We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb location and the best equipped self...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of GlenLin

living room and front balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room and front balcony
View from front balcony Braai area in back garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
living room and front balcony
View from front balcony
Braai area in back garden
Lounge
Lounge and Kitchen from the balcony
Kitchen
Dining Room
Main Bedroom
Second Bedroom
En suite bathroom
Arrow pointing to GlenLin
Looking at GlenLin with white balcony from the wetlands
Glencairn Beach
View of Glencairn from Elsie's Peak
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Glencairn, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Julian D
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb location and the best equipped self catering establishment we have stayed in.”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

GlenLin is superbly located midway between the best swimming beach in the Cape Peninsula (Boulders Beach which has the added bonus of penguins!) and the quaintest, trendiest fishing village - Kalk Bay - with it's superb restaurants and chic shops and galleries. The vlei at Glencairn is just across the road and is great for a walk or run. The accommodation is beautifully presented and has absolutely everything you could possibly need and more. The thought that has gone into stocking the apartment shows how much the owners care about their guests and their holiday experience. There are plug converters for most countries, toys and books for small children, buckets and spades and other children's toys for the beach, beach towels, a kitchen with everything you require if you want to cook, and loads of brochures covering just about everywhere in the Western Cape as well as a Cape Town map book. If that doesn't help you, Blair is a registered tour guide who is only too happy to provide advice on where to go and what to do. Definitely a little gem of a place that offers the perfect base for a fun filled holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the fact that it has everything you could possibly need.
Liked least: We didn't understand how to recycle the waste and ended up throwing everything in the bin which didn't go down well with an environmentally responsible family.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2014
We so appreciate your review. Thank you so much. We also believe that Glencairn is a much underestimated suburb of Simon's Town with its vlei/wetland area and child friendly beach.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandy d
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful home from home”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Glenlin has to be one of the best rentals we have ever stayed in. Laura & Blair have thought of everything. Spotless, large apartment conveniently situated for everything.We had a wonderful 4 nights here and wished we could have stayed longer. You will not be dissapointrd, we will definitely be back. Thank you for making our holiday memorable.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review and so soon after your stay. Your comments mean a lot to us. We self-cater ourselves so try to provide what we are looking for in a holiday home. However, you never know whether you are getting things right. I hope you will be back and that we will meet you next time. Hopefully, you will see a few small touches of improvement.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buggsi
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic base for Cape Town adventures”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We spent a really great week based at Glenlin and had a great break. The apartment is spacious and really well equipped with access to a lovely outside space. The location just off the main coast road outside Simon's Town gave really easy access to the major routes to all that Cape Town and the surrounding area has to offer. The view from the large balcony over the wetlands and out to False Bay was beautiful and during our stay ever changing, unfortunately the whales had moved on (but we did find some in Hermanus a day trip away). The area is quiet and felt very safe with permanent residents all around who were happy to chat and offer a wave when passing which was lovely, Jacob and Isaac look after the apartment and garden and keep everything looking beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds and the lovely open airy feeling.
Liked least: strange height of work surfaces, mirrors and door handles - all a bit high
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of GlenLin and the area - I really appreciate your feedback. I was very sorry not to meet you, but glad that you were well looked after by Isaac and Jacob. Thank you for choosing GlenLin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca168
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Whale watching from the couch”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

GlenLin has all the comforts your heat desires. The kitchen is very well equipped and the rest of the house is beautifully decorated to add to a pleasant stay. We could see whales breeching from the comfort of the couch. Lauren kept me updated on weather and directions and everything else I could've needed and more.
Would come back again, we had a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, fireplace, DSTV, view
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
I'm so glad you had a lovely time. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I hope that we'll meet next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanJJW
Beijing, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed for almost 2 weeks in Glenlin and enjoyed every moment of it. The apartment is spacious, bright and shows Laura's great eye for detail. The kitchen is amazingly well equiped, the entire place is full of small little details that made us feel more than welcome, like the nice arrival note on the chalk board, spare plugs, beach and rain umbrellas, books, games for those travelling with children, fresh flowers..... And everything really works! Full DSTV and WiFi that indeed reach every corner of the apartment. The view on the mountains and the ocean is absolutely stunning, the hillside garden with lemon tree full of fruit a small oasis for peaceful and quiet moments. Thank you Laura, and yes, we'll be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Can't choose
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review. GlenLin means a lot to us. I am so glad that we will see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reliable...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A quiet retreat”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This apartment is absolutely lovely. There is everything that you could possibly need and the attention to detail is amazing. I loved the chocolates and cookies that were left for us, the spices in the draw, the new soap..the list is endless. Laura and Blair are friendly, wonderful, cheerful and helpful. I would LOVE to come back and stay again.

Only thing is that the apartment is above permanent residents so one has to always be considerate of noise. That was a bit tough as it was a birthday getaway but we managed, just wish i had known that before. But that aside, you will not find a place more beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that they supplied all the necessities and the place is maintained exceptionally well
Liked least: That we had to watch noise levels
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2013
Thank you for your very positive feedback. We are so glad that you like the apartment.Thanks also for the useful hint - we'll amend the description to make it clear that there is a permanent resident in the lower apartment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed April 30, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views...
Liked least: Street Parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 May 2013
Thank you for such positive feedback. We look forward to meeting you again and sharing a glass of wine with you next time! Hopefully, there will be more improvements.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing