We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveller rating
433
155
38
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
433
155
38
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews otres beach his brother pool access pool room tuk tuk construction noise executive suite english couple beach front otres ii restaurant staff beachside restaurant noodle soup beautiful beach outdoor shower rain shower building work
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 646 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Stayed at the Ren for 6 nights and loved it. The rooms are spacious, clean, modern and with all the amenities you would expect. A small hotel, tucked away at the end of Otres 2, the road is uneven, as is every other road in Sihanoukville, with a lovely beachside restaurant and direct access onto the clean sands, which the staff clean regularly. The food in the restaurant is varied and well cooked, the breakfast selection includes pastries, cereals, and a wide variety of cooked items. The staff are exceptional - friendly, generous and helpful. Yes, there is a hotel being built right next door, however the whole of Sihanoukville is a construction site, but the building work wasn't intrusive. The pool has a small section for children. Had we not found this little rectangle of paradise we would have left Sihanoukville. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so brilliant.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TraceyW198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

Rating is about the hotel, not surroundings

As many other reviewers have said, the staff here are top class. My 13 year old son even commented on how much they make you feel welcome. This is down to good management. Attention to detail is very apparent.

Our experience…

On arrival first impressions were not great. Construction next door meant noise in our room. But the manager did everything in his power to rectify this. We were moved to a quiet poolside room on day 2.

The British manager is a real pro, constantly on the lookout to improve things: the beachfront sand is  kept clean, the pool is immaculate and does not stink of chlorine, the breakfast is good, and rooms are large with powerful but quiet aircon.

Proper cocktails (not premix) at beach bar for $4. Evening meal was not  pricey for a boutique hotel, and certainly better quality than similarly priced but very average Bamboo cafe down the road.

Breakfast was best I've had so far. The full English is  the real thing with real bacon and tasty sausages.

The whole area of Otres and beyond is undergoing massive development, largely due to the greed of government in getting kickbacks ($1000,000+ for every casino permit, hence Sihanoukville is now more like a post-apocalyptic Las Vegas). The roads are dreadful due to construction traffic and trash is everywhere, except in the resorts.

At some point the construction will stop, up till then there is little the existing hoteliers can do to mitigate this problem. The building work next door to Ren should be completed by end of 2018.

Some reviews have unfairly criticised the hotel, citing the weather! This is ridiculous. It is currently monsoon season. A sunny few hours in August is a bonus.The sea was a bit churned up but still very safe to swim, and warm.

I hope government policy does not totally screw up this area, but with Chinese bankrolling everything the omens are not good.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank MD1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenResortGM, General Manager at Ren Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Thank you so much for writing us such kind words. It is always a great pleasure to discover we succeed to fulfill our guests expectations. i am delighted that you and your family enjoyed staying with us at Ren Resort, your kind words i will pass them on to the team at Ren Resort.we have an incredible team and it gives me great pleasure to pass your glowing accolades onto them all..
i hope to welcome you back to Ren Resort
And from me thank you for understanding.
Kind Regards
William Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

Good hotel at otres beach. Good swimming pool, nice restaurant near the beach. Good place to stay with your family , only the road to hotel need improvement because not paved yet. Near otres beach much new development of another hotel

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank IGustiP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenResortGM, General Manager at Ren Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you Igusti p
Thank you for your feedback, i am delighted that you enjoyed staying with us at Ren Resort and are lovely swimming pool and i will look at some of the details you have noted also,
i hope to welcome you back to Ren Resort in the very near future.
Kind Regards
William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. The hotel is ok, it’s clean and a very friendly and sweet staff. Also a very nice pool but the beach next to the hotel is full of dirt and there is a lot of construction going on in the area. The breakfast is basic - we chose to have dinner at a neighboring restaurant (Secret Garden). Don’t know how it’s like in high season but out of season I wouldn’t go here.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Benedikte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenResortGM, General Manager at Ren Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Dear Benedikte
thank you for your feedback i am very sorry that you where not very happy with the beach which belongs to the construction site, we do give a run down on the construction on all web sites, the staff at Ren Resort make sure that the beach in front of the resort is clean at all times and each weekend we do a clean up all the way along the beach this is on going all year round, thank you for your review once again i am really sorry about the area of the beach you did not like,
but thank you for your kind words about the resort being clean and the staff being friendly and sweet i will be sure to pass on your kind words
we hope to welcome you back to Ren Resort in the future

Kind Regards
william Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying here 6 nights.
From the moment we arrived we felt so welcome by all the staff and this didn’t change a bit during our stay. For the first 3 nights we were upgraded for free because they had a cancellation, so we tried to stay in two of the bungalows with a connecting room and in two of the spacious rooms. Both were great with lots of space, a nice bathroom and good beds. The rooms are cleaned every day so everything is great.

There is a nice pool which isn’t that big but since this isn’t a huge resort it’s a perfect size.

Just across the “street” lies the restaurant and the beach. There is a great breakfast buffet every day with some variation and it’s really nice to sit and eat while watching the sea. The food in general is quite delicious and the prices are fair. They have a good selection of drinks as well.

On the beach (Otres 2) the resort offers sun loungers and there were enough for everyone when we were there. They clean the beach in front of the resort every morning so the sand is nice. The water is quite shallow and there aren’t really any currents which makes it a nice place to swim even for younger children.

But the real stars of this place are the staff members. Everyone is so friendly and always smiling. My daughter said after a few days: “It’s impossible to be in a bad mood when you stay here because when you’re met with a big smile and a welcoming hello from the staff they will cheer you up”. They will go out of their way to help you and this goes from the people in the reception, in the restaurant and the cleaners.

We had a fantastic time here and really felt it was value for money. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area and we highly recommend this place.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Flinkesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenResortGM, General Manager at Ren Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

Wow! Thank you for providing such a wonderful 5 star review and for you and your family choosing to stay with us here at Ren Resort, i am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time at the resort and that its a place you will come back too.
The Resort is a wonderful place to relax, reconnect and recharge with your loved ones.
we have an incredible team and it gives me great pleasure to pass on your glowing accolades to the Ren Resort Team.
hope to see you and your Family soon.

Kind Regards
William Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews