We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unbelievable view!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunset Chalet overlooking Lake Tahoe
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset Chalet overlooking Lake Tahoe
Another glorious sunset Sunset from Sunset Chalet deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Sunset Chalet overlooking Lake Tahoe
Another glorious sunset
Sunset from Sunset Chalet deck
taken by guest 8/15 Monalisa H.
Sunset Chalet kitchen
Upper  bdrm with panoramic views of Lake
Large  L shaped  Leather sofa/bed
Living Room area.
Glass front wood burning fireplace
full size washer/ dryer
outside deck facing the Lake
outside deck with BBQ
panoramic Lake View from Deck.
desk with wifi router
map with  ski resort overview
Snowshoeing anyone???  Lots of trails to explore
Carol and Sophie at Lake Tahoe
Boya replacing the deck carpet aug 2015
new deck charis and carpet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California), California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kimtanner...
Sedalia, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Unbelievable view!!”
Reviewed May 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We enjoyed our stay tremendously! The cabin was very clean and well equipped. The beds were super comfortable, cozy and clean--felt as good as home, which is rare. The cabin was conveniently located to everything at King's Beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Reviews are very important to prospective renters so thank you for taking the time to post this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewed October 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our home
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
borndance...
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
“View from heaven, but road noise will tarnish the halos.”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The view of Lake Tahoe from this quaint, well-appointed, older chalet is fabulous. The noise from the road right below the chalet is NOT! We were unable to enjoy the deck because of the very loud traffic noise. We also had a difficult time sleeping due to the road noise. Also, there is a tenant who lives underneath the chalet that starts his loud truck up very early in the morning and lets it run for several minutes before he leaves. The bed sheets were cozy and the kitchen has every kitchen tool you could ever need. We were sorry about the noise because the proximity to the lake and King's Beach was exactly what we were looking for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
We aim to give our guests the best experience we can so receiving such a low rating is discouraging and not what the great majority of our other guests have shared.. sorry your sensitivity to traffic noise diminished your enjoyment of our beautiful Chalet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian A
1 review
“Beautiful location, very cosy and comfortable.”
Reviewed October 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderfully relaxed stay here in the middle of a long and busy holiday. The location is fantastic - great views, wonderful amenities in Kings Beach and easy access to other places around the lake. The chalet is really well supplied with utensils and things that made it really comfortable and cosy and it felt like home from home. We needed to call the owner to get access, and she was really helpful and friendly. Thanks you for a wonderful few days.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Sunset Chalet is a delight!”
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderul weekend at the chalet from September 30 to October 2, 2016. The location was perfect for our events in Carnelian Bay and Tahoe City. Waking up in the morning in the loft and looking out over the lake and the mountains was just breathtaking, a very uplifting start to the day. The cabin itself it very well appointed with tasteful decor and comfort in mind. We had everything we needed. Thank you Carol for being such a gracious owner! We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the comfort
Liked least: only one VERY small bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed our home
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
librarygi...
Davis, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very homey!”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I have stayed here many times. The location is ideal for everything we like to do: beach, kayaking, biking on the paths in Tahoe City area, playing tennis (at the nearby high school), shopping at Safeway, great restaurants and relaxing! Carol the owner is very easy to work with! The kitchen has a lot of utensils and pots and pans. Internet available as well. Although the upper floor room is a loft, there is a beautiful view. The cabin is perfect for a small family or two couples traveling together if you don't mind sharing the bathroom. The downstairs tenant is very quiet and keeps to himself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B
Auburn, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable, great location, wonderful experience”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We spent 5 nights at Sunset Chalet and had such a wonderful time we hope we can go back soon. The chalet is a charmer. It is very cozy and very well equipped. This is nothing fancy but it is the homely environment that made this such a wonderful vacation. The view of the lake is fantastic and the sunsets spectacular, but the afternoon sun was unseasonably strong making for warm afternoons. Even though we packed toiletries for our vacation we were very pleased to find many items available in the chalet, including spices and the occasional can of chili, for emergencies. Proximity to the main road means lots of traffic noise but I think that is a small price to pay for the deck overlooking the lake. The location gave us easy access to all lake amenities, the many local restaurants, Safeway, and of course many ice cream parlors. We found the neighborhood ideal for walking with our dog however the local beaches were not dog friendly and we had to drive to the Regional Park in Tahoe Vista and the beach at Carnelian Bay to find dog friendly walking areas. Not a big deal but a bit of a surprise. We appreciated the chalet and location so much that we are interested in buying something like this for ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like we were a guest in a friends home - very comfortable
Liked least: Traffic noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing