We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (933)
Filter reviews
933 results
Traveller rating
625
221
48
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
221
48
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean front beach house valet parking continental breakfast stove top gas fireplace volleyball players oceanfront room separate shower people watching aveda products living room area sand toys four nights first floor perfect location partial ocean view
Filter
Updating list...
689 - 694 of 933 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Beach House Hermosa is a fantastic hotel right on the beach. Ocean View rooms are spectacular. I've spent many nights here including a two week stay when looking for a home when moving from back east. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and look and smell exceptionally clean. The bed is incredibly comfortable. Being able to walk out on The Strand or the beach for a walk or run is a huge plus. A slight drawback for business is it that it is not particularly close to the interstate. Simply budget that into your schedule because it is worth it! Walk to Pier Avenue for a variety of food options - or order in from one of the local restaurants. Being right on the Strand and near "downtown" Hermosa Beach can occasionally lend itself to loud patrons wandering the alleyways (it's rare but it happens). Not much of a workout room, but spa options, massage, and a nice conference room if you need it for business. Continental breakfast options and good coffee to start the day. It's my go-to place when visiting the South Bay!

Room Tip: Splurge on a room on the top floor with full ocean view - quieter and the view is awesome
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmpaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

We couldn't be more pleased that you continue to come enjoy The Beach House. Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2012

If you don't live near the ocean and you need/want to be in the LA area, it seems like the best place to be is ON THE BEACH! Even if you are there for business, or in the winter we think that why put up with all the congestion of being by the sea, if you are not staying on the beach. We think that we have found the right place. The Beach House at Hermosa is a Beach House right on the Strand on Hermosa Beach.

OK. It's not cheap. But the location is perfect, facing the ocean. The partial ocean view rooms are actually facing a small park. We were there in Feb, so it was quiet on the beach, but I would imagine it gets noisy from time to time. If you want to spend time on the beach, only a few miles from LAX, this would be the place. Loved walking on the Strand.

Our room had an efficiency type kitchen, fire place, deck on the ocean. Bathroom was large w/ jacuzzi tub. Property was well maintained and staff were helpful. Only reason this is not a 5 star review is that we thought our room was getting a bit "tired" and the carpets were dingy.

Next time we return to the LA area, we will look here first.

Room Tip: Higher floors would be quieter on weekends and during the summer months.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noirseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for your great review. We are very happy you had a wonderful time at the Beach House in Hermosa Beach. We have been doing upgrades throughout the hotel this year and we welcome you back to see them. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is my favorite place to stay at Hermosa Beach - the location, rooms, grounds are all excellent. There really isn't anything negative to say about this place - the experience is fantastic and highly recommend this place for a romantic couple weekend.

It is literally on the beach - the 'strand' is directly behind the property where all the walkers, rollerbladers, joggers, bikers can be seen. There are roughly 20 different volleyball beach courts behind the property - so if you feel inspired, you can give it a go, or just admire the folks playing.

Lastly, really nice continental breakfast served from 6:30am to 11am each morning with a view of the strand/beach. On warmer/sunny days, they have a nice patio area where you can sit out and enjoy your breakfast and coffee outside while people-watching the folks on the strand.

Can't recommend this place enough - one of my favorite hotel properties around.

Room Tip: Rent bikes at the Hermosa Bicycle shop steps from the hotel lobby. Great way to jump on a bike and ride the strand and check out the scenery.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Putt4Doe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

We are pleased you liked the location and amenities at the Beach House. Please come back again! Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Beautiful clean light and airy room. Can't beat the view. All the amenities.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Pay the extra bucks and get ocean front.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Great place right on the beach. Very quiet, even when it was booked full on a holiday weekend. I would suggest upgrading the coffee in the room and adding more to the continental breakfast; it was just average. There are great breakfast places within walking distance though and bike rental right down the street. The hotel offers beach chairs and towels on request and the staff is very accommodating . I lived in California for years and this trip really made me miss it!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

We are glad you could come back to visit California. We would be happy to welcome you back again soon. Thank you for your review. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews