We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing Birthday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton La Jolla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
“Amazing Birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I stayed here for my fiancee's birthday and it was amazing. The service was great and they catered to our every need. The one thing they couldn't find was a vase for the flowers that I surprised my fiancee with. Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    422
    196
    79
    38
See reviews for
348
284
81
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific NW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The hotel itself is a bit old but the overall atmosphere is nice. Very close to restaurants, shops and malls so you can skip the hotel restaurant. Cost extra to park in a gated area and there really isn't much street parking around. Close to highway but you don't hear the noises.

Room -
We got one that's looking to the pool but we struggle to get the windows opened and closed, as they were really old and covered up nicely by the shutter.
The bathroom were very small given the room size.
The hallway seems very dated but clean.
Hot tub is always packed but good for social.

Overall not bad but I wouldn't spend alot to stay here.

Room Tip: Try to pick one closer to the middle and facing the pool, but not too close to the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gufimmll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This property is absolutely beautiful, but the reservation desk attendants where just rude and unhelpful. I am considered a SPG member, but that didn't appear to bring many benefits if any. There was mixup in the room on the beds so another was requested, but I was told a number of times it was completely sold out and there absolutely nothing they could do. It didn't help that we were exhausted after a long day at my daughter's soccer tournament and were checking in close to 11:30pm. My husband continued to press and finally an available room came up. such a lovely property you would expect superior service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2girrrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollasheraton, Manager at Sheraton La Jolla Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Hello 2girrrls,

My apologies that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay with us. Without knowing the details of your specific reservation I am not certain where the error in the bed type may have occured, but I would be happy to look into your particular situation if you would like. I do know that oftentimes the soccer team reservations are made in a block, and the guests may be unaware of the room type that was booked on their behalf by the team contact. In any case, I am glad to hear that the front desk agents were able to move rooms to create the availability to accommodate you as it certainly was a full weekend with lots of soccer tournament excitement. Again, I would be happy to look into your particular situation as I know that this caused you distress and I do apologize that you had to go through that, especially at such a late hour. Thanks so much.

Sincerely,
Kate Ruskofsky
Revenue Manager
kruskofsky@sheratonlj.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
133 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed here for only one night on business, but I wish my stay was longer. The hotel makes you feel like you are on vacation--the windows are covered with wooden shades making it feel like a tropical destination hotel. The room was lovely. The service was good, and the parking is convenient to the hotel. I wish they didn't charge for parking, but $10 a night is not too bad. It is also conveniently located to restaurants (a Persian restaurant, sushi, Vietnamese) and shopping (there is a shopping center with a Whole Foods and some other stores right around the corner). Relatively convenient to UCSD (depending on which part of the campus you are looking for). One of the best parts was the free wi-fi in the rooms. Overall I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoorestTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
1,107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012 via mobile

Whenever I take my dogs on a road trip to the beach we stay here. The hotel is pretty pet friendly, and for a $40 per fee stay all is well. It is the perfect spot for us. We like to go to Dog Beach which is next to Ocean Beach and River's Mouth Beach in Del Mar, so we are right in middle. There are quite a few chain around the corner and also just a few minutes drive from La Jolla Village which has several nice places to eat and shop. We will continue to stay here with or without my dogs.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Make sure you visit the restaurant - Humphrey's. I had one of the best meals ever in there. Great food at a great price. That place is absolutely the best thing about this hotel.

Obviously, it's a Sheraton and it's a chain hotel but the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and in working order, there was an enormous TV in the room and the internet was free. I didn't have time to take a dip in the pool or hot tub and the car parking wasn't free but otherwise it did everything you want it to.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raziqrauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed here for a few nights in Feb. The hotel is motel style, with several separate buildings. The rooms are pretty modern, with large TVs (with the ubiquitous Lodgenet channel showing every time you switch on) air-con etc. It was comfortable if quite noisy (this may have been due to it being the room at the end of the block). Breakfast was included in the rate but this turned out to be a daily coupon for just one specific thing off the menu (eggs and potatoes). Parking is $10 a night, which is pretty reasonable for the area, and plentiful. The gym is well-equipped and open 24 hours – ideal for those who are jet-lagged!

The hotel is ideally-placed for UCSD, with a footbridge over to the main campus 5 mins walk away. TSRI is 5-10 mins’ drive. There are plenty of places to eat nearby too, including Starbucks, TGI and a sports bar over the road.

All-in-all a decent hotel that’s handy for the universities.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ_Billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.6 km away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
1.5 km away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
3.6 km away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
2.0 km away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
5.0 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton La Jolla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton La Jolla Hotel

Property: Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Address: 3299 Holiday Court, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton La Jolla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sheraton La Jolla, a resort-style hotel on 7.5 acres of tropical beauty. Located less than a mile from University of San Diego, La Jolla VA Hospital, Salk Institute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton La Jolla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton La Jolla
La Jolla Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing