We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only the "Silver" Remotes Work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Amador Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Jackson
MCKINLEYVILLE
Level Contributor
169 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Only the "Silver" Remotes Work”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

So we can't control the volume on the remote control for the TV and they tell us "only the silver remotes have been upgraded or calibrated or some such nonsense, to work with the TV". Well, we had a Black one. So they KNOW ahead of time that they have rooms with remotes that don't work and everyone will have to get up and down/back and forth to change the volume. And they can't get us one that works because they "don't know which rooms those silver ones are in"! We were in room 139. Then the bathroom door won't close. and if you try to close it even part way, it just swings back to almost all the way open. if you stick a towel down there to try to hold it as closed as possible, it still slides back part way. The door was too big for the frame? A hinge was hanging? Whatever it was, they KNOW it is like this already, and I guess they just pretend they're hearing it for the first time if you tell them? like no one had complained before? and, for the third time, a Best Western without a Microwave. I thought they started a campaign years ago to upgrade and outfit every BW to all have the same ammenities. it was raining the next day so we never asked about a pool or hot tub, but I didn't see either.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 139.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyatt m, Manager at Best Western Amador Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
thank you for the reveiw. i am working on this problem at this time it can be very confusing. once again thank you wyatt m
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    119
    59
    43
    38
See reviews for
113
113
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I must compliment the front desk staff for being so prompt in getting back to me with my request to get a crib for our stay They did not have one for the dates of our stay but the manager agreed to purchase another one so we would not have to find a different place to stay. They were always so courteous to us and really gave us the impresion they cared about earning their business. The room was clean and comfortable and large enough for our family of 4. It is located in the heart of Jackson so is close to other things. We would recomend this place to anyone from the business traveler to a family with young children. We found the best rate was by booking directly through their site (via Kayak). Great place for a weekend with family.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunningM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I stayed at the hotel one night while on a ski trip to Kirkwood. Very nice hotel.

Great:
1. Clean and big room, clean bathroom with good shower-head.
2. Fridge and microwave
3. New and comfortable mattresses
4. Quiet - no noise from outside and very little sound from the AC unit.
5. Decent furniture, granite counters in the bathroom, motion detecting light switches - very nice
6. Location - next block to the downtown, on the intersection of 88 and 49.
7. The hotel sells Kirkwood lift tickets for $64. They are $79 on the mountain.
8. Continental breakfast was very good - the best I ever had in hotels below $100 per night.


Not so great:
TV set is somewhat old.

I wish all my hotel stays would be as good. This is better than average Best Western with lower than average price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikatsca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Loved the stay. Jennifer helped us with everything and anything we needed. Clean room, kitchenette. We stayed a month and service was excellent. Clean rooms maid service every third day. Made Thanksgiving dinner here, and had all I needed for cooking. Would recommend, and will stay again if back in area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We arrived late on Christmas Day to a warm smile and a cheerful welcome. The young lady at the counter was so helpful in giving me directions to find a bottle of milk for an 18-month-old when all stores were closed. Later, when I discovered I had forgotten to pack my toiletries, she supplied me with the essentials and a generous "Merry Christmas!" The next morning, we checked out with Michele, who was a complete delight. Her cheerful conversation, assistance with breakfast, explanation of the billing, and general helpfulness were wonderful. We really enjoyed this stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nv
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I can not say enough great things about the service I received at the Best Western Amador Inn in Jackson, Ca. I had a very a bad experience at the Jackson Lodge on Dec. 23, 2011 and had to move to the Best Westerns, Vanesa was jewel she made sure that the room was warm and give me my AAA discount informed me that I could get a 15% discount at Denny's. Being I had traveled from Las Vegas, NV. I was really tired when I checked in. The room came with queen size beds and refg. and micowave cont. breakfast what more could one ask for. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Being in the service industry I really appreciated the extra mile they gave me, especially Vanesa. Upon check out I encountered a elderly lady at the front desk Vanesa had gotten her coffee and even offerred to get a employee to help her carry it to her room, what great service. If you want good service at a good price check out the Motel. The price for 2 days was $158.38 good deal. I would stay here again and will tell all my friends about this Motel, and the gret service I received for their staff.

Room Tip: Great place to stay at a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancyyy158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilroy
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I originally stayed here because i did'nt want to impose on a friend who lives near by . I started working and visiting in the area more and more . I was so well recieved and welcomed by the staff that i would not consider staying at the Holiday Inn down the street . Normally when i travel , that's the hotel i look for . Tonight i was cheerfully greeted by Vanesa and it made it feel like my home away from home .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrence a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
6.5 km away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
7.7 km away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
5.5 km away
Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort
35.6 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Amador Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Amador Inn

Property: Best Western Amador Inn
Address: 200 S State Highway 49, Jackson, CA 95642-2548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Amador County > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Amador Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Amador Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amador Hotel Jackson
Best Western Jackson
Jackson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing