We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
220
96
48
21
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
96
48
21
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double eagle resort trout pond indoor pool small pond fitness center beautiful setting separate shower fly fishing steam room two bedroom cabin carson peak eastern sierras spectacular views king bed great restaurant june lakes san francisco
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 407 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

I wish I had better things to say about the Double Eagle. The property grounds are very nice but our cabin was old and needed updates badly. We were in cabin #102 2br 1bath

Pros:
Individual cabins you can drive right up to. The spa facilities are nice and clean. New flat screen TVs with good cable channels. Good for dogs. Cabins lead right outside.

Cons:
Outdated cabins in need of renovations. Beds (lumpy) and pillows (flat and old) were in poor condition. Unsanitary “coffee” service (a shared container of coffee in the fridge). No new kitchen sponge but a used one (YUCK!!). No dishwasher (they charge $50 if you don’t wash your dishes).

We should have know better but we didn’t. We paid wayyyy too much for what we got at the Double Eagle. $300+/night. The Westin was around the same price per night and 10x better. We only stayed here for 2 days and then headed to Mammoth and couldn’t wait to get to the Westin in Mammoth....what a sigh of relief. Stay tuned for the Westin review. Oh yeah, the fish in their pond aren’t dumb and won’t bite.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mustluvdogs0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darla R, General Manager at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Dear Mustluvdogs0207, We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Double Eagle Resort and Spa. Our property is snuggled in the June Lake Loop with mountain cabins. We have a creek flowing along side of our property, mountain and forest views all around us. Included in your nightly rate we offer you complimentary access to our Creekside Spa and access to our Trout pond. Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

We stayed here for one night in August 2018 The June Lake area was very smoky due to the fires. There were some good and not so good parts of this property:
Good:
Picturesque location.
Rooms were nice with large comfortable bed, small refrigerator and deck. We stayed in one of the lodge type rooms .
We enjoyed the spa; I swam laps in the pool--small but not too small to get some exercise. Great gym area complete with multiple weights, weight machines, cardio machines and separate room for yoga and perhaps spinning. Jacuzzi outside by pool and also private one in women's and men's locker room along with steam. Large showers, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, etc.
Chocolate chip cookie on arrival.
Restaurant on site

The not so good:
The rooms are not sound proof. Maybe because it is all wooden, but it sounded during the night as if large furniture was being moved around in the rooms next to us. We were on the top floor too . If I came back here--and I would b/c I liked the spa and did not try any of the treatments that looked nice--I would stay in one of the cabins
Smokers on the balcony/decks. This isn't really the fault of the resort. Why don't people who smoke realize how offensive they are?
Check out time is 1000am. That is pretty early if you are staying one night, b/c we couldn't get in until about 330pm.
The restaurant was pretty pricey. We did go to the Happy Hour (get there early, small bar with limited seating) for some great food and drinks
But what took the cake is that we left a phone charger in the room. We know we left it, and where we left it and called the next day. No one knew anything about it. We also stopped by on our way back south a few days later--still empty handed. So the housekeeping staff took it because it was right by the coffee maker and items that would need to be refilled for the next guest.

Room Tip: I didn't like the noise in the lodge style rooms and would stay in a cabin in the future
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank runswim54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darla R, General Manager at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Dear Runswim54, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and are able to share these tips with our guests. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Just loved our stay in cabin 107! Our family of four plus a golden retriever loved this resort. It’s peaceful, quiet, has great amenities and is in the perfect location on the loop. The cabin was comfortable and fully stocked with everything we needed to cook. The indoor pool and spa are great and the fly fishing pond was awesome! Happy hour with Ashley at the bar was awesome and affordable. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank HotOCMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darla R, General Manager at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Dear HotOCMama, We are delighted to hear how you enjoyed your stay with us. Our cabins are set perfectly in our mountain setting with all the amenities one could ask for. Our spa is set for you to relax and rejuvenate while the perfect end to your day with Happy Hour. I look forward to sharing this review with Ashley Thank you! We look forward to having you as our guests again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

Visited for a few days walking holiday with my wife. Stayed in one of the lakeside cabins. Room was great, nice balcony overlooking the pond. Shower and bath were superb. However given the price-tag the place is let down on a several fronts: most of all the restaurant is poor (reviewed separately) - I would give it a miss. Breakfast isn’t included (and most definitely should be with the price of the rooms). Theming around the cabins is verging on tacky (old mine carts, wagons etc). Room also needed a bit of maintenance: several blinds were broken. WiFi was slow and reception patchy. Some real milk for tea and coffee would be nice (especially as the rooms have fridges). Spa was nice (except for theming - who needs a Wild West manikin in a gym), gym equipment was great, but bit weird that you have to walk past reception to get to the pool. Strange arrangement in spa with unisex steam rooms and jacuzzis off the changing rooms.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DowieCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darla R, General Manager at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2018

Dear DowieCam, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your resort room. We apologize for your experience in our restaurant, we will pass this on to the venue manager. The spa is a beautiful amenity that is offered complimentary to all our of cabin and resort room guests. I must say the our changing/locker rooms are not unisex. Both sides contain gender specific steam rooms, showers and whirlpools. We hope to see you again soon, thank you for visiting the June Lake Loop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018

It's been said before but the setting is breathtaking. Absolutely beautiful; mountains, waterfalls and wildlife (you'll be unlucky NOT to see deer grazing near your room) - it has an Alpine feel to it. There was still plenty of snow visible on the higher peaks in July.

Our room was spacious and clean - with a balcony. If you can get a room overlooking the resorts' small lake - it all adds to the ambience. People have complained about the mosquitos - yep, they're plentiful - it's the mountains, it's hot and you're surrounded by lakes. Just take precautions.

From a 'resort' perspective there's plenty to do albeit we avoided the indoor pool (too hot outside) and spa so can't really comment although a friendly staff member showed us around. The gym is well equipped if that's your thing (it's mine).

The restaurant has received several negative comments which is interesting. For our part it was a tale of two halves. We were disappointed with our evening meal (hence 4 rather than 5 stars) and ate elsewhere afterwards but the breakfasts (we stayed 3 nights) were excellent quality and value. We also struck up a good relationship with our waiters who couldn't have been more friendly or helpful - just like the reception staff. My 16 year old son ( a tough customer) wanted to stay longer - that says it all.

Room Tip: Choose a lakeside room
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raphakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darla R, General Manager at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Dear Raphakid, Thank you so much for being our guest at the Double Eagle Resort and Spa. Our setting is breathtaking, we are nestled in the most beautiful area of June Lake. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed Eagles Landing. Our staff strives to ensure our guests have a wonderful vacation. They will love to learn that we succeeded especially with your son. We look forward to having you as our guests again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews