We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in a beautiful old inn”
Review of Historic Requa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Requa Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Klamath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017

My husband and I suddenly found ourselves desperately searching for a hotel room over the Labor Day weekend. (We had to cancel reservations near Crater Lake at the last minute, because the smoke from the wild fires made it impossible to get to the lake or see it if we could get there!) We pulled in at the Requa Inn, and they had one room left, because someone had just cancelled. Our room was a small room with a very comfortable double bed. Although the inn is not air-conditioned and the bedrooms are on the second floor, we were fine as there are ceiling fans in the rooms. There was a nice breeze, and many of the rooms overlook the river. The decor is vintage, and you feel as if you have stepped back in time to a more peaceful, less rushed life. We were not able to eat dinner there as we arrived too late, but Sophia (a warm, friendly young woman who was working at the time) said that she could find us something to eat, and we were able to order wine and beer. as well. Sophia made us feel so welcome. Breakfast the next day was traditional, cooked exactly to our liking, and delicious. The homemade bread was excellent, and there was the option to share items on the menu. Looking out the dining room windows, you see beautiful flowers and then the Klamath River. Although we had planned to stay only one night, we booked a second night just because we liked the inn so well. This place is perfect for a relaxing stay! (Although the rooms do not have phones or televisions, there is free WiFi.)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RequaInnkeeper, Owner at Historic Requa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

We are so glad that you understood what the Inn is - a respite in a hurried world back to a time when good company and good food meant the world to people.

Thank you for your kind trip advisor - it really are people like you that make it easy for the staff to enjoy their jobs!

We hope you come and visit again.
Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

The Inn has lots of character and we received a friendly welcome with fruit and mini-muffins, plus coffee on the porch. The room was pleasant, clean and well appointed. The outside of the windows could have done with a clean though, especially if you don't like spiders! If you want TV and internet though, you will be disappointed. The wi-fi barely works here, but that wasn't a big deal for us. The restaurant was closed when we were there (open Wednesday to Sunday), so we didn't get to try the food and you have to drive to the nearest place to eat. Breakfast wasn't so great, it would be nice to have a complimentary continental alternative to the cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We arrived to find our rooms very spacious and quaint. Each room in the hotel has it's own theme and are decorated beautifully. We had marvellous pressed metal ceilings where as my daughter's room had beautiful antique furniture.

They have a lovely open lounge downstairs which was very inviting with an are to have tea/coffee at your leisure.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

I was in search of "boutique" lodging for our trip to the Redwoods.... impossible to find!
I had to lower my expectations and I was directed to the Historic Requa Inn.

My 13 year old son and I were able to book the POST OFFICE for one night, a unique apartment style room on the lower level (beneath the dining room) of the hotel. The post office was larger than expected, a cozy living room, a large full kitchen, a bedroom with 2 alcove areas and a full bathroom (shower only). There is a TV with Satellite channels in the living room. Beware you will hear a lot of dining room noise (7 PM to 9 PM) and then (7 AM to 9 AM) and the space does have a bit of a basement smell.

The room was simple and basic - historic & rustic but bigger and nicer than expected (comparatively we spent night #1 at the Chateau at the Oregon Caves). The beds were okay and the bedding was average/basic. The pull-out sofa in the living room was your typical old-style thin mattress with uncomfortable bar.

Jenna at the reception desk was very kind and went out of her way to accommodate us. Home-baked chocolate chip cookies awaited us upon arrival.

My only disappointment was learning that the dining room is closed on Monday & Tuesday. Our stay was on a Tuesday night. We were hoping to have dinner at the hotel.

Breakfast really exceeded expectations... It was really inexpensive and quite tasty!

I would absolutely recommend this place and return again. As far as I can tell this is probably your best option for boutique lodging in the Redwoods.

We hired two guides during our visit
Day #1 was with REDWOOD RIDES (Jedediah Smith Redwoods state Park) - Josh took us out for an awesome multi-sport adventure (biking in the morning and kayaking in the afternoon)
Day #2 was with REDWOOD ADVENTURES (Prairie Creek Redwoods State Park) - Justin was an awesome guide... He drove us to his favorite places. The folks at the hotel packed us a nice sack lunch.

We enjoyed an excellent dinner at CRESCENT SEAFOOD (closes at 5:30 PM) prior to our arrival on Tuesday evening. It was really good!

Room Tip: The Post Office was spacious lower level unit (3 rooms plus a bathroom). 2 beds - Queen in the bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortlandWelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RequaInnkeeper, Owner at Historic Requa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Whew! I'm glad that we did exceed you expectations - we are a family owned business and try to do our very best to give our guest the best experience that we can afford -
We are constantly trying to hire a 2nd Chef to be able to offer dinner 7 nights a week -
I'm so happy to hear that your guides were great guys - we don't have a lot of people that live around here - but we have some amazing locals1
Thanks for the nice review - and we look forward to your return
(I'm constantly looking for a way to make that mattress more comfortable - the big mattress pads are too bulky to store... next time we'll make sure you get room 9/11 - there are two beds
Best to you
Jan
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

On a recent two week trip from Portland to San Francisco we stayed one night at the Historic Requa Inn. We immediately wished we had arranged our trip differently so we could stay longer. Everything about the Inn was as it should be and the views from our room (#6) over the Klamath River magical. If you read the Edward Eager tales of magic as a child, you will know the feeling.

If you are able to walk up and down hills, be sure to get directions from the Inn on how to walk to the barrier beach at the mouth of the Klamath River. It is a lovely 20 minute walk with flowers everywhere.

Also very nearby is Prairie Creek Redwoods State Park, I think the best of the several redwoods parks we visited as we meandered our way down to San Francisco, with terrific hiking paths.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Francisco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

I don't write reviews very often these days, but my experience at this property deserves a note.

The Historic Requa Inn was suggested by the National Park Service for visitors to Redwoods Nat'l Park. Additionally, it had achieved stellar reviews here on Trip Advisor. I reviewed their website and the photo gallery and decided to go for it. After a few messages back and forth with the Inn, I booked the Fern Canyon Room. This was described as the largest room, a corner room, with a river view.

The Inn is truly the only lodging within Redwood Park and it is perfectly situated between the northern and southern regions of the park. This is very useful if you are going to be exploring the park for a few days. A turn off the highway led us down a winding road and less than a mile later, we saw the Inn as we rounded a curve. I should note that the road is quiet and the little traffic that is there seems to come mostly from the Inn guests. We pulled into the parking lot, entered the building and found ourselves in a hotel lobby that transported us back about 100-125 years. It has a big fireplace, leather sofas, books aplenty, and cafe tables looking out on the river through big picture windows. The "front desk" is literally "a desk". While the reservation system is a modern online system, the front desk is all human. No computers - just the front desk manager and her list of expected guests. We checked in, received our key, and headed up the stairs to our room. All guest rooms were on the upper floor. This floor had more of a Victorian feel. Long carpeted hallway, original hardwood doors, and (for some rooms) transom windows above the doors.

Our room, the Fern Canyon Room, exceeded our expectations. The photos on the website were appealing, but they did not fully capture the size of the room. This was big. It had a large four-poster king bed, two big easy chairs facing out the window toward the lake, a wardrobe (a bit too squeaky), a desk, and sink. The room was fully carpeted, which makes it worth noting that the place is very quiet. The bathroom had a clawfoot bathtub / shower. The bed was very comfortable and four pillows were provided. Sleep came easy and we watched sea lions playing in the river as we dressed for the day. *If you book the Fern Canyon Room, go SEE Fern Canyon (preferably in the afternoon). It is magical!

Meals were FANTASTIC. I live in Brooklyn/NYC and we have an abundance of top-notch restaurants. The Requa Inn served meals that were exquisite. They used fresh local ingredients, were well-balanced, presented artfully, and were absolutely delicious. The meals are served in a communal manner, which we love. We have been traveling together for 15 years and, in the last five years, have been guests at some high-end eco-lodges where all meals were communal. If you are shy or unsure of this style, don't let it stop you. Guests are seated by the hostess without any formality; the purpose is to let guests dine together (this is for Dinner only). You sit with some new folks, say hello, and take it from there. We trade information of the day's experiences, give our recommendations, and see what other people did as well. It's a great way to find the gems of the area. The food is served family-style. Just like home - big platters and bowls are passed around. If you are afraid you won't be served enough, ask for more. It is VERY laid back. By our third night there, we sat with people we had met the night before. We finish dessert. We finish coffee or wine - and then we scramble off to our rooms. This is all travel fun and an experience that is so rare these days: conversation! No smartphones - just conversation.

The is a hot tub open 24 hours that you can reserve by simply reserving a time on the schedule. It was disappointing that the front porch only had two chairs, but it's an historic building. Nothing to do about that. The building felt secure.

The final note I'll make is a cultural one. This region along the coast of the Redwood Park encompasses the historical tribal land of the Yoruk people. They have an excellent visitor center at the south entrance of the park. The land that the Inn stands on was once Yoruk land, but had been taken from them in the 19th Century. In the past year, the Inn property and many of the properties surrounding it were purchased by Yoruks. The land is now back in the hands of Yoruks. Go to the reservation welcome / visitor center. And I suggest you spend your vacation dollars at local businesses like this Inn. You're thoughtful patronage serves this wonderful community.

Room Tip: Fern Canyon Room is a corner room and the biggest guestroom at the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrooklynRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights while visiting the Redwoods National and State Parks. The parks themselves are split into a southern and northern portions and Requa Inn in Klamath is right in the middle. It's about 20 minutes from Crescent City.
We loved this historic hotel! It's quaint, charming and friendly. The communal dinners were outstanding on every level. First, the food each day was unbelievable - seriously good. Plenty of food, portions and variety each day. Secondly, the communal aspect was fantastic to talk with people all over some coming some going. It was fascinating. Finally, the service was great too; never obtrusive and always kind and courteous.
Our room, #22, was a corner room which was very spacious and overlooked the river. Bed was very comfortable.
Only negatives were bathroom sink is oddly placed outside bathroom in what seemed like middle of the room. The wires from the road were a tad distracting from the otherwise unreal views from the room. We saw seals each morning in the river. These are both very minor issues that didn't affect our stay.

Overall an amazing location, great setting, friendly staff, unbelievable food and a great hotel

We would 100% stay here again if in the area. Highly recommended

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Brklynrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RequaInnkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Requa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Hello there!
You are so wonderful and thank you very much for the kind review! We genuinely appreciate your feedback and are so glad you enjoyed yourself. Come see us again when you can!

Take care,
Requa Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klamath
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
25.1 km away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
477 reviews
24.7 km away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 km away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
474 reviews
24.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
24.1 km away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Requa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Requa Inn

Address: 451 Requa Rd, Klamath, CA 95548-9373
Region: United States > California > Klamath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Klamath
Price Range: $162 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Requa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the mouth of Northern California's Klamath River, where the Redwoods meet the sea, the Requa Inn has been a home away from home for over a century. Built from old growth redwood, the 13 room inn features private bathrooms in every guestroom and a sumptuous breakfast cooked to order every morning. Guests also enjoy the best of local organic food in the Inn's restaurant every evening with a fine selection of regional wines and beer. Featuring wi-fi throughout the property, the Historic Requa Inn is the perfect basecamp for a redwood adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and Booking.com so you can book your Historic Requa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Requa Hotel Klamath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing