We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Cool Cave Tour with Tasting

We had a wonderful tour with Petya, that included an overview of their wine cave with a tasting... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Caroline S
,
Palo Alto, California
Excellent wines and super service

This winery is a few miles outside of Healdsburg, but well worth the drive. We didn't call ahead to... read more

Reviewed October 5, 2018
Dick T
,
Tucson, Arizona
Read all 54 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Healdsburg
from US$89.00
More Info
from US$89.00
More Info
from US$159.00
More Info
from US$175.00
More Info
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
44
7
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
7
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting room excellent wine wine club picnic area cave property reds tour hostess cab fires winery bottle reservation malbec knowledge cellar
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 54 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We had a wonderful tour with Petya, that included an overview of their wine cave with a tasting inside the small library within the cave complex. Petya was very informative both about Lancaster wines and the dynamics of worldwide wine sales given her background in the industry. My father-in-law was very familiar with Lancaster wines while the rest of the group was less familiar but Petya was able to customize the tour so that we all left better informed and with some memories of delicious tasting wines! Thank you!

Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2018

This winery is a few miles outside of Healdsburg, but well worth the drive. We didn't call ahead to arrange for a tour, but I think that is possible. We did a couple of tastings in the tasting room, which were excellent...Greg was our server, and spent his time sharing information about the winery and the local area. Nice guy. Would definitely go back when in the northern California area.

Thank Dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018

Today we did the Estate Tour and Tasting, and the experience was perfect from start to finish! We had a personal tour with Greg which included tasting grapes in the vineyard, seeing the outdoor crushing facilities, touring the cave, and a tasting in the cave.

2017 Samantha's Sauvignon Blanc was delicate and refreshing--perfect for sipping outside under the trees on a warm day. We tried a very fun Malbec and two Estate Cabs. These were some of the boldest Cabernet Sauvignon vintages I have ever tasted, but still fruity, balanced, and accessible. I won't go into details because they have such limited production you will likely taste different wines by the time you read this. The quality and expertise with which the wines were crafted was evident. We ordered a number of bottles before the afternoon was done.

The tasting in the cave was elevated and elegant, but still comfortable and accessible. Greg was a fantastic guide and showed deep expertise and passion for the wines. We highly recommend visiting Lancaster and taking the time for an Estate Tour (but make sure you book ahead).

Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2018

There were 4 of us and a 5 year old. We didn't book anything ahead just had a walk in tasting. It was $20 for 5 wines and we were the only ones there for about 20 minutes. I had heard about how great their Cab's were and we were not disappointed. I cannot recall the name of the gentleman who poured for us but it was not a pre measured pour. Thus, the pour was quite healthy! The wine was absolutely delicious, complex, with a long finish. Every bottle we had was superb and we ended up purchasing their 2014 Nicole Red Blend which is Cab, Malbec, Merlot, and Cab Franc.

We were not pushed to join their wine club, try a cheese/wine pairing, or tour. We felt so relaxed and it was just nice to taste a brilliant wine with people who enjoyed wine and no sales push whatsoever. They had nice shaded picnic area with corn hole. The landscape is serene, outside of the city, and quiet. There was soft music playing outside and the 5 year old was kept busy with corn hole. I would say though that a child would probably get tired after a half hour, as expected.

This winery is higher end and thus the price of their wine reflects accordingly, however, this winery was the absolute favorite of everyone for the trip.

if you are in search of excellent wine and a quiet place to enjoy, I give the highest recommendation for this winery.

Thank viscera912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018

We were brought to Lancaster by good friends and we had a picnic under the oaks. Greg spent his time sharing info about the winery and the wined, including a tour of the caves. It could not have been a better experience and Greg made it the best.
We hope to visit again on our next visit to northern California.
thanks Greg!

Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2018

I went to Lancaster in August '17 with my husband and two of our friends. Going mid-week meant that we had a very personalized experience. Wines were great, tour was great, and the fact that we still remember the name of the man who did the tour/tasting (Greg!) 6 months later goes to show how informative, hospitable, and professional he was. We will be back this August again!

Thank LindsayB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2018 via mobile

Jake led our tour and tasting, and he did great. Neat cave cellars. Wine was right up our alley, just what we like (big cab-driven reds). We came back the next day and visited with Greg and Sophia, and joined Lancaster's wine club.

1  Thank JacobWinOhioUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2018

We visited the winery in September before the fires and we were the only guests. Our tour seemed a bit rushed and consisted of a brief walk outside to discuss how busy the production facility was and then back to our tasting and cheese pairing. Excellent reds and complimenting cheeses make for an interesting experience . We all felt the hostess could have been more engaging and informative.

Thank winetravelers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

we visited at the end of Oct 2017 - after the fires. it was gorgeous - the air was clear. they need tourists back now. because there were cancellations, it was less busy for us than it normally would be. we had a group of 8, two of us are members at a sister winery. we did have a reservation.

We had brought our lunch along, and they had a huge picnic area that we were able to use before our tasting.

An intimate and gorgeous Winery with amazing wine. We lucked out since there weren't many tourists back to the area yet. We got a tour of their cave and watch a bit of their last day of harvest. A great experience.

Our host was fantastic - incredibly informative, covered the wine club w/o being pushy.

Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

Our experience at Lancaster was a lot of fun. Everyone was enthusiastic about the wines and the property and cordial and pleasant to be around. The property itself was a great mix if elegance and approachability, you felt very comfortable there but in a pristine setting. We played a little cornhole outside as we awaited the beginning of the tour, had a first glass while we did, then proceeded to the cave to learn about the wines and sit down to our more formal tasting there in the cave. We were pleasantly surprised by each wine we tasted having never heard of Lancaster before this trip. We joined the wine club and can't wait to revisit their offerings from home. Highly recommend giving them a try!

1  Thank Jed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews