We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little hotel , nice atmosphere and lovely staff”
Review of Coolabah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coolabah Hotel
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Excellent little hotel , nice atmosphere and lovely staff”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Booked 4 nights and left in the middle to go diving on a liveaboard, hotel happily let me split the days which I don't thing many hotels would ! The food is the best in the area , I love the food here and the restaurant has a great atmosphere and good prices , you even get a free beer on the first night , my room was large and. Comfortable , with a tv and nice modern bathroom ,and really huge comfortable bed ,aircon is silent ,so I loved staying here , beach five mins away ,wd stay again,

Room Tip: Watch out for the sand flies on Koh rong island .go diving with the dive shop !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boeing737man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    230
    99
    37
    17
See reviews for
51
253
92
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Very laid-back athmosphere; nice and helpful staff; clean rooms and nice little pool. Close to the beach, it's maybe a 10min walk to Serendipity beach. Not so much a backpackers place; it's rather a place for people that stay a few days. Breakfast is not included but costs sth like USD 2.5-3.50. You cannot book bus tickets at the hotel but there's a place close by.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

As with most people we trawled through hotels deciding which one to stay at, thankfully we made the right decision to book Coolabah. We arrived late at night and was shown straight to our room and given advice on where we could get a quick snack, in fact they said they would go and get it for us. We booked a balcony room which was on the top floor, the room was large with a good shower all was clean and tidy. The hotel is in a great location. few min walk to the beach which is very busy with plenty of bars and restaurants. The owners were really helpful and gave us good advice on things to do and see and when my husband got bit at the beach they told us about a really good pharmacy who would help, which they did. The quiz on a Monday night is a hoot and raises money for local charities which is lovely. The staff make the hotel a lovely place to stay, they are not just polite they are friendly and engage in conversation which is a nice personal touch. We booked the taxi to take us back to Phnom Penh airport as we had had our fill of bus and tuk tuk journeys, the driver was very safe and it was pure luxury travelling in a aircon car from hotel to airport in approx 4 hours. well worth it. We liked the breakfast arrangement of ordering it seperatly up to 3pm, great when you want an alarm clock free holiday. We ate there on a few occasions and found the food lovely especially the fried noodles with pork. Im sure there are cheaper places to stay with probably the same facilities but we found the personal touch priceless. Thanks for the jar of coffee by they way.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teeside31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Travelled as family with 6&8 yo
Stayed one night each side of a a four night trip to Koh Rong Saloem.
Occhetual beach itself is a bit seedy & squalid but the Coolabah is good place to stay and relax.
The staff were wonderful with our kids and like all Cambodians seemed to genuinely cherish children.
We had two different rooms the first was a bit musty but generally fine, the second was better but without the view of the pool the first one had. A pity the giant spa bath in the second room had a leak.
We had a couple of good meals at the restaurant but the lunch-time chef could do with some extra tuition!
Coolabah is close to the beach and has good facilities nearby. The pool was well maintained. A good option if you have to stay in Sihanoukville - we thought the island was better. To be fair we didn't get to Otres Beach as planned on our return because of torrential rain so perhaps we didn't see the best Sihanoukville has to offer?

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beakmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I don't think Coolabah lives up to expectations, making it feel overpriced. The rooms aren't up to 'international standards' in my opinion, though admittedly there's ambiguity in that claim. What makes this hotel a pleasure to stay in is the great atmosphere, the staff, both owners and employed, who make this a lovely place to hang out.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannaejuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

For the last days of our 4-week roaming through Cambodia, we wanted to treat ourselves with a hotel room, choosing from Independence, Sokha and Coolabah. I am reallly happy that we've chosen Coolabah! The front of the hotel is not very appearing, but: we entered, there was a family just checking-in, we were seated, the staff apologized for waiting (2 minutes) and offered a free drink right away, and from that moment, I got the feeling that the management succeeded in training a crew that is really four stars, not just claiming it. Hotel's website does not mislead, the roooms are fine, with nice new bathrooms, big TV, DVD player with hundreds of free movies avaliable to choose from at the lobby. However, try to avoid ground-floor rooms that neighbour the kitchen, I don't have a personal experience, but they simply must be noisy, being couple steps from the restaurant, (nice) swimming pool and the cooks. Overall, all the services that Coolabah offers are fine, reasonably priced and giving the feeling that the hotel staff has experience with what you need as a tourist in Sihanoukville, from honest advices on where to go, dine, shop to solving issues and problems. The restaurant is not overwhelmigly charming, but offers very good food, especially refreshingly wide selection of breakfast meals served till 3 p.m. (!). Management is nearly all the time overseeing the lobby, reception and the restaurant, which enhances the feeling of that they are eager to offer good services. The hotel has a bunch of chosen tuk-tuk drivers going to tourist destination for pre-defined prices, so if you are tired of bargaining, here is your choice. In short: save your dollars, forget horribly overpriced Sokha and shabby Independent, and choose Coolabah for a pleasant stay in Sihanoukville! As S. Is a place where you change into a walking ATM that everybody tries to withdraw money from, you will enjoy a retreat to a place that offers real care for your dollars.

Room Tip: Try to get high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rattle7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The reception was in need of renovation. The room I was staying was next to the pool - dining area (how could one sleep ?) and at the moment I entered the room, a smell of mold and chlorine forcibly knocked my nostrils! Possibly a thorough ventilation of the room and all sleep equipment (matress, sheets, pillows etc), could have prevented such unconfortable situation. Too expensive for such environment... Definitely recommended for less demanding travellers...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Theano_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.6 km away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
369 reviews
0.1 km away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#14 of 74 in Sihanoukville
456 reviews
0.9 km away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 74 in Sihanoukville
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#17 of 74 in Sihanoukville
118 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#20 of 74 in Sihanoukville
342 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolabah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolabah Hotel

Property: Coolabah Hotel
Address: 14 Mithona St, Ochheuteal Beach Road, Sihanoukville SHV1, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coolabah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new international standard hotel by Ochheuteal Beach offering well-appointed stylish rooms with luxury bathrooms and quality fixtures. Famous Seafood Terrace specializing in fresh seafood and Australian steaks including their own Aussie Meat Pies. Their air-conditioned Outback Bar/Lounge is great with live music throughout the week and a popular Pub Quiz on Monday Nights. The Jacuzzi Plunge Pool is a fabulous addition with massages and beauty treatments available. Well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coolabah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing