We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”
Review of Keefer's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Keefer's Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in King City
Great Mills, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We recently got back from a west coast trip traveling to California, Arizona, and Nevada and picked this place from reading fellow travelers reviews and were not disappointed! What a find! The rooms were spacious, comfortable beds, and the owner was a delight! Would definitely stay there again if we are ever in the area!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlwilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    57
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
54
58
26
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I stayed here in April with a car club. The place is not fancy but it's not bad. Room was large, bed fairly comfortable. It needs a good re-model and upgrade but doubt that's going to happen anytime soon. Towels were thin, shampoo, soap, etc. . . i'd bring my own.

Restaurant on site is really bad, don't waste your time there.

Overall, I'd stay again if I had to spend the night in King CIty.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weedebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My daughter and I stayed here on a road trip from LA to Monterey this August. We were tired and just needed a place to sleep, and there are not many motels on this part of 101. This is not a chain, and frankly didn't look too promising. But, our room was large and clean, and we both agreed the beds were the most comfortable of the roughly ten places we had stayed this trip - most of which cost considerably more than Keefers. It was also quiet despite being close to the highway. So, we are passing this report on in hopes it aids other travelers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We booked one night here on the way back from SF to LA to break our journey. First the positives - the proprietor was friendly and welcoming and the room was cheap. Bedlinen was clean, but the actual blankets were rather stained and the towels were so threadbare they were starting to fall apart. The carpet in the corridor was filthy, but in a motel, we expected this. The room was equipped as described, but the bed was small and the mattress lumpy. Breakfast was actually served in the office/reception - nowhere to sit, just a shelf with a very meagre display of very basic items - a couple of apples, a nearly empty jug of juice, coffee and some small pastries. My feeling was that if this is all they can offer, they would be better not to bother. If you have to stop here, it won't kill you, but we certainly won't be returning and wouldn't recommend it at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mishkamitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed based on the reviews and I'm glad we did. We pulled into King City and almost kept going to Salinas. We took the 1st street exit and went through the back part of town. The place isn't the nicest. But we trusted the reviews and went to Keefer's. We just wanted a clean place to crash so we could get to Santa Cruz early in the morning and feel refreshed. That's exactly what we got and a little more. Everything we read about the owners is true, they are great people! The room was cheap yet clean. The bed did the job, nothing to uncomfortable (I'm bed snob, with high standards). The fridge, flat screen t.v. and dish network were just icing on the cake. It's nice to know where we'll be staying next year. I've stayed at dozens of hotels off of the 101 while traveling to the bay area, and Keffer's Inn is definitely the best for your buck

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregHotchkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keys
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I'm not a travel snob but I'm used to business class hotels (Hampton, Courtyard, Hyatt Place, etc.) -- and this doesn't meet that level. Keefer's Inn is really an old school motel. There is a gas station / convenience store adjacent to the property so that was convenient. The owner was very friendly and that was definitely appreciated after a long day of driving. But the property seems very "tired", the bedding was not very comfortable, the wifi was slow and for some reason, we received a 5:30 am phone call -- could have been a wrong number. If the price had been around $60 for the night, I would have been satisfied but at $100 -- I think you should expect more.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SidneyVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My husband and I had occasion to stay at Keefer's Inn in August of 2010 and March, 2011. Mr. Deep Desai and his staff were friendly and attentive. The rooms were clean and neat. We enjoyed our stay at Keefer's and will stay there again when we are next in King City.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieL1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King City
1.0 km away
Days Inn King City
Days Inn King City
#2 of 7 in King City
241 reviews
1.0 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 7 in King City
114 reviews
0.5 km away
Super 8 King City
Super 8 King City
#3 of 7 in King City
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 km away
Valley Harvest Inn
Valley Harvest Inn
#2 of 2 in Soledad
75 reviews
1.0 km away
No photo provided
Fireside Inn
#1 of 1 in King City
7 reviews
0.5 km away
Motel 6 King City
Motel 6 King City
#5 of 7 in King City
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keefer's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keefer's Inn

Property: Keefer's Inn
Address: 615 Canal St, King City, CA 93930-3503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > King City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in King City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Keefer's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Keefer's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keefer`s Hotel King City
Keefers Hotel King City
Keefers Motel King City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing