We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
292
112
37
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
112
37
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews klamath river hot tub other guests family style front porch view of the river thin walls post office living room homemade bread course meal corner room local ingredients the pacific ocean a wonderful stay guest rooms short drive
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 458 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2017

The Inn has lots of character and we received a friendly welcome with fruit and mini-muffins, plus coffee on the porch. The room was pleasant, clean and well appointed. The outside of the windows could have done with a clean though, especially if you don't like spiders! If you want TV and internet though, you will be disappointed. The wi-fi barely works here, but that wasn't a big deal for us. The restaurant was closed when we were there (open Wednesday to Sunday), so we didn't get to try the food and you have to drive to the nearest place to eat. Breakfast wasn't so great, it would be nice to have a complimentary continental alternative to the cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2017

We arrived to find our rooms very spacious and quaint. Each room in the hotel has it's own theme and are decorated beautifully. We had marvellous pressed metal ceilings where as my daughter's room had beautiful antique furniture.

They have a lovely open lounge downstairs which was very inviting with an are to have tea/coffee at your leisure.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017

I was in search of "boutique" lodging for our trip to the Redwoods.... impossible to find!
I had to lower my expectations and I was directed to the Historic Requa Inn.

My 13 year old son and I were able to book the POST OFFICE for one night, a unique apartment style room on the lower level (beneath the dining room) of the hotel. The post office was larger than expected, a cozy living room, a large full kitchen, a bedroom with 2 alcove areas and a full bathroom (shower only). There is a TV with Satellite channels in the living room. Beware you will hear a lot of dining room noise (7 PM to 9 PM) and then (7 AM to 9 AM) and the space does have a bit of a basement smell.

The room was simple and basic - historic & rustic but bigger and nicer than expected (comparatively we spent night #1 at the Chateau at the Oregon Caves). The beds were okay and the bedding was average/basic. The pull-out sofa in the living room was your typical old-style thin mattress with uncomfortable bar.

Jenna at the reception desk was very kind and went out of her way to accommodate us. Home-baked chocolate chip cookies awaited us upon arrival.

My only disappointment was learning that the dining room is closed on Monday & Tuesday. Our stay was on a Tuesday night. We were hoping to have dinner at the hotel.

Breakfast really exceeded expectations... It was really inexpensive and quite tasty!

I would absolutely recommend this place and return again. As far as I can tell this is probably your best option for boutique lodging in the Redwoods.

We hired two guides during our visit
Day #1 was with REDWOOD RIDES (Jedediah Smith Redwoods state Park) - Josh took us out for an awesome multi-sport adventure (biking in the morning and kayaking in the afternoon)
Day #2 was with REDWOOD ADVENTURES (Prairie Creek Redwoods State Park) - Justin was an awesome guide... He drove us to his favorite places. The folks at the hotel packed us a nice sack lunch.

We enjoyed an excellent dinner at CRESCENT SEAFOOD (closes at 5:30 PM) prior to our arrival on Tuesday evening. It was really good!

Room Tip: The Post Office was spacious lower level unit (3 rooms plus a bathroom). 2 beds - Queen in the bedroom and a full size sleeper sofa
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortlandWelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RequaInnkeeper, Owner at Historic Requa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

Whew! I'm glad that we did exceed you expectations - we are a family owned business and try to do our very best to give our guest the best experience that we can afford -
We are constantly trying to hire a 2nd Chef to be able to offer dinner 7 nights a week -
I'm so happy to hear that your guides were great guys - we don't have a lot of people that live around here - but we have some amazing locals1
Thanks for the nice review - and we look forward to your return
(I'm constantly looking for a way to make that mattress more comfortable - the big mattress pads are too bulky to store... next time we'll make sure you get room 9/11 - there are two beds
Best to you
Jan
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2017

On a recent two week trip from Portland to San Francisco we stayed one night at the Historic Requa Inn. We immediately wished we had arranged our trip differently so we could stay longer. Everything about the Inn was as it should be and the views from our room (#6) over the Klamath River magical. If you read the Edward Eager tales of magic as a child, you will know the feeling.

If you are able to walk up and down hills, be sure to get directions from the Inn on how to walk to the barrier beach at the mouth of the Klamath River. It is a lovely 20 minute walk with flowers everywhere.

Also very nearby is Prairie Creek Redwoods State Park, I think the best of the several redwoods parks we visited as we meandered our way down to San Francisco, with terrific hiking paths.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Francisco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017

I don't write reviews very often these days, but my experience at this property deserves a note.

The Historic Requa Inn was suggested by the National Park Service for visitors to Redwoods Nat'l Park. Additionally, it had achieved stellar reviews here on Trip Advisor. I reviewed their website and the photo gallery and decided to go for it. After a few messages back and forth with the Inn, I booked the Fern Canyon Room. This was described as the largest room, a corner room, with a river view.

The Inn is truly the only lodging within Redwood Park and it is perfectly situated between the northern and southern regions of the park. This is very useful if you are going to be exploring the park for a few days. A turn off the highway led us down a winding road and less than a mile later, we saw the Inn as we rounded a curve. I should note that the road is quiet and the little traffic that is there seems to come mostly from the Inn guests. We pulled into the parking lot, entered the building and found ourselves in a hotel lobby that transported us back about 100-125 years. It has a big fireplace, leather sofas, books aplenty, and cafe tables looking out on the river through big picture windows. The "front desk" is literally "a desk". While the reservation system is a modern online system, the front desk is all human. No computers - just the front desk manager and her list of expected guests. We checked in, received our key, and headed up the stairs to our room. All guest rooms were on the upper floor. This floor had more of a Victorian feel. Long carpeted hallway, original hardwood doors, and (for some rooms) transom windows above the doors.

Our room, the Fern Canyon Room, exceeded our expectations. The photos on the website were appealing, but they did not fully capture the size of the room. This was big. It had a large four-poster king bed, two big easy chairs facing out the window toward the lake, a wardrobe (a bit too squeaky), a desk, and sink. The room was fully carpeted, which makes it worth noting that the place is very quiet. The bathroom had a clawfoot bathtub / shower. The bed was very comfortable and four pillows were provided. Sleep came easy and we watched sea lions playing in the river as we dressed for the day. *If you book the Fern Canyon Room, go SEE Fern Canyon (preferably in the afternoon). It is magical!

Meals were FANTASTIC. I live in Brooklyn/NYC and we have an abundance of top-notch restaurants. The Requa Inn served meals that were exquisite. They used fresh local ingredients, were well-balanced, presented artfully, and were absolutely delicious. The meals are served in a communal manner, which we love. We have been traveling together for 15 years and, in the last five years, have been guests at some high-end eco-lodges where all meals were communal. If you are shy or unsure of this style, don't let it stop you. Guests are seated by the hostess without any formality; the purpose is to let guests dine together (this is for Dinner only). You sit with some new folks, say hello, and take it from there. We trade information of the day's experiences, give our recommendations, and see what other people did as well. It's a great way to find the gems of the area. The food is served family-style. Just like home - big platters and bowls are passed around. If you are afraid you won't be served enough, ask for more. It is VERY laid back. By our third night there, we sat with people we had met the night before. We finish dessert. We finish coffee or wine - and then we scramble off to our rooms. This is all travel fun and an experience that is so rare these days: conversation! No smartphones - just conversation.

The is a hot tub open 24 hours that you can reserve by simply reserving a time on the schedule. It was disappointing that the front porch only had two chairs, but it's an historic building. Nothing to do about that. The building felt secure.

The final note I'll make is a cultural one. This region along the coast of the Redwood Park encompasses the historical tribal land of the Yoruk people. They have an excellent visitor center at the south entrance of the park. The land that the Inn stands on was once Yoruk land, but had been taken from them in the 19th Century. In the past year, the Inn property and many of the properties surrounding it were purchased by Yoruks. The land is now back in the hands of Yoruks. Go to the reservation welcome / visitor center. And I suggest you spend your vacation dollars at local businesses like this Inn. You're thoughtful patronage serves this wonderful community.

Room Tip: Fern Canyon Room is a corner room and the biggest guestroom at the Inn.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrooklynRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews