The breakfast in the mornings was to die for. I have never seen a machine make two perfect pancakes in 1 minute, warm cinnamon rolls, eggs, sausage, bisquits and gravy, yougurt, breads, bagels and cream cheese, cereal and more. I will go back there the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Excellent service. Rooms with granite counter tops, flat screen tv, cable, comfortable beds, mini fridge, balcony, pool, near freeway, directly behind steakhouse/saloon and complimentary continental breakfast. Reasonable price. Definitely would stay again and again. I am also a member so check out is 2pm.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, ME
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2011

My family stayed 1 night here during our 2 week tour of California. What a wonderful place! After a week our bus tours, hiking tours and questionable "mountain resorts", what a pleasure it was when we stepped into our room.

Staff is pleasant, happy and helpful - always a smile. Breakfast was great. Room was beautiful! It was large, clean and beds extremely comfortable.

My only regret is that I don't live closer so I could visit again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralCoastGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
On behalf of the staff and management we want to thank you for your kind words and for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach. We also hope that the rest of your trip went wonderfully and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We got this hotel on Priceline after selecting Pismo Beach, but somehow ended up here. There's not much around the hotel area, so we had to drive elsewhere every time we wanted to go out.

Our room was in the basement and both rooms next to us had the loudest kids ever, screaming at all hours of the day and night. I guess if you're traveling with a bunch of kids, this place is ok. Otherwise, keep looking! The beds were extremely uncomfortable as well, so we were very glad to only spend one night here!

Overall, I wouldn't recommend it unless you're traveling with kids which it appears everyone except us was doing.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanLove3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralCoastGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
I am sorry to hear of your experience while staying with us over the Pismo Car Show weekend (June 17 & 18), a very popular weekend, which included Fathers Day. YES, we have many families that stay with us due to our proximity to many area attractions, although TRUE there is only a one great restaurant (AJ Spurs) with-in walking distance of the hotel (adjacent to hotel parking lot). We pride ourselves on being guest orientated and do our best to respond to guest issues, possibly had you brought your situation to our attention we may have been able to relocate you to a quieter location with-in the hotel. We do not have a basement, although I believe that you were located on the first floor of one of our more popular buildings as it has larger size rooms and a view of the rolling hill sides from the balconies. We appreciate your comments and reviews, it is our goal to review all responses to see in what areas and services we can improve, as we are always working diligently to see that ALL guest have a Great Stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grover Beach
4.4 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,983 reviews
1.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 29 in Pismo Beach
862 reviews
8.3 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,411 reviews
1.3 km away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,403 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area
Address: 775 N Oak Park Blvd, Grover Beach, CA 93433-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Grover Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grover Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach, California is placed perfectly in between Los Angeles and San Francisco on the sunlit central coast. Hotel guests are just two swift miles away from the attractions at Pismo Beach, where they can enjoy beach recreations such as surfing, sailing, fishing, and ATV riding. Guest can also take full advantage of the areas numerous outdoor activities like golfing at over ten prestigious golf courses, tennis, walking trails, horseback riding and bike riding in addition to an abundance of wineries and tasting rooms. We are just a quick drive from San Luis Obispo where California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly) is located. The neighboring communities of Cambria, Morro Bay, Nipomo and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a calming getaway with newly revamped, spacious rooms. All of our rooms have a balcony, mini-fridge, new beds and linen and new bathroom fixtures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area Hotel Grover Beach
Holiday Inn Grover Beach
Grover Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing