We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$246
US$102
HotelsForEveryone
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$76
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Chula Vista Inn(Chula Vista)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$119
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$115
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baycities Motel(Chula Vista)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
Best Western Americana Inn(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
276
138
51
19
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
138
51
19
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstreet tacossan diegoocean viewpier south resorthotel restaurantrooftop decksea restaurantseparate bedroombasketball courtresort feebalcony doormarriott propertyliving areapool and hot tubsilver strandhear the wavesprivate balcony
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 504 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

Beautifully redone boutique hotel right on the beach. One has to appreciate the effort that has gone into making the redo of this small hotel that has been enhanced to be ecologically conformant as well as romantically comfortable.

Certain challenges cannot be overcome—-single elevator that doesn’t always work, absence of high scale dining opportunities available outside of hotel(in house restaurant is great), but everyone likes variety. Staff was young and enthusiastic, but lacked something in practical experience.

Some rooms would not have a straight on ocean view.

I would be happy to stay here again—-our only real disappointment was that weather was cool and we did not get as much beach walking time as we had hoped for.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd H, General Manager at Pier South Resort, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Dear Pleasant Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words. There was much thought and research put into the design and LEED certified capabilities of the property. It takes substantial effort to maintain, but it is worth being ecologically sound. We have great pride in our team and most of our reviews speak volumes of their friendliness and capability, their experience will come with time. We hope to see you again soon, the weather will just be getting better and better.
Thank you,
Todd Husted
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for our anniversary and it was quite possibly the best place I have ever stayed in my life. The staff was extremely accommodating than you can ever imagine and the restaurant inside the hotel was wonderful! I can't even imagine staying anywhere else and enjoying it anymore. The sound of the waves from the ocean while you sleep was awesome! Dianne, the hotel manager was super! If you needed anything, she would make it happen. PARADISE!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd H, General Manager at Pier South Resort, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Dear Perfect Guest,
We're so happy you were able to enjoy your anniversary with us. Thank you so much for recognizing the staff and Diana, they are a great team that goes out of their way for our guests. We sincerely hope to see you again before your next anniversary.
Cheers,
Todd Husted
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2018

We stayed here last weekend for my birthday and it was the best! Even though it was rainy they moved the Social Hour from the roof to the lobby Saturday night and we got to enjoy drinks and snacks before getting the best massages ever! All the employees were SO friendly, the room was very clean, and the view from our balcony was perfect! On Sunday we had a delicious breakfast downstairs and then went to the roof top and enjoyed the wonderful view. We can not wait to come back here! Thanks for a great birthday weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolynne2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd H, General Manager at Pier South Resort, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Dear Birthday Guest,
What a perfect review! We're so happy you were able to take advantage of all the amenities we have to offer at Pier South. We especially love to hear about our staff, that is our #1 asset. We're very excited for you to come back as well, we hope to see you before your next birthday!
Cheers,
Todd Husted
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

Nicest hotel in Imperial Beach. We've stayed here on several occasions, just a little staycation or for the Silver Strand half marathon. Rooms have a very beach like feel, with sliding doors everywhere. Rooms looking right out at the beach, just open the balcony door and you can get the ocean breeze and sound of the waves echoing through the room. The staff is friendly and courteous, we've gotten upgraded to better rooms every time we stayed there. Another good thing about this hotel is the Sea180 restaurant which is in the lobby of the hotel. It's a Cohn's group restaurant, so you know it's good.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd H, General Manager at Pier South Resort, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

Dear Wonderful Guest,
I love your title "Open the Door and Hear the Waves," it is such a true statement. We have so many guests that do just that, sit on their balconies and take in the view and the calming surf. We have a great partnership with Sea180 that helps both of us thrive at our beachfront location. Our friendly and courteous staff is anxiously awaiting your return.
Thank you,
Todd Husted
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2018

Very pretty hotel situated on a nice beach in just an 'okay' beach area. But we found that the sound insulation between rooms was practically non existent. We had to call the front desk about noise from the room on one side...and then every evening/early morning it sounded that the people in the room above us, were actually in our suite. We ended up checking out early and moving to another property to get some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeasideB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd H, General Manager at Pier South Resort, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2018

Dear Guest,
Naturally we strive for excellent reviews so your comments are indeed disappointing. By "okay" beach area I surmise that the unincorporated small town vibe is not for you. Most of our guests relish the unique shops and restaurants to escape the city hustle. We're sorry that you couldn't find your peace and quiet with us, we will take your comments to heart to rectify these issues moving forward.
Todd Husted
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews