We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother with this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Healdsburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Healdsburg
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't bother with this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

About two months ago I made a reservation for my partner and I stay at Hotel Healdsburg on our stay to the wine country. At no time in the reservation process was I informed that they would charge for one nights stay + tax. Sadly while on our vacation my partner had to have Emergency surgery and I called six days in advance to cancel our stay. I was told (by a VERY snotty froth desk) that "we cannot cancel your reservation as you did not cancel within 14 days. I asked to speak to a manager who was even more of a jerk who led me some line of crap. While this is a nice hotel it is not worth your time to deal with obnoxious and rude staff, and a policy which makes zero sense.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    134
    71
    38
    17
See reviews for
56
296
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

The room at Hotel Healdsburg was very comfortable and large (have to ask for the larger rooms as size varies). The complementary breakfast buffet served high quality dishes. The pool area is great too. If you are looking for a boutique hotel and want to stay within walking distance of wineries and restaurants, this is the hotel and town to visit. Healdsburg is much nicer than the towns of Sonoma or Napa. If the price points are too high at Hotel Healdsburg, check out their newer H2 Hotel which is more modern/minimalistic and is right next door.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Hotel Healdsburg has some good things going for it -- particularly its cheerful, helpful staff and excellent restaurant -- but its standard guest rooms are small and unappealing, and little about the hotel feels luxurious. Many of the rooms overlook the main road and get considerable street noise; rooms in back are quiet but don't have much of a view. The standard guest rooms have uncomfortable chairs, little space and cold, drab decor; however, the beds are quite comfortable. Bathrooms are by far the most luxurious part of the guest room, with nice towels and robes and excellent toiletries. Although the items in the mini-bar are free, there isn't much there that is tempting. The complimentary breakfast buffet was good but unexceptional. Overall, this is a solid, well-run hotel, but nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdaminDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just returned from my second stay at Hotel Healdsburg and I'm missing the bed already! That is to say, the beds at this hotel are more comfortable than any other hotel I've stayed at including the Ritz! Fortunately, that's not all that's amazing about the hotel. I love the warm but modern decor with tibetan rugs lining all the halls. The hotel is spotless and overall extremely comfortable. The breakfast is another of my favorites! It's included with your room and is more than just continental. Includes lox and bagel, fresh fruit, cereal and delicious fresh pastries. The coffee is strong and delicious. Overall, love the hotel and in a great location to see the sonoma area.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, they are the largest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madoctex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed at Hotel Healdsburg during Mar 9-11 Barrel Tasting for a celebration of my mom's birthday. Great location - close to everything in town, beautiful hotel, very friendly staff. Concierge Tegan was a great help with planning meals, activities, and arranging a car for transportation to/from/during the Barrel Tasting event. Probably about half of the rooms face the street or other businesses, and we were woken up once by late-night partiers, but I found this amusing more than anything. Wish I still had that energy!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmaddux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We always stay at the Hotel Healdsburg when we are in town. The rooms are lovely, spacious and well appointed. Those that appreciate simple modern design will really love this hotel. The yard with the big lounge chairs and the hammocks by the pool are great places to sit in the sun and sip some wine. The fire place area and bar are great for pre-dinner cocktails.
The restaurant and cafe in the hotel both have great food. The location is perfect - right in the middle of downtown Healdsburg with loads of great restaurants, boutiques, bakeries, and wine tasting rooms all in easy walking distance. There is a small park right across the street, but we never spend much time there because the grounds of the hotel are so nice.
Don't miss the spa - great treatments. The spa is a bit small though so be sure to call ahead for an appointment.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room facing the back yard/pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77wheretonext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
je23
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Very comfortable room -- great bed, nice shower and comfy furniture. Location can't be beat -- right on the square. Nice breakfast included in the comfortable lobby, though wish the fireplace actually gave off heat! Didn't use concierge, but they did tip us off that bike rentals wouldn't be a problem.

We were there for President's Day long-weekend, so I expected higher than normal rates. However, I found it perhaps a 20% over-priced.

So, would recommend, but maybe only for off-peak weekends?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank je23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.2 km away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.2 km away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.2 km away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
16.1 km away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
13.5 km away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Healdsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Healdsburg

Property: Hotel Healdsburg
Address: 25 Matheson St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Healdsburg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Healdsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing