We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farmhouse Inn(Forestville)
US$745
US$445
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental Hotel(Occidental)(Great Value!)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
H2 Hotel(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
US$399
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Healdsburg(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
US$479
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$473
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Duchamp Healdsburg(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
US$357
US$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
US$350
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Dry Creek Inn(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
221
51
18
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
221
51
18
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdana and brianguest kitchenthe main housewine countryquicheserved family stylerussian riverny timesgreat hostskorbel wineryeach morningsitting roomthe main living roomapple sausagesleigh bedwine tastingother guests
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 291 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2012

My fiance and I were looking for a romantic get away, and we were delighted with the Sonoma Orchid Inn. This bed and breakfast was in a charming old farmhouse, but it was very well renovated and maintained. The hosts - Brian & Dana - treat you like you're their favorite relative that they want to impress. Dana is an exceptional cook -- we feasted on oatmeal souffle and an egg-brocoli quiche -- all local ingredients. Homemade cookies (persimmon!), a fire in the living room, albums with menus from local restaurants, and great recommendations on the best wineries to visit all made this an exceptional weekend.

The Sonoma Orchid inn is located next to Korbel, so stop next door for a really interesting tour and free tastings of their champagne, or trek a little bit farther for other great wineries. If you want to be on the main tourist route, this might not be for you, but if you like hidden getaways within easy drive of the ocean, good eats, fine wine, and rolling hillside, this is your place. I would definitely come back and would be proud to bring friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelinbolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stumbled upon a hidden gem when searching for a B&B in the Sonoma area. While booking, Brian was extremely helpful in planning our visit, and when we arrived Brian and Dana proved to be so much more than inn-keepers. The food was delicious, the grounds were beautiful, and their recommendations for planning our days were perfect! We highly recommend the Sonoma Orchid Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bpmeyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, CA
2418
Reviewed October 28, 2011

You have to know the difference between sonoma and Napa to love it here. Sonoma is quieter, more funky, more casual...and the Sonoma Orchid is great. Brian and Dana are great hosts. Dana makes the best Belgian waffles ever...they are so light they float. Brian drew a winery tour for us and we had a great time following his suggestions. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This was one of our best B & B experiences in a long time. The hosts, Brian and Dana really make this a valuable stay. Brian was available with dinner suggestions and they were spot on! It was like he knew us! Our question about canoeing on the Russian River was answered completely, giving us 3 choices and listing the pros and cons of each, plus an option we hadn't thought of. Our bed and mattress were super comfortable with those special sheets. And the breakfasts were amazing! Plus delicious cookies in the afternoon. Help yourself to the communal refrigerator and bottled water. The small downside is that while there's plenty of parking, it is tricky. There's no AC, - a fan helps a little. We were there during a Sept. heat wave. The towels are a little scratchy and the shampoo etc comes out of one of those containers stuck on the shower wall. Not so nice, looking but smelled good and my hair was beautiful. But the hospitality of Brian and Dana really override all these things. The inn is an old farmhouse and not within walking distance to anything except Korbel Winery. So know this and enjoy a beautiful 15 min. drive. It was a good blend of the redwoods, the river and the solitude along with the wine tasting for us. We recommend it and will go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamiEnjoyingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Innkeepers Brian and Dana give their all to help you have a great stay in the Russian River Valley. They are generous with their time and knowledgeable about the area's offerings. As all the other reviewers mention, the breakfast is terrific, as were the beds, the refrigerator full of beverages, 24 hour cookies, coffee and tea, and the creamy smooth sheets. A home away from home. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: main house rooms might be preferable
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokemirrors15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews