We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Accommodation with”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of GlenLin

living room and front balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room and front balcony
View from front balcony Braai area in back garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
living room and front balcony
View from front balcony
Braai area in back garden
Lounge
Lounge and Kitchen from the balcony
Kitchen
Dining Room
Main Bedroom
Second Bedroom
En suite bathroom
Arrow pointing to GlenLin
Looking at GlenLin with white balcony from the wetlands
Glencairn Beach
View of Glencairn from Elsie's Peak
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Glencairn, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Joro183
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Accommodation with”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

GlenLin is a lovely and very comfortable apartment. The views are wonderful and we have special memories of sitting on the balcony looking out to sea, nice glass of wine in hand! The decor is beautiful and everything you could possibly want is provided. We can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was excellent
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2014
Thank you. We can't wait to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jomar99
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gem by the sea”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We enjoyed staying at this very comfortable, clean, well located cottage with great sea views. It was well equipped, so self catering was easy and within a ten minute drive of an excellent supermarket as well as quaint seaside towns such as Kalk Bay and Simonstown. Would highly recommend Kalk Bay for its interesting shops and cafes. Visiting the Constantia vineyards was an easy trip as well as the penguins at Boulder Bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: A lot of steps to the entrance. Could be tricky for less mobile.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - it is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayma...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Glen Lin is in a beautiful position looking out to sea. It is very comfortable and well equipped, comfortable beds and all mod cons. The decor is of a high spec. Shops a short walk away and local train on doorstep both for local places along the coastline or Cape Town itself.
There are quite a lot of steps up to the apart but no problem unless you have a mobility problem. Plenty outdoor sitting area both in sun or shade.
Would recommend this to anyone and it is very well managed with nothing too much trouble with Manager only a short distance away

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position
Liked least: Nothing to dislike in particular
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, particularly about the location of GlenLin. You are completely correct about the steps and we try to ensure that potential clients are well informed that there are both external steps and an internal stairwell which means that the apartment is not suitable for everyone.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnbeck2...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb apartment in lovely location”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Glenlin. We stayed last year and loved it so much we booked again. It is in a great location with lovely views, the apartment is equipped with everything you could wish for, it is spotlessly clean and the service provided by Laura and Blair is very special, nothing is too much trouble and they are two of the nicest people you could meet.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review which has only encouraged us to improve GlenLin further. Laura is off shopping tomorrow! We loved meeting you again and appreciate the time you took to write review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian D
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb location and the best equipped self catering establishment we have stayed in.”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

GlenLin is superbly located midway between the best swimming beach in the Cape Peninsula (Boulders Beach which has the added bonus of penguins!) and the quaintest, trendiest fishing village - Kalk Bay - with it's superb restaurants and chic shops and galleries. The vlei at Glencairn is just across the road and is great for a walk or run. The accommodation is beautifully presented and has absolutely everything you could possibly need and more. The thought that has gone into stocking the apartment shows how much the owners care about their guests and their holiday experience. There are plug converters for most countries, toys and books for small children, buckets and spades and other children's toys for the beach, beach towels, a kitchen with everything you require if you want to cook, and loads of brochures covering just about everywhere in the Western Cape as well as a Cape Town map book. If that doesn't help you, Blair is a registered tour guide who is only too happy to provide advice on where to go and what to do. Definitely a little gem of a place that offers the perfect base for a fun filled holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the fact that it has everything you could possibly need.
Liked least: We didn't understand how to recycle the waste and ended up throwing everything in the bin which didn't go down well with an environmentally responsible family.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2014
We so appreciate your review. Thank you so much. We also believe that Glencairn is a much underestimated suburb of Simon's Town with its vlei/wetland area and child friendly beach.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandy d
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful home from home”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Glenlin has to be one of the best rentals we have ever stayed in. Laura & Blair have thought of everything. Spotless, large apartment conveniently situated for everything.We had a wonderful 4 nights here and wished we could have stayed longer. You will not be dissapointrd, we will definitely be back. Thank you for making our holiday memorable.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review and so soon after your stay. Your comments mean a lot to us. We self-cater ourselves so try to provide what we are looking for in a holiday home. However, you never know whether you are getting things right. I hope you will be back and that we will meet you next time. Hopefully, you will see a few small touches of improvement.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buggsi
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic base for Cape Town adventures”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We spent a really great week based at Glenlin and had a great break. The apartment is spacious and really well equipped with access to a lovely outside space. The location just off the main coast road outside Simon's Town gave really easy access to the major routes to all that Cape Town and the surrounding area has to offer. The view from the large balcony over the wetlands and out to False Bay was beautiful and during our stay ever changing, unfortunately the whales had moved on (but we did find some in Hermanus a day trip away). The area is quiet and felt very safe with permanent residents all around who were happy to chat and offer a wave when passing which was lovely, Jacob and Isaac look after the apartment and garden and keep everything looking beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds and the lovely open airy feeling.
Liked least: strange height of work surfaces, mirrors and door handles - all a bit high
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of GlenLin and the area - I really appreciate your feedback. I was very sorry not to meet you, but glad that you were well looked after by Isaac and Jacob. Thank you for choosing GlenLin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing