We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
27
75
89
29
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
75
89
29
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews busy road lots of free parking iron and board fridge and microwave yosemite valley bed was comfortable gave great directions price range decent place to stay gold country corners loveseat earplugs backside tahoe stopover
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 268 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2018

I have traveled all over this country from 5 stars to 3-star hotels. NEVER! have I stayed in a hotel with the rudest staff I have ever had the miss fortune to encounter. Tonight after staying in this place for four days, I went down to the office to ask for a coffee packet because for the last two days they did not leave me coffee and did not clean the coffee maker. I asked very nicely if I could have a coffee packet due to them not leaving me one the man at the desk which I believe to be one of the owners said I can have just one because they cost money, He said that he did not believe that I didn't receive one. I said to him that that was a rude thing to say and he told me not to come back to hiS HOTEL. PLEASE DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL, it's DIRTY AND THE OWNER AND STAFF ARE RUDE.

Room Tip: I have never ever commented on a hotel and I have stayed in hundreds! Must say something about this place. please avoid this hotel!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inncountry2017, Front Office Manager at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Hello and thank your for your review. Housekeeping generally adds a new coffee into the room for stayovers as well as cleans so I am not sure why they might have left a room untouched with it for three days in a row and we will definitely look into it with our staff. A typical coffee packet can produce 2 cups of coffee so normally only one packet is provided with additional ones at a small cost. I apologize if you felt that one of our staff members were rude as I can assure you that is never our intent. Thank You. - Country Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2018 via mobile

Just a quick stopover on our way to Yosemite. Plenty of room, very comfortable with just a bit of a hike up the stairs(we could have parked up the back). We arrived quite late yet the reception staff were so helpful. They also gave great directions back to the shopping precinct .

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wagonweel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inncountry2017, Front Office Manager at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Thank you for your high review. I am glad that you were able to stay with us while you were visiting Yosemite and that enjoyed the accommodations as well as all the info that our staff was able to provide. Please come again. - Country Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2018

I have NEVER dealt with a more rude staff, the only polite person was the lady at check out, otherwise they made us feel like an inconvenience & gave any excuse under the sun not to put us in a room. 2 hours AFTER signing papers and being told our room was on the 1st floor and not cleaned yet, we ended up getting keys to a room on the 3rd floor, & it was DISGUSTING. Hair in the sheets, hair on the towels, what looked like blood stains on the shower curtain. On top of it all, they had MAJOR construction occurring and failed to mention that ANYWHERE, or apologize for the jack-hammering that occurred REALLY early in the morning. We will NEVER stay here again - and I recommend everyone else do the same.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rheabean22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inncountry2017, Front Office Manager at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Hello and thank you for your review. I am sorry that your room wasn't quite ready yet. That is often the case if arriving before the designated 4pm check in time. Thus why we moved you to another room if you were ready to check in. If there was anything wrong with your room we advise that you could have called down to the front desk and we would have sent someone up or if available, been able to move you to another room. As for the remodeling, while the hotel was under remodel to upgrade, I can assure you that the jackhammering and construction work was done from 9-5 and not every day was jackhammering. We held them to those hours to not disturb our guests at night or too early in the morning as most people head out for the day whether it be Yosemite or elsewhere. I thank you for your review. - Country Inn Sonora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2018 via mobile

Keep in mind, I try to give people the benefit of the doubt but these people are obnoxious and rude. I booked an online reservation and when I tried to check in, their system declined my card. I called my bank and even my bank said it was the hotels system. I asked for a refund and after 10 min of bickering They refused. I also saw them turn away others for a "declined" card and no refund. My boyfriend got upset and went to talk to them. They refused to acknowledge him until he had to get their attention and was completely rude. After I went to ask if I could pay in cash and they replied saying my boyfriend wasn't allowed to stay their because he confronted them about the poor service. They said "Either you get a new boyfriend or go somewhere else". Those exact words. I have never been more angered by a business then this place. The owners and the woman at the front desk have no manners or people skills. I will never go there again or recommend it to anyone. I'm shocked their still in business.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Hailey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inncountry2017, Front Office Manager at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Hello and thank you for your review. We remember you and the issue was the card presented with your Expedia booking. We check the card to make sure it is valid in case of incidentals or anything damaged to the room. If you recall, we tried several times with different ways to run your card and it was invalid every time and even asked if your boyfriend could provide a card. When you tried looking for another solution with your bank, etc, and went outside, your boyfriend came inside and used a lot of racial slurs and derogatory remarks that were not acceptable in any terms for whatever the reason. For this reason along with an invalid card, we offered to have your reservation refunded at no additional charge to you in order to make a booking elsewhere. So I am sorry that you felt we were unforgiving but we did provide a refund and tried to accommodate. Thank You - Country Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

My heart is heavy in writing this review, I have never had such a horrible experience in my life, upon booking, i booked a room for 2 people/ 1 bed (king size). me and my husband have always traveled with our son and shared beds in our hotel room. when calling in to let them know I would be checking in later than expected, i was rudely told that if I dont check in by 12am that I would be charged another 30.00 for extra staff. I am approaching 34 years old and have had plenty hotel experiences where check in time is pretty much anytime you darn well get there, as long as its paid for. we were on the road several hours. I am a full time college student and mommy and my schedule isnt always a early arrival. by the time we arrived before the over charge fee was implemented, we were ready to sleep and go to bed. as I am getting things together with this clerk of a woman, my husband and son walk in, she imediately tells me i was dishonest and that there is three people with me. I told her that my husband and son are with me, no one else, she insists that i was still dishonest, at this point she is talking pretty loud and my son is hearing everything. I honestly felt that she was being a bit racist toward me, her whole demeanor was like she hated her job. I was close to blowing a lid explaining my self to her. she then proceeded to kick me out and not refund my money because my attitude was bad. it was pouring rain outside, and me and my son were left out in the rain, while she asked to deal with my husband instead. My son was crying and asking why "that lady was so mean". truly a horrible experience and do not recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank jasmine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inncountry2017, Front Office Manager at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Hello and thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt that you were misled by the hotel. It is policy that check in is from 4pm-12am and anything after that time from is considered a late check in and an additional fee of $30.00 will be added to the reservation. All hotels are different but for the most part when booking a hotel on any site, you have to put in the number of people that will be in that room. Just because your son sleeps with you in some places does not necessarily mean that will be accepted everywhere. I am not sure how old your child is but anything over 3 years old is chargeable. Had you booked that a toddler of under 3 was going to be in the room with you and share the bed, that is completely fine as they are young. However, children of any age 6 or greater generally has be to in a separate bed and anyone of any age group has to be accounted for in the room. That is why we ask how many people or pets, etc are going to be in the room as everything has to be recorded correctly. I am sorry that you felt we were rude towards you but we have to have accuracy in accordance to hotel policy. Thank you. - Country Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews