We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grape Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grape Leaf Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful weekend getaway”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Grape Leaf Inn this past weekend and it was a wonderful experience through and through. The inn was charming and the breakfasts were amazing! We stayed in the Gamay Rose, which was nice and roomy. The bed was large and comfy, and the shower in this room was amazing (great water pressure!). The location was nice, very convenient to walk to the Healdsburg square (shopping and eating). It's a very homey inn and all the staff were warm and friendly. I should note that we were a little concerned upon checking in that our room was right off of one of the common areas, but we slept great---it was very quiet the whole time we were there.

Room Tip: The Gamay Rose was great---roomy with high ceilings. It's on the first floor right off the comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapeleafinn, Owner at Grape Leaf Inn, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review and taking the time to write it. Having guests such as yourselves write such a review reinforces our belief that we constantly do our best to satisfy our clients and keep our Inn in tip top shape on a daily basis and provide you with a variety of gourmet breakfasts every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    56
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
15
244
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We had the pleasure of getting to stay at the Grape Leaf Inn for two days as part of a company retreat. It was a wonderful experience! Our every need was met, and it was just such a pleasant, beautiful, place. The breakfast is amazing; the speakeasy is a delight, the rooms are gorgeous, and Richard, the owner, was a great host. We would love to go back!

Room Tip: We loved the Viogner room. It had a fireplace and a great bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapeleafinn, Owner at Grape Leaf Inn, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
We very much appreciate your taking the time to post your review. We are rewarded by just reading your kind words and we look forward to hosting you again.
Sincerely,
Richard & Kae
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My wife and I spent the Christmas holidays at the Grape Leaf Inn. We have visited the Grape Leaf a number of times, both at the inn and at the vineyard cottages. After these many visits, we would not stay anywhere else in Healdsburg.

This is a fabulous and unique experience. We have traveled extensively in the US and prefer to stay at inns rather than "cookie-cutter" hotels. The Grape Leaf is our most favorite spot. Kae and Richard are superb hosts. The breakfasts are out of this world. We have never had a repeat menu. On this visit, the pumpkin pancakes, thick smoked bacon and the fruit place drizzled with local honey ere standouts. No need to worry about lunch after you have completed this wonderful meal.

Our favorite room at the Grape Leaf in Syrah. The soaking tub and steam shower are unique experiences. We have looked at all of the other rooms and you cannot go wrong booking any one of them. The photos on the website only provide a quick peak at the attention to detail shown in the furnishing of each room. The rooms are all unique and we would recommend them all.

As if the breakfast experience is not enough of a recommendation, the evening wine tasting that Richard hosts on weekends in the Speakeasy is be best introduction to boutique Sonoma/Alexander Valley wines you will find. Most of the wines poured come from vintners too small to have substantial distribution channels. The Speakeasy experience gives guests the opportunity to sample these treasures and to join the wine club to receive them on a regular basis.

My wife and I find that experiences in life make you the happiest and our experiences at the Grape Leaf Inn over the years keep us coming back to Healdsburg as often as our calendar allows. With that experience, why would you stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frederick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapeleafinn, Owner at Grape Leaf Inn, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Thank you so much for your review. It is a pleasure to have you folks returning to our Inn so many times and we greatly appreciate your taking the time to review us. As you know, we work very hard to make every guest's visit as comfortable, romantic and enjoyable as possible. Receiving acknowledgments such as yours are a large part of the rewards we receive for doing what we do best.
With sincere thanks,
Richard & Kae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Great location in Healdsburg, you can walk to shops and great restaurants,yet the Inn in on a quiet street so the Inn itself is very quiet. Would highly recommend visiting Arista winery if you like Pinot Noirs and A. Rafanelli if you like Cabernets, Merlot or Zins.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Took my wife to the property and enjoyed it and the hosts immensely. We really enjoyed the evening presentations!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke-11_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapeleafinn, Owner at Grape Leaf Inn, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Our sincere thanks to you for your review. It is reassuring to know that our hard work is appreciated by fine guests such as yourselves.

Kindest regards,
Richard & Kae,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

High expectations that were generally met - but the (high) price tag means I probably won't be back.

A friend's wedding at Trentadue coincided with my birthday - so we decided to splurge on a little B&B night away in Healdsburg. I found Grape Leaf Inn through Jetsetter and was excited to be spending less ~$250 for a night in Healdsburg. When we arrived, we found out we had been upgraded to a night in the Mouse House (normally $600/night). Fantastic! (The only downside would've been if I'd been anticipating walking to/from downtown Healdsburg for dinner/drinking.... but luckily that wasn't the reason we booked here.)

The Mouse House and the other cottages are located several miles north from the main Grape Leaf Inn. Tucked away on their private vineyard are three little cottages -- an amazing private escape. The Mouse House was a single room cottage decorated warmly and made me wish we could've spent more than a night there.

Two negatives:
1) There was no shade on the "front door" and at night, I felt rather uncomfortable that anyone could look in.... granted, this only allowed peeping toms to look into the little kitchen-area hallway and closet area. But still, an oversight that should be fixed.
2) When we headed back after midnight from my friend's wedding - we had to use our iPhone flashlight app to make our way from the driveway to the door. I would've otherwise likely broken an ankle maneuvering the path in my high heels.

We missed the highly acclaimed breakfast (they only offer it in a 1-hour time window) - I wish they could've had a "to-go" option for latecomers. Overall, a nice getaway -- but for the regular price of $600, I could get a night at the Four Seasons in Maui!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagogirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Grape Leaf Inn 3 times over the last several years, and each time was a very memorable and enjoyable experience. The owners Richard and Kae go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious. The rooms are cozy, clean, and the beds are very comfortable. The inn is a quick walk from the great restaurants on the Healdsburg square. We love this place, and we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapeleafinn, Owner at Grape Leaf Inn, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
We appreciate your taking the time to review us and knowing that our efforts to make your stay as enjoyable as you say.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Kind regards,
Richard & Kae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.8 km away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.7 km away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
472 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
543 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
16.6 km away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grape Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grape Leaf Inn

Property: Grape Leaf Inn
Address: 539 Johnson St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-3907
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grape Leaf Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 13 room Inn in the heart of Wine Country. Enjoy the ambiance of our award winning property along with our 9 family wineries-Wilson Artisan Wineries. Absolutely sumptuous breakfasts and ultimate comfort, amenities and our special hidden Speakeasy where we serve the best California wines, cheeses. Walk to fine restaurants as well ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grape Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grape Leaf Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing