We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Warm welcome, nice cottage, pretty setting!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fern Grove Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fern Grove Cottages
Ranked #2 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm welcome, nice cottage, pretty setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised at how pretty this property and area was - the pictures just don't do it justice! Our cottage was clean, comfortable and set against large redwood trees. The owners were gracious and their hospitality was wonderful. This property is conveniently located between Russian River valley and Napa/Sonoma areas, so you can really take in all that CA's wine country has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    62
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
63
170
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We came back for our second time around and it was as good if not better than the first time. This time we stayed at one of the houses on the river and it was perfect for the 4 of us. Margaret was the ultimate hostess, her sweetness and gentleness makes her an awesome owner. We plan to come back again for another "get away". Thanks so much for such.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Point, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We had a delightful stay at Fern Grove Cottages. The accommodations, while rustic, were clean and pleasant. The owners, Margaret and Michael, were friendly and helpful (margaret knows the wineries in the Russian River Valley. Breakfasts were hearty and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthill, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We loved our three night stay in a one bedroom cabin. It was clean, roomy and quiet. The coffemaker in our cabin didn't work and we were given a new one in the box as soon as we reported it. The continental breakfast included yogurt, fresh cut fruit bowl, fresh out of the oven homemade scones and more. The staff and owners are wonderful and informative. The location is at the edge of town and we walked down every street exploring as well as the shore of the Russian River. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camino, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed one night here in a two bedroom cottage, it was a fun stay. Loved the old west decor, very quaint. Cottage was clean, had lots of linens, comfy bed, all basics in the kitchen. Wifi worked well, flat screen TV but we didn't use it. Very quiet. Close to town and grocery. Loved the grounds, so pretty. Just wish we had planned to stay longer! We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kruizerkarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
el sobrante
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

great staff at all times, salt water pool clean, cozy, totally comfortable, a sense of history without the funk or mildew, and the tastiest continental breakfast ever!!

Room Tip: all a little different, none negative
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianthebrain88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed at Fern Grove for three nights, and enjoyed the experience very much. The property is immaculately maintained and beautifully landscaped; the cottages are spacious and quaint and thoughtfully furnished, the breakfast was not a full cooked breakfast but included home made scones and wonderful fruit and breads and coffee. For the price it would be hard to beat this little gem.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
10.7 km away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
2.5 km away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.4 km away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#3 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#8 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
3.9 km away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.9 km away
Creekside Inn & Resort
Creekside Inn & Resort
#6 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Grove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grove Cottages

Property: Fern Grove Cottages
Address: 16650 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9678
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fern Grove Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Grove Cottages were built in the 1920's for vacationing guests visiting the Russian River area from nearby San Francisco. The tradition continues, as Fern Grove Cottages remains the Russian River's best getaway. The cottages have been lovingly restored and most still retain their original knotty pine ambiance and warm yesteryear memories. Everyone is welcome at Fern Grove including well-behaved pets and children, with prior notice.Fern Grove is located just three blocks from the village of Guerneville with its quaint shops and selection of wonderful restaurants. You may also enjoy an easy walk to the nearby swimming beach on the Russian River. And of course our guests are invited to enjoy Fern Grove's heated saline water swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Fern Grove Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grove Cottages Hotel Guerneville
Fern Grove Cottages Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing