We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,183)
Filter reviews
4,183 results
Traveller rating
2,846
910
253
103
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,846
910
253
103
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water slides watertable restaurant kids pool private bridge pedestrian bridge pizza place main pool water table grounds are beautiful valet parking rent bikes fire pit beautiful hotel per day ocean view great for families family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
3,843 - 3,848 of 4,183 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2008

My wife and I happened upon this hotel while staying in the area making arrangements for my daughter to move into Long Beach State. I contacted the desk manager to inquire about staying there for my anniversary...he was very helpful and made a special note in my reservation for my arrival. The staff upgraded us to an incredible suite and then a few hours later sent up champagne and chocolate covered strawberries at no charge! The room was immaculate, quiet...
and every staff member I encountered was very congenial and exuded a surfer-like, laid back casual atmosphere. I loved having an on-site Starbucks...grabbed a cup each morning and then walked across the resorts archway to the beach. I recently stayed at a five-star all inclusive resort in Playa Del Carmen and this location rivaled its lush surroundings but did not have the stuffy, very cold feel that I found at the Playa. I would encourage anyone visiting the area to make this location a "must stay"...oh yeah...almost forget the spa facility is out of this world...

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kkmosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2008

We recently returned from a stay at this hotel to celebrate my 50th Birthday, and I couldn't have been happier with my choice! We usually go to Mexico for vacations but decided to stay in California and meet up with relatives who live in Southern California. The kids had a week off from school and we thought we could include a visit to Disneyland. That was actually the only downfall to the entire trip, Disneyland was extremely crowded and the lines were way too long! We had more fun on the beach and in the waves. We should have brought Boogie Boards and Skim Boards with us and just stayed there the whole time. My 14 year old loved walking down to shop on Main Street and my 12 year old bought a Smores Kit in the gift shop to use at the Fire Pit! The Hotel was just wonderful! All of our meals were excellent, (especially breakfast) and the pool was beautiful. We will be making this a yearly destination for a family vacation from now on!

Date of stay: October 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MOMBO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2008

We needed a beach hotel that was a short flight from home and would be family-friendly. The Hyatt fit the bill. The rooms were very nice, fairly well sound-proofed, and our Regency Club King had a pseudo-sitting area with love seat, coffee table, and work desk that gave us room to spread out. Beware that the refrigerators state that they are not suitable for dairy or medical products -- difficult for us as we were with our milk-guzzling toddler.

Some random notes as other travelers have covered many of the pertinent points:

Room service was efficient and the food average to excellent.

The pedestrian bridge to the beach is GREAT. What an asset instead of having to cross the PCH at the light half a block down.

Fun to walk towards the pier and go to Ruby's or elsewhere in town. Cab ride back to hotel is $7 if you don't want to hoof it back.

Ocean was really cold so most of our swimming was done at the hotel's salt-water pool. It is a little small, but they are completing the big one at one end of the resort. It was deserted during the week but packed during the weekend.

Music at pool way too loud. Same volume whether it was empty or packed. Very distracting to try to read on our poolside balcony and suffer through the decibel level. Music ranged from hip-hop to U2 -- something for everyone to hate.

Patio doors don't have screens, so you are unable to leave the door open without worrying about bugs. The PCH is loud but you learn to live with it -- this is an urban beach, after all.

Get the cheapest room if you're there for the view -- all offer a glimpse of the ocean, and if you're not oceanfront, it doesn't matter anyway.

Staff was uniformly young but respectful, eager, and helpful, even with the numerous conferences and weddings going on.

The poolside grill was closed during the weekdays while we were there -- open weekends only.

Pete's -- fun. Has a Sunday brunch.

Californian -- limited menu but nice atmosphere. Way overpriced with the exception of Sunday brunch.

Tower 15 Pizzeria -- we did not enjoy this. Nice folks but bad pizza.

Spa -- too expensive, even for these Four Seasons regulars.

We loved the Regency Club benefit. There were either breakfast items, snacks, juices, or desserts available all day. There are no small restaurants or fast food joints near the hotel so it was great to go in and grab something to tide us over until dinner.

Bell staff was wonderful and helped us out with an unscrupulous taxi driver who was trying to overcharge us.

Date of stay: September 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Milehikrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2008

We visited the Hyatt Huntington Beach for a mini-honeymoon right after our wedding so we wouldn't just go back home after the ceremony. We were really impressed by the resort-feel of the place and how it is almost a little village unto itself. The ocean-view room was spacious and clean with a lovely bathroom, and it was surprisingly quiet considering that it faced directly onto Pacific Coast Highway. The pool was lovely, as was "The Grotto", which is a group of 3 large jacuzzis with some privacy. All food was excellent and we loved the attention to detail everywhere, whether it was the care of preparation to the architectural details. One thing I will always remember is that they had lovely gas firepits and fireplaces everywhere where you could congregate in the evening and roast marshmallows -- lots of fun.

We went in September and the hotel was very quiet, but not dead. I wouldn't want to be there during high season. But we had the pool to ourselves at night, it was great. Best of all was the service -- our room was not ready when we arrived (at 10 pm???) and they desk clerk immediately gave us access to their "Regency Club" for the duration of our stay without us even complaining about the room not being ready! That was a nice perk -- hope that you get access to that, it was really nice! Then there was another issue and we had to wait a bit longer and we were invited to the Red Chair Lounge to have an entire meal (including drinks and dessert) on the hotel. Keep in mind that we had not expressed frustration at all -- they just offered these things freely. It was refreshing to be someplace that is so proactive about providing a pleasant experience for its guests.

Only downsides I could see is that parking is exclusively valet and it's $25/day -- it was included in our package but if it isn't in yours, it could add up. Also, get a room with a view facing seaward or towards a courtyard -- the south-facing rooms at the end of the hotel overlook the half-built new swimming area (which will surely be incredibly noisy when complete) as well as a very industrial-looking power plant. The hotel is not cheap by any standard but it's a very romantic and relaxing place that you can indulge in -- do visit!

Date of stay: September 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2008

Hi all-

I'm writing to amend/correct the review I did in August for this property. In August, I spent 5 mediocre days in a small, disappointing room and crowds at the pool, but my recent stay the first week of Sep. was exceptional.

Room: Ocean view overlooking the pool and sraight view of the ocean. I usually book a king, but when I received this room with two double beds, I realized that the room was larger and accepted straight away. The bathroom was huge compared to the previous room. It had a huge double-sink vanity, separate shower and tub and separate small toilet room. Large walk-in closet was GREAT, considering I was staying longer than a week. Small balcony with small table and two chairs was nice perk for early morning and late-nite coffee and email, but neighbors were very close, i.e., boys in tne next room drinking beer and smoking on two evenings could have easily gotten on to my balcony - had to call it a night early due to being a bit scared. Per my earlier post in August, the linens and pillows were great, as were the complimentary bottles of water (2 every day).

Food: Breakfast at the Californian was exceptional, and the waitstaff were extemely attentive. Eggs Benedict was yummy, as were the complimentary smoothie shots served on several of my breakfast visit. Casual dinner at the Surf cafe in the courtyard was fun and tasty -- be sure to check out the happy hour.

Pool: Much less crowded that mid-August and very much more relaxing. The pool sparkled and the waitstaff were extremely friendly and attentive/accomodating. Quite nice to be able to order lunch and drink poolside from the menu that offered salads, sandwiches, alcohol, smoothies, etc.

Spa: Again, the spa was fantastic and it was a pleasure to be able to use the facilities on days when I hadn't booked a treatment.

Front desk: Extremely helpful and more than accomodating. I applaud the front-line staff for their patience and professionalism when dealing with a fire alarm issue. I felt as if the staff knew me personally and went out of their way to ensure my satisfaction.

Grounds: Exceptionally manicured -- beautiful.

Valet: Still pricey at $25 per day, but I NEVER had to wait for my car and the valets were always more than willing to help with directions and even offered to remove the empty water bottles, etc. from the car.

In general, I'd say that I'd like to retract much of thenegative from the August review, but acknowledge that much of my satisfaction with this recent trip is due to getting a better room and the resort being less crowded. Regardless, I would stay again and will recommend this resort to friends and colleagues.

Thanks Hyatt Huntington.

Date of stay: September 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SeriousSpaGoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews