We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good dim sum and take out”
Review of Sam Woo

Sam Woo
Ranked #15 of 754 Restaurants in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed March 11, 2018

This is the Irvine location of a small chain that I believe started in the San Gabriel Valley. The main restaurant is clean and has nice décor. It's suitable for inviting guests for a special occasion and the dim sum selection is good and tasty. It is different in that I typically go to restaurants where there are carts continuously circling the dining area offering their wares. Here, the waiter takes your order and brings the items to you (although there are still a few carts being pushed about).

The BBQ Express location offers both a buffet of items that you can choose as part of a lunch/dinner special or you can order your favorite Cantonese style dishes to go. It's nice that they care about the quality of the food - for example they separate the crispy noodles from the toppings/sauce into 2 containers so that you don't get a soggy mess when you get home. They also have a large dine in area, although I have not eaten in on the Express side.

Both locations are busy, so it's best to time your visit around the mealtime rush if you're in a hurry. It's a solid choice if you are hankering Chinese food in the Irvine area.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 227 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2018

We had lunch at Sam Woo yesterday. There were three of us and we ordered Squid Kum Pao, Orange Chicken and Sauteed Green Beans. There was enough food to feed the three of us with enough leftovers for lunch toay.
Everything was delicious - the green beans best we have ever tasted. We will be back soon.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank magev109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018

Nice place for good dim sum. Everything needs to be ordered from a menu. That means you choose what you would like and it comes very quickly, but you miss the charm of the little carts coming around with surprises! Service is very quick and mostly very friendly.
The waiting times before you are shown to a table can be quite long, don't even try to make a reservation..they deny you made one..the ladies in reception are not very nice to say it mildly.
Unlike wat another reviewer says, credit cards have always been accepted.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Itistrue165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2018 via mobile

This place is conveniently located in the shopping center with plenty of other restaurant and the food and the service is very quick.
We used to leave in Irvine for few years closed to this place and have been here multiple time over the past 6 years and been satisfied with the food & Services.
Today we started with the hot green tea pot that soothes the cool day like today!
and the dishes was vegetarian fried rice, baby Pokcwhoie & Vegetarian chow main with tofu, all came out fresh with good portions.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2018

Came with my family of 5. We're told the wait was 10 minutes after 1:30 for lunch. We waited for 25 minutes, not because there were not tables available. There were plenty of larger table, mainly seating 6 - 10 people. We had to ask multiple times when we would be seated. I think tehy were annoyed that we kept asking that they finally called us. Even after we were called we had to wait a few minutes for them to clean the table near the bathroom. There were other tables available near the entrance and center. After we were seated, the otehr larger tables not near the bathroom were given to parties of 2. Those tables by the way seated 8-10.

Food was good and served immediately. We had to request for water, and utensils which is unsual I think since other tables had utensils on the table before people were seated.

Being a visitor in the area, I am assuming, this type of service is accepted by local patrons being this is a Chinese restaurant. I was not impressed at all.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mbellastyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam Woo also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
 

Been to Sam Woo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing