We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Getaway :-)”
Review of Sonoma Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Concord, California
1 review
“Excellent Getaway :-)”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

What a wonderful romantic getaway. My husband and I had a wonderful time. The Sonoma Valley is very beautiful and The Orchid Inn is such a beautiful find. Brian and David are excellent hosts and our breakfast was wonderful. "Great Bed and Breakfast". Also, the sheets on these beds are the softest I have ever encountered and Brian has ordered 2 sets from the company and they are sending me them to us soon. -) Other's were giving Brian there orders also. They are truly amazing. Check it out. You will really enjoy the Orchid Inn :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    49
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
179
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My fiance and I were looking for a romantic get away, and we were delighted with the Sonoma Orchid Inn. This bed and breakfast was in a charming old farmhouse, but it was very well renovated and maintained. The hosts - Brian & Dana - treat you like you're their favorite relative that they want to impress. Dana is an exceptional cook -- we feasted on oatmeal souffle and an egg-brocoli quiche -- all local ingredients. Homemade cookies (persimmon!), a fire in the living room, albums with menus from local restaurants, and great recommendations on the best wineries to visit all made this an exceptional weekend.

The Sonoma Orchid inn is located next to Korbel, so stop next door for a really interesting tour and free tastings of their champagne, or trek a little bit farther for other great wineries. If you want to be on the main tourist route, this might not be for you, but if you like hidden getaways within easy drive of the ocean, good eats, fine wine, and rolling hillside, this is your place. I would definitely come back and would be proud to bring friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelinbolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stumbled upon a hidden gem when searching for a B&B in the Sonoma area. While booking, Brian was extremely helpful in planning our visit, and when we arrived Brian and Dana proved to be so much more than inn-keepers. The food was delicious, the grounds were beautiful, and their recommendations for planning our days were perfect! We highly recommend the Sonoma Orchid Inn.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bpmeyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 October 2011

You have to know the difference between sonoma and Napa to love it here. Sonoma is quieter, more funky, more casual...and the Sonoma Orchid is great. Brian and Dana are great hosts. Dana makes the best Belgian waffles ever...they are so light they float. Brian drew a winery tour for us and we had a great time following his suggestions. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This was one of our best B & B experiences in a long time. The hosts, Brian and Dana really make this a valuable stay. Brian was available with dinner suggestions and they were spot on! It was like he knew us! Our question about canoeing on the Russian River was answered completely, giving us 3 choices and listing the pros and cons of each, plus an option we hadn't thought of. Our bed and mattress were super comfortable with those special sheets. And the breakfasts were amazing! Plus delicious cookies in the afternoon. Help yourself to the communal refrigerator and bottled water. The small downside is that while there's plenty of parking, it is tricky. There's no AC, - a fan helps a little. We were there during a Sept. heat wave. The towels are a little scratchy and the shampoo etc comes out of one of those containers stuck on the shower wall. Not so nice, looking but smelled good and my hair was beautiful. But the hospitality of Brian and Dana really override all these things. The inn is an old farmhouse and not within walking distance to anything except Korbel Winery. So know this and enjoy a beautiful 15 min. drive. It was a good blend of the redwoods, the river and the solitude along with the wine tasting for us. We recommend it and will go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamiEnjoyingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Innkeepers Brian and Dana give their all to help you have a great stay in the Russian River Valley. They are generous with their time and knowledgeable about the area's offerings. As all the other reviewers mention, the breakfast is terrific, as were the beds, the refrigerator full of beverages, 24 hour cookies, coffee and tea, and the creamy smooth sheets. A home away from home. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: main house rooms might be preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokemirrors15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This is a perfect place if you like outdoorsy, rustic B&B's that are desolate and not very close to Napa. Unfortunately, we did not do our research regarding location or amenities on this one, and so this review doesn't mean to be critical, but we were disappointed. The location is in the outskirts of Sonoma County - not near the city or Napa, and a 7-mile drive to Healdsberg.

We planned a wine tasting trip to Napa Valley, and this Inn was recommended by a colleague (who loves hiking and biking -- red flag #1) who has stayed here and absolutely LOVES IT. Based on its name, we thought it was in Sonoma - which is a mere 15 minutes from Napa. It was not even close. This Inn was in most cases an hour or more from any of our Napa destinations. Because of that, we had to leave at the crack of dawn to get to any of our planned locations (Napa, Oakville, San Fran Airport) and missed out on the "breakfast" part of B&B. Again, our fault for not pinpointing the location first.

Owners Dana and Brian were accommodating, and even had to go cups for coffee for our early morning departure.

What we also didn't realize (again,our fault for not researching) is that the room that we booked was not in the actual house - it was in an outer building near the house. The decor in both the house and our rooms was nice - palm trees, elephants, very "vacationy." Room was sort of clean, bathroom needed a good scrub. The amenities in our room (Madrone) were rustic - no AC (but a fan was provided), no toiletries like many other B&Bs, towels that were like sand-paper, no tissues, etc. However, we did have a lovely bed, cushy sheets and a TV with satellite.

Room Tip: Get a room in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyLynn230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
7.0 km away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
17.7 km away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
15.1 km away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.6 km away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.6 km away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#7 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Orchid Inn

Property: Sonoma Orchid Inn
Address: 12850 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9276 (Formerly Ridenhour Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoma Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonoma Orchid Inn - it's all about location, stylish comfort and convenience. Exit the urban scene for an escape to the country. The redwoods rise, the vineyards yield fog-kissed premier Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, the coast beckons, and the scenery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonoma Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Orchid Hotel Guerneville
Sonoma Orchid Inn Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing