We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
288
109
37
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
109
37
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsklamath riverhot tubother guestsfamily stylefront porchview of the riverpost officehomemade breadcourse mealliving roomclaw foot tublocal ingredientscorner roomthe pacific oceanporka wonderful stayguest rooms
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 450 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2010

The first thing I would have to say, is look at the policies very closely. I know it's my own fault for not reading it closely, but my travel partner and I (who was my mother) didn't realize that to cancel a reservation it had to be 7 days in advance, or they keep your money. So when we called we were not to happy to find out we had to either stay there, or pretty much give up the $120+. So we drove all the way out there. And the Inn is not close to the highway, it's tucked away next to some river.
When we checked in the woman who ran the hotel showed us to our room and told us about how they own a gazebo down by the river and that was can walk down the beach. But, neither my mother or I wanted to because we were thoroughly creeped out by the place. There's a lot of strange people that seemed to be walking around, and there were spiderwebs or rust on almost everything we saw, just outside of the Inn.
The windows had been left open, letting in all sorts of bugs and spiders and ants that we had to kill. And not to mention our lovely view of some septic tanks, a couple upside down dirty boats and a house with a huge window that look directly into our room.
Also, good luck with the lights. Our room had two, and one in the bathroom. The one in the bathroom was one where you had to pull the string to turn it on. And going with this bathroom talk, don't expect to see yourself in the mirror if you're short like I am. All I could get was the top half of my face. The water doesn't get to hot either, and when it did it took a while. (Oh, by the way there is a hot tub. And we could hear everyone talking and laughing with they were in it. There are some conversations people shouldn't have in public, and even if you think others can't hear you, we can.)
On a good note, the bed was comfortable. It was small for both my mother and I to sleep on together though. We kept hitting each other in our sleep.
To end I'd just like to warn you to not stay here. It was not one of the most pleasant experiences, and I would say to stay in a motel on the beach at Crescent City instead.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestCoastWaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpwiki, Manager at Historic Requa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2010

We're sorry that your experience with us was not as positive as our many other guests'. Although we are less than a mile from Hwy 101, we are slightly off the beaten track, but our guests tend to like that 'get away" feeling. The Inn is almost 100 years old and right on the banks of the Klamath River; the majority of our guests love the inherent and rustic charm of our old building and we try our hardest to set realistic expectations of our Inn prior to arrival. We're also careful to inform our guests - both on the website and via confirmation email - about our policies to avoid confusion and disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2010

This hotel in under new management. I loved their witty comments in their guest information booklets. Also their enthusiasm and and energy they have put into the place. It is in a cul de sac road with just a few other houses up the road. We were serenaded to sleep with frogs. The scenery is fantastic, the views stunning. The whole ambience of the place is extremely helpful. We were greeted well, everything was explained, shown to our rooms. Asked about what we were thinking of doing, given very helpful tips on what to see and where to go. Told to make ourselves at home. The large sitting room, common room has comfy chairs, a fire place, a covered veranda with rocking chairs. There is free tea and coffee on the go all day. Free WiFi. The sitting room is bulging with books on local flora and fauna, guide books, games and books. The new owners are now cooking evening melas for guestsand these were delicious. The breakfasts have lots of choice and again, the staff are charming. The rooms are large, very comfortable with "to die for" huge beds with deep new mattresses and loads of nice touchesin the rooms. Large fluffy towels and fresh flowers. It is very good value for money as the price inclues the large and lavish breakfast. It has good wines. An absolure must and well done to Jan and her family for making this such a wonderful enjoyable stay. PLEASE GO THERE

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kootenaylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Built in 1914, this B&B is one mile west of U.S. 101 and is on the north bank of the Klamath River. The room that we occupied, #10, was clean, modern and had a nice view of the river. Breakfast is substantial and several choices are available. The two generation family that took over its operation earlier this year do a wonderful job and are very nice. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohio_1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2010

it was like being in an Agatha Christie novel.... ten visitors from around the world spend their days hiking in the redwood forrest, but in the afternoons head back to a creaky, cozy old building by the side of a river. No cell service, no TVs in the bedrooms. Everyone naturally gathers in the living room around the fire or does puzzles or uses the binoculars to watch birds on the river. Some people open bottles of local wine, which they sell. At dinner time most guests head into the dining room for a meal... there is one item on the menu, different every night. The inn keepers are a three-generation team including two members of the local native tribe and one New Zealand Māori. They're incredibly sweet people.

This either sounds wonderful to you, or horrible. If you're like us, it's a world you thought you missed and can't believe still exists. We worry they will fix it up too much, or that it will become too popular. But we absolutely loved it.

Be warned: there is nothing much around the Requa Inn. They quite honestly tell you in their welcome book that you will not find fine dining in the area, and that's an understatement. But the Inn itself serves wonderful full breakfasts and that simple, single-dish dinner, and that's refreshing in a way too.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honda350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I wanted to be in the redwoods for a big birthday. There was no obvious choice, but Requa seemed like the best that was available. To our amazement, it was one of the most charming and friendly places we have stayed. And we travel a lot. There is little left of Klamath after a flood in the 60's. The Historic Requa Inn is nearing 100 - and probably never looked better. Each room is unique. Ours faced the raging Klamath River, had a king sized bed and a seating area. The price was $149 and included the biggest breakfast you'd ever want to eat, and fresh baked pastries or cookies available all day.
The curmudgeon mentioned in some of the reviews is GONE. The new owner, Jan, grew up in the area and is half Yurok Indian. She is full of stories and is an amazing hostess.
All in all a most memorable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews