We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Weekend!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kernville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sierra Gateway Cottages
Reviewed 28 March 2016

How very fortunate we were to have hit on this wonderful place for out little family reunion! Starting with the AMAZING Carla! What a sweet, wonderful, helpful gal, always upbeat, cheerful, helpful, the perfect person for that job. She was MOST accommodating, even researching alternative venues for our big outdoor day in case of inclement weather, as well as Catholic churches and times of services. LOVED Carla! There were 22 of us - 17 adults and 4 little ones. We occupied all the cottages (except Kern Bunkhouse). Darling, cozy cottages all! Perfect for our purpose. Clean, well stocked. We could get away from each other, yet were within shouting distance when we needed to communicate. Every amenity we needed, great areas for outdoor gathering, games, even a scavenger hunt a little further afield. Convenient (walking distance) to grocery, pubs. We all agreed that we could make this our go-to place every year. Carla even ordered spectacular weather for us. Thank you, Carla, for all your efforts. You made 22 people very very happy!

Room Tip: Every cottage seemed better than the last. If you plan on cooking, definitely get the Lake House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1237maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KernvilleCottages, Manager at Sierra Gateway Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Thank you for choosing Sierra Gateway Cottages for your Easter family weekend event Sara! Your kind words mean so much.
Sincerely,
Carla
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the Riverbend cottage over the long Whiskey Flat weekend. Sweet 1 bedroom, view of the river & mountains, fireplace, BBQ, comfy bed, 40" flat screen, front & back porches, clean, great location near market & restaurants, walk to everything. Only thing it lacked was a tub.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Terri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

What a find! We stayed in the Kern Bunkhouse over New Year’s and it couldn’t have been more perfect. Easy booking/check-in (Carla, the manager, is great - reliable, accessible, personable) and an unbeatable price for such a cozy yet spacious cabin (we were four and there was more than enough seating and sleeping space!) with all the amenities, even a cast iron fireplace. If you’re considering booking, look no further! We’d definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank gwg2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015

I recently stayed here when I was in town getting married. The manager, Carla Thorn, was very helpful and even put fresh flowers in the cottage. We arrived late at night, and the key was right where she said it would be. We entered the Lake House cottage and were delighted by the beautiful details that abounded within. The beds were comfortable and it felt like home. When we woke in the morning, we were blown away be the gorgeous view as we sipped coffee on the back deck. We had plenty of room to have friends come and visit. Also, the location was perfect for getting what we needed at the grocery store next door so that we could use the fully-equipped kitchen to make breakfast in the morning and walk to the Starlight Lounge wine bar across the street for some evening entertainment. I will definitely stay there whenever I am in Kernville, and recommend it highly to anyone looking to have a great experience in the charming little town.

Room Tip: The Lake House cottage is the largest, but the other three smaller cottages are also perfect for a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015

The cottages are so charming and being in Kernville was very peaceful! Charming place within walking distance to everything I needed. When I walked into the cottage it felt clean and very homey. Never meet more friendly people, especially the manager Carla! A great get-a-way weekend...Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: #3 the Riverbend Cottage has a nice river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2014

We stayed in the Spring, and from the moment we arrived everything was as described. Found the key no problem, a light was left on for us, and we greatly appreciated the local infomation left for us. The Manager was informative and available the three times we called her. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2014

My club asked me to find accommodations for a visiting guest speaker. On recommendation of a friend, I selected Sierra Gateway Cottages sight unseen. Our guest had a late flight. So a key was left so we could access the room late in the evening. The cottage was charming, clean and ready for a late arrival. Our guest was pleased and expressed her intention to return for a longer stay with her family at a later date. I will certainly recommend these cottages to any future visitors.

Room Tip: A cottage with a view of the Kern River is an added delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kernville hotels
4 km away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kernville
143 reviews
0.2 km away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kernville
269 reviews
11.4 km away
Corral Creek Lodge
Corral Creek Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kernville
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#5 of 6 in Kernville
59 reviews
0.6 km away
Kern Riverfront Lodge
Kern Riverfront Lodge
#8 of 9 in Kernville
4 reviews
0.2 km away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kernville
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Gateway Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Gateway Cottages

Address: 13512, 13514, 13516 Sierra Way, 325 & 320 James Road, Kernville, CA 93238-9700
Region: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Kernville
Price Range: $169 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sierra Gateway Cottages are located in Kernville CA, gateway to the High Sierras and the popular "Trail of a Hundred Giants."Located near the Kern River and Lake Isabella, we offer one and two bedroom cottage rentals with kitchens. All of our rentals are separate from one another and have private patios and propane grills. Centrally located within Kernville and within walking distance to the river and many popular restaurants and stores, the cottages are an exceptional choice for family reunions, weddings, retreats or a family vacation destination home away from home! Hiking, mountain biking, white water rafting, canoeing, snow shoeing, skiing, wake boards, paddle boards and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing