We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, scenic, and convenient!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Healdsburg Country Gardens

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Healdsburg Country Gardens
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Charming, scenic, and convenient!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

Our stay at Healdsburg Country Gardens was absolutely delightful. We enjoyed the cozy Wine Country Cottage, set in an extensive, well-tended garden, overlooking a working vineyard. Charming, scenic, and convenient! I’d love to return someday.

Our hosts, Walt and Barbara, were unobtrusive, yet very pleasant and attentive. Barbara told me that they notice services and amenities that appeal to them when they’re traveling, and they adopt those to enhance their own guests’ visits. Two incidents demonstrated to me that they’re committed to keeping their guests happy. First, when we arrived, two water bottles awaited us by the front door of our cottage. We learned that because a pipeline had broken, we had no water. Our hosts had taken prompt action to notify authorities so that the repair would be done as quickly as possible, and kept us informed until the project was completed, just hours later. Also, when we noticed that the cottage’s hot water was erratic, they immediately contacted a plumber who fixed the problem in no time. In addition, upgrades to the barn (for parties) and the Farmhouse were underway; this establishment doesn’t rest on its laurels.

It is a short drive to the attractions of downtown Healdsburg, great for dining out. Not ideal for a commute on foot, but ambitious walkers could make the hike.

Larger folks, or those who need lots of space for toiletries/make-up etc., beware: you might find the Cottage bathroom hard to maneuver in. It’s tiny. But the living area is quaint and comfortable. We didn’t miss a stove/oven, as we used the gas grill and microwave to cook. The cottage also was equipped with little extras, like an umbrella.

Our hosts let us took a look at the other two houses on a day they weren’t booked, for future reference. If you need more elbow room, these accommodations might be for you. The deck on the Wine Country Home was huge and inviting—great view from the hot tub! The Wine Country Farmhouse was even more spacious and, nestled right next to the vineyard, gives you great sunrise and sunset views.

You may primarily see images of HCG in summer. But, don’t hesitate to book a visit at another time of year. We were there in early spring for the regional “barrel tasting” event, which was really fun, with dozens of wineries participating. Chilly mornings were offset by the ready warmth of the gas fire. The extensive gardens on the property were coming into bloom—daffodils next to oranges, doves cooing. And the vineyard views were even better with no leaves on the trees. In short: highly recommended, whatever the season.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewel1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

Healdsburg Country Gardens is a beautiful property surrounded by vineyards. There are 3 places to choose for lodging. There's the Farmhouse(4-6 guests), The Main House(4-6 guests) and last but certainly not least The Cottage:) We had the luxury of staying in the cottage. The landscaping was immaculate and included our own entrance and walkway to the cottage. We met the owners briefly and they were very nice. Other than that we had minimal contact with them. It almost felt like we lived on the property(which we loved).

The Cottage, although small, had everything we needed. There is a fireplace, a small kitchenette with plates, bowls, silverwear, etc.... The fridge was big enough to hold our milk, some wine, etc... The bathroom is small, but a view of the vineyards takes your mind off the cramped quarters. The bed was extremely comfortable and outside there is a deck with a table, chairs and a grille. The view while eating breakfast every morning was beautiful.

The location was PERFECT!!! We were about 1 1/2 miles away from Healdsburg Center and close to so many wineries. There were not many amenities, but we liked having our own breakfast and doing our own thing.

We are heading back in May 2010 and will most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WineCountry-ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

While spending a few days touring Sonoma, my husband and I stayed three nights in the country cottage. It is quaint and comfortable, and is perfect to enjoy a glass of wine on the porch overlooking the vineyard after a day touring the wine country. The grounds are gorgeous and serene. Have a cup of coffee in the rose garden in the morning or take a walk through their vineyard - Barbara has created a little piece of heaven!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaGirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

We were here for 2 days while we enjoyed the wine country. What a great place to call homebase. Great location, the hot tub was very nice, and the grounds are beautiful. If you want a place that is relaxing but still close to everything to see and do then this is your place.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

We stayed at the farmhouse and enjoyed a fabulous week of wine country adventures with another couple. This house is nestled in the vineyards just at the base of a hill. The brick patio is a wonderful extension of the interior space with the grill and table and shaded pergola - we enjoyed many meals outside! The hot-tub is also just off the brick patio and is completely private and a great way to end the day. We cooked most of our meals at the house and enjoyed pears (grown on the property) delivered by the property owners to our doorstep! The kitchen had all the basic utensils that we needed for food preparation and more - a well equipped kitchen. The beds were comfortable and there were plenty of towels for the 4 of us (including extra towels for the hot tub) - probably enough for 6 or 8 even. We had room to relax in the great room or the porch or the bedrooms. The owners are delightful and have a well maintained property. We toured the property with Barbara (one of the owners) and saw the other 2 rentals on the property and the barn (which is used as a rental venue for weddings, etc.). Just a fabulous property! The other nice aspect of this property is location. It is approx. 1 mile to the center of Healdsburg (a great little town) and so convenient to all the wine regions. We also drove to Armstrong State Reserve one day. All the wine areas we wanted to visit were easily accessible from this location - we even went to Napa one day. We also used the wireless internet connection everyday to plan our routes and look up local information. The house has a lot of local information already (maps, brochures, coupons, etc.).

This is a great spot for vacationing with your family or with friends. Well located and maintained with all the amenities you could want plus great views of the hills and vineyard!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed in the country cottage at the Healdsburg Country Gardens and would heartily recommend it to anyone! The gardens and vineyard locale were so serene and it was truly a peaceful place for a Sonoma wine country get-away. The little touches were so thoughtful- from the bottle of wine welcome, to the very well-equipped kitchenette, and wine country tour maps- the list is endless! My husband and I enjoyed our morning breakfast and coffee outdoors on the porch, and the evening strolls through the beautiful gardens. The location is great- downtown Healdsburg is less than 2 miles away, and enjoying the short drive to several fascinating Sonoma wineries.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelfunDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed at Healdsburg Country Gardens this past July and had an absolutely wonderful time! We stayed in the Country Cottage, which is an adorable, studio-style home. The kitchenette and bathroom were easy to use, and the cottage sits in the midst of the beautiful gardens, where we ate our breakfast daily. The surrounding vineyards and views are stunning - it was a second honeymoon! There is an abundance of wildlife and the cool evenings were perfection. Healdsburg's town center is close by, with so much to do. Wineries can be reached either via car or some by bike - there was a lot to do, we wanted to stay longer. It is truly a retreat, and we can't wait to return!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EmersonNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
3.2 km away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
2.3 km away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
3.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
2.8 km away
Calderwood Inn
Calderwood Inn
#4 of 15 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Healdsburg Country Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healdsburg Country Gardens

Property: Healdsburg Country Gardens
Address: 670 Bailhache Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Country Cottages are perfect for guests who want to stay on beautiful 15 acre vineyard in a prime location near wineries & restaurants. The Cottages are just 1.5 miles from Healdsburg Plaza...3 minutes in the car or walk it in 20 minutes. Incredible location, great value and gated privacy in a newly remodeled fresh farmhouse overlooking estate vineyards and a storybook studio cottage with views that quite literally go on for miles. The Cottages have organic Coyochi bedding, kitchen & gas grill so you can dine in. Enjoy meals on the deck and watch the sunset on the vineyards or linger under a blanket of stars. Everything is close by so you won't spend a lot of time in the car. Healdsburg is a friendly small town without traffic jams. There are many local wineries just .5 miles away, as is the Russian River and canoe rentals to add to your adventures. Truly the wine country experience. This is a place where you can make wonderful memories with family and friends. Treat yourself! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing