We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Healdsburg(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
US$459
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
H2 Hotel(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
US$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Duchamp Healdsburg(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
US$561
US$544
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Dry Creek Inn(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$473
US$412
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L & M Motel(Healdsburg)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveller rating
796
33
8
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
796
33
8
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsputting greenkoi pondvineyard suitebiscottipool suitebasketball courtsquires cottagewisteria roomsteve and cathi fowlercookiesangel oakb bwine countryeach morningthought of everythingwet barthe main house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
434 - 439 of 845 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I are very impressed by the Honor Mansion. From booking till today when we returned, everyone at the Honor Mansion has been nothing but top notch. All the companies for tours they recommended and we used were outstanding and the restaurants were wonderful as well. Breakfast at the Mansion was great and the grounds have so much to offer not to mention how adorable the rooms are. We stayed in Vineyard Suite 1 (looked just like the pictures, if not better in person due to the ambiance) and our friends next to us in Vineyard Suite 2. Both rooms had everything you needed down to the little things almost all places do not think of, like a dark towel to wash makeup off with. We just loved it, all had a blast and will be back!! The appetizers and wine were a great extra treat as well!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thank you ever so much for your review of the Honor Mansion. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write and tell others of your experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and that the staff was successful in making your stay a good experience. We appreciate that you chose us when we know that there are so many options out there. We do hope to see you again and sooner than later if possible. Enjoy the spring time!

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I cannot speak highly enough about this place. My girlfriend and I (early/mid-20s) had an amazing time. After receiving a tip from a colleague to stay at hotel healdsburg, I went on TripAdvisor and after looking at a number of options, chose Honor Mansion based on how strong the reviews were, and also because of the TripAdvisor discount featured on this site (we were staying on a Wednesday and Thursday, not valid for the weekend)

We were budget conscious, so we chose one of the more affordable options in the main inn (Dogwood).

As soon as we arrived, we were told of a complimentary upgrade to the Pool Suite!!! FANTASTIC! While we would have had a great time in the Dogwood room, the Pool Suite was just awesome--the extra room with two recliners, and the outdoor tub, it was just a real surprise and made us feel incredibly comfortable.

The staff was super helpful and very knowledgeable about the different wineries we could visit. The cookies in the lobby, the chocolate cake they provided for my birthday, the complimentary wine and welcome sign they provided on our arrival (in both the Dogwood room and the Pool Suite--since we had a choice of whether or not we wanted the upgrade) were all fantastic extras. Also loved the automatic fireplace.

The breakfast, as other reviews have mentioned, was fantastic. Given that we came during the week off-season, they were able to bring us breakfast to our room rather than provide it in the dining room, and this was another "upgrade" that was much appreciated. The breakfast was quite delicious, particularly the granola with fruits. There was a big issue with one of the dishes they provided--the pineapple french toast--it was very poorly made, but given the high quality of everything else, we saw this as an anomaly and it was easy to forgive this.

We also took advantage of their DVD collection, which had a lot of great DVDs. Other than that, we used some of the complimentary free wine tastings we got to visit a number of wine tasting booths in downtown. For dinner one of the nights, we found a binder of information on all the restaurants in the area very useful in making our decision on where to get food from.

This is a hidden gem and won me a ton of brownie points with my girlfriend for finding this place. Thank you Honor Mansion, and thank you TripAdvisor!

Room Tip: SPLURGE FOR A SUITE! Pool suite was fantastic. Bonus here is the outdoor hot tub.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amukherj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for the Honor Mansion. Please thank your colleague for us for recommending Healdsburg. We are happy that you found us and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I truly apologize for the “Pineapple French toast”. I can’t imagine what happened as we truly do get many compliments on it every time we serve it. It has been on our menu for almost 2 years and you are the first to mention not liking it. I will personally make sure that it is tested the next time we serve it for quality control. I’m just thankful that it didn’t hinder your stay in any way but I do understand you being disappointed.

As you mentioned, sometimes in the slower season we are able to offer upgrades and we are pleased that you enjoyed the Pool Suite.

Again, thank you for your review and for mentioning the French toast so that we can fix the issue or at least improve it.

We will look forward to your return!

Warm regards,
Steve, Cathi & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Honor Mansion every year for the last five years. We hope we can continue going for many more years as we absolutely love staying there. Cathi, Steve and the staff are so welcoming and helpful. The accommodations are very relaxing and you can chose from many activities on the grounds and in the area. The breakfasts are something we always look forward to. Healdsburg is a very charming small town with great restaurants and shops. The Sonoma wine country is wonderful in that many of the wineries are small and if you visit in the low season you often get to meet the owners and/or winemakers. We have spent time at wineries where we were the only people there which offers a chance to really learn about the wines and the inner workings of the winery. There are other small towns worth visiting as well. Armstrong State Park has giant redwoods and is very quiet. We go there every year and continue to marvel at its beauty. We truly enjoy this marvelous part of California.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the main house, a suite and the cottages. Our favorite is the cottages.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomPut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thanks so much for your kind review and for taking the time to write it. It’s always a pleasure having you return, we feel as though we are greeting old friends. We are truly grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us once again and we will look forward to the years ahead. Until then, be well and enjoy this New Year!

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had a great time in Sonoma this weekend. We are not usually big fans of B&Bs but our stay at the Honor Mansion was fantastic. The facilities were first rate, the staff was friendly and extremely helpful, the breakfasts were delicious, and Steve Fowler, one of the owners, was very helpful with suggestions on wineries to visit. Healdsburg and the Honor Mansion are in the center of Sonoma and a great point for the best in wine tours, food, and fun. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for the Honor Mansion. We appreciate it greatly and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service we provided. We will certainly look forward to your return!

Warm regards,
Steve, Cathi & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed on 29/30-Dec-2011. We chose the Tower Suite because of the interesting character in the pictures online. We were coming from dinner in Napa and would be in late. Having told the staff that, they not only made it extremely easy for us to get our key by having extremely detailed instructions, but also left appetizers and wine from the happy hour early in the day in our room. We also walked into our room with music playing on the cd player and everything put together perfectly. Our morning coffee service showed up at precisely the time we had discussed in a thermal carafe on our steps with homemade scones. Breakfasts are legendary. In fact, everyone in the area talks about them. It is not so much the size of the buffet, but many other things. Everything is home made, there is something that everyone will love, and the owner is literally walking around with coffee and talking to everyone about what they are going to do and what suggestions/help he can provide. We were wine touring a lot and it was in a chillier part of the year. However, the property has a ton to offer (putting green , basketball court, bocce, croquet, cabanas for massages if you want to book them). The tower suite has a whirlpool on a private deck - actually I think all of the rooms have a (semi/fully) private deck of some sort. Sure, Honor Mansion is not cheap. But, if you want a first-rate B&B whose staff will do anything within reason for you, call Steve (owner) and his staff up and check it out. By the way, there is also a world-class winery (Seghesio) literally about a half-block down the road, and they'll provide gym passes for a local one if you would like to get a traditional work out it.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for the Honor Mansion. Cathi and I as well as our staff truly appreciate the effort it takes and are thrilled that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.

I know from comments by guests at arrival that they actually read these reviews carefully and often book based on what they read. We are humbled by your compliments but sincerely appreciate them as well. We will definitely look forward to hosting you again soon.

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews