We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$429
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor View Inn(Half Moon Bay)
US$209
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill Rose Inn(Half Moon Bay)
US$494
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House at Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$365
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$195
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,029
US$959
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
40
73
49
11
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
73
49
11
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfaststate beachyogurtaffordable place to stayalong highwayallow dogswould stay here againvery comfortable roomhard boiled eggswe've stayedstayed for one nightthe ritz carltonhmbcoastmicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 193 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is along Highway 1 (accessible on the southbound side), although Google maps took us around to the inaccessible backside requiring a few u-turns, signals, and traffic to get there. Apparently this is known by the staff but hasn’t been corrected with Google. We were charged $35 more PER NIGHT to accommodate our dog - kinda pricey for a motel. And that’s what this is...

The mattress and pillows were comfy and room was good sized, clean, and updated, with a microwave, fridge and coffee pot. But it’s noisy! Lots of noise from the road, adjoining room, doors slamming, and people running up and down the corridor and stairs. Minimal towels, but good variety of ablution amenities were provided. Although it didn’t feel like the sheets were fresh...

Breakfast had all the options (waffles, cereals, breads, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, scrambled eggs, sausage, fruit, juice, hot drinks). The location is an easy walk to the coastal trail - great for walking or bicycling.

A decent place, but for $175/night (including dog), I expect more.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kitty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Coastside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Hi Kitty,
Thank you for your kind comments. We are fortunate to be the only inn along the coast to be "pet friendly". And, we pride ourselves in the making certain each room is cleaned from top to bottom after each use. Our sheets are always cleaned & changed each day, NO EXCEPTION. If (rarely) a room is not used after two days, we go in and change the sheets/bedding anyways. Just to keep everything fresh. To have the convenience of being just 3 blocks from Francis Beach and 3 blocks from historic downtown Half Moon Bay makes the Coastside Inn a favorite. No more driving needed once you arrive. Pacific Coast Highway is very popular with visitors, but when the sun sets and the stars comes out, it becomes very quiet with the just the sound of the waves in the background. We do have a "quiet time" from 10pm to 7am which is strictly enforced by the 24 front desk staff. But, like you, guests love to come and go enjoying the coastline, restaurants, shopping, etc.
We have no control over Google maps or GPS, albeit, we have tried and continue to try to get a correction. We encourage future guests to go to our website to get exact directions to our inn. But being right on Pacific Coast Highway which means you would have had to pass our inn. Next time just give the front desk a call and we will be happy to help with directions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

Average motel priced highly with terrible customer service. My two daughters have planned their weekend together for a long time. This weekend was ruined because the hotel did not allow them to leave their luggage after checkout. They were planning to spend a day in Half Moon Bay and leave to the airport in the evening. It turned out that the hotel has a policy of not allowing their customers to leave the luggage in the hotel. We travel a lot and never ever had this issue before in any other hotel in the US. The receptionist just followed the policy, but the manager was extremely rude and yelled at them on the phone. They explained this policy to be there “ due to previous issues”. Instead of finding the solution ( like a room with a key for the luggage) they turned their back to their customers that payed a lot of money for a night in this motel. Very disappointed. Again the hotel is very average in every aspect and such an unfriendly customer service turned an “ok for one night” experience into a nightmare. The girls had to go from place to place in Half moon bay and ask if they can leave the luggage there. They did not have a car and did not have anywhere to go until their flight in the evening. We will never stay in this hotel again and please stay away from it if you have a choice. Even if you do not need to leave a luggage you might be neglected in a different way. This just shows hotel’s management attitude towards their customers.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
33  Thank Milena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2017 via mobile

This wasn't a planned stay for us; our trip was disrupted and needed a place, in a quick minute.
Very clean, free breakfast. Nice staff.
This is a basic place; lots of noise from the traffic. Cars are parked in front of the rooms. Close to the beach.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank alice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017

We escaped to Half Moon Bay after we evacuated from the recent Sonoma County fires. We stayed at the Coastside for four nights and by "we" I mean our full family plus a dog and two cats and everything we could grab from our home before we ran. It felt so good to be greeted warmly by Lupita at the front desk, who empathized with our situation and who made it a treat to interact with her everyday. The rooms are just right, having everything we need, and they do a great job of keeping them feeling fresh. And, I've had many hotel breakfasts, and the Coastside's is a cut above. It is near the State beach and to downtown. Highly recommended for families or those seeking to escape to the coast for not a lot of money.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

Lovely room equipped with fridge, microwave, coffee machine. Very useful when travelling along the coast. We booked a kingsize bed and it was very comfortable. Staff very helpful, lots of free parking. Yes there is noise from the highway but the problem for us was people smoking outside their rooms on the walkway, our air conditioning unit picked it up and our room smelled of smoke. This is not the fault of the hotel but a nuisance. It was a 15 min walk to the beach along a flat road. We ate at a Thai restaurant not far from the hotel and enjoyed it immensely.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELMANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews