We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The hotel is generally well kept. Common areas are very nice, but my room was showing its age. But hey--it was built in 1913, so this kind of thing is expected. (I should add--the room was very clean.)

The most outstanding feature for me--other than a great location in the heart of the village--was the staff. Everyone I encountered--from front desk to doorman to bartender to waiter--was first-rate. Just the right amount of friendliness, helpfulness and attentiveness without appearing to try too hard. Hats off to management for hiring great people and training them so well.

If you like old-style vintage hotels, you should definitely give the Colonial a try.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jblewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,426 - 1,432 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

We were looked after so well at this charming hotel. All the staff said hello and were friendly and very helpful. Everywhere was immaculate, from the pool area to the lobby. We highly recommend staying here if you want to stay in La Jolla.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Calps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Great hotel with beautiful large rooms and views. I rented the Jr. Suite and it was spacious. I would stay here again. Great location, you can walk to everything.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMJ46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I just hosted a meeting for my organization at this beautiful property and my expectations were definitely exceeded by the great service and terrific food served at the event. We look forward to returning for future meetings.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our company has stayed at the Grande Colonial for many years for an event we sponsor each October in La Jolla, CA. I book 55-60 rooms, and we have always been treated with great courtesy and professionalism by all the staff. The rooms are spotless, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. I especially love the beds - so cozy and wonderful to sleep on. The Hotel is in a great location for instant shopping, beach, or great restaurants. If you feel like staying in, the "Nine-Ten" Restaurant inside the hotel has great food that is beautifully presented. I am already looking forward to our stay again this October and know we won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

As long as you understand that you're staying in a very old renovated hotel and accept that fact, you'll be fine here. The staff is very friendly and eager to help you and make your stay there as pleasant as possible. The architecture and lobby are beautiful- no argument there. In particular, I was very happy and impressed with the valets- they were extremely courteous and helpful every time we left or arrived.

That being said, speaking as a father of two active little boys (2 and 5), don't think you can "get by" with just their standard hotel rooms if you're bringing little kids. I initially booked a village view queen-queen room thinking there would at least be a little room for the boys to move around in but I was dead wrong. There was a decent sized path at the foot of the queen sized beds to get by, but definitely not enough for a family of four. We decided to upgrade to their queen-queen junior suite and got a room on the 4th floor- problem solved.

Still, the room was not without its own issues. Despite being a suite, the bathroom was still tiny- the toilet paper roll was obscured behind the bathroom door when open. There was very little room to maneuver and if you're not careful (as I was) you can easily drop things into the toilet by accident. I don't consider myself to be overly tall, but the shower head was positioned at about mouth level- not a huge deal to me but if you are of above average height, this bathroom was definitely not designed for you. All of the furnishings seem premium but you can tell the rooms were designed for a different era. I had issues connecting to the free wi-fi network with my Android tablet, but my wife's iPad seemed to connect fine.

We were in a village view suite, so we were facing Prospect which is a fairly busy street, especially on weekend nights (Friday and Saturday). Expect to hear some stray conversation from the street and the Nine Ten restaurant patio seating. A few times, I could smell some people smoking. Our room also had a window that opens onto a balcony- as it turns out, this balcony is a publicly accessible balcony from the hotel's hallway, so a couple of times during our stay we saw people just outside our window which may not be your cup of tea if you value your privacy.

Our package included a $50/night dining credit- we don't typically do room service, but since it was part of the package, decided to take advantage of it. The Nine Ten restaurant downstairs is a top rated restaurant in La Jolla according to Tripadvisor- we had a pleasant enough dinner experience one night with good food and great service. Unfortunately, the room service left a little to be desired. The first morning we ordered an omelette, 2 orders of bacon and eggs, and a large pot of coffee. When the order arrived, we received a small pot of coffee and one of the orders of bacon had been subbed with sausage, and there was no sugar for the coffee. No biggie on the sausage and a call got us the sugar- we let the coffee order slide. A few days later we ordered large coffee pot, cinnamon roll, bagel with cream cheese- order arrived ok, but my wife noticed an old coffee ring in one of the mugs as she poured coffee in and oddly enough, there were no utensils aside from spoons to mix the coffee. I can kind of understand no fork, but no knife to spread the cream cheese? Again, a call got utensils and a clean coffee mug. Last morning we still had a little credit to use up and decided to just order large coffee pot, 2 oatmeals and a pastry. The hostess said it would probably be about 15 minutes- about 30-40 minutes later it arrived- thankfully accurate. Now I know what you're thinking- it sounds like nit picking, but really- when you are pre-charged a 20% tip and a $2.50 "trip fee" for this kind of service, I'm going to nit pick.

The swimming pool was a big plus for us- it's only 3&1/2 feet deep and circular, so it's a good size for little kids. The hotel also let us use a small fridge at no extra fee- a great convenience when traveling with kids to store kiddie drinks and cold snacks.

The hotel is very centrally located in La Jolla- there are a ton of great restaurants and shops within walking distance, and the ocean is a 5 minute walk.

It probably sounds like common sense to book the biggest room when you have kids, but at this price range, you may want to try and get more for less- my advice for this hotel, don't. Pay the extra for the extra breathing room if you can swing it. Because it is an older hotel, space seems to be more of an issue.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids, definitely book at least a suite- if you can afford it, get an ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssm0083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was traveling on business and arrived in the evening. When I checked in I asked for a quiet room and they gave me 224. I asked about the view and she said that it overlooks the gardens with a partial ocean view. I had to walk by the kitchen on my way to the room which should have given me a clue about how happy I would be with the room. Since it was dark when I looked out the window I could not really see anything that evening. In the morning I saw my view was the dumpster. I wondered what the banging the night before was and then realized it was the staff taking out the garbage. If I strained my neck I could see the ocean from the tiny window in my closet. The front desk staff was clearly not telling the truth when I checked in. Seeing that I was there for only a couple of days I decided to not bother to change rooms. If I return to La Jolla, I would not stay in this hotel again because the staff was not honest when i checked in. One positive note was the free coffee in the lobby in the morning which was delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManhattanTraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.1 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,057 reviews
0.2 km away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,212 reviews
0.3 km away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
5.1 km away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
5.3 km away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Colonial La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Colonial La Jolla

Address: 910 Prospect Street, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $279 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Colonial La Jolla 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the seaside Village of La Jolla, just 15 minutes north of downtown San Diego, the Four Diamond Grande Colonial offers classic European styling in the intimate setting of a boutique hotel. For more than a century, the Grande Colonial has been one of the most esteemed hotels in San Diego. But beyond the turn of the century architecture, our true hallmark is our warm, friendly staff and gracious service. We take pride in preserving the heritage laid down by our founders more than 100 years ago by providing the finest experience in first class accommodations. And just as those founders envisioned in 1913, the Grande Colonial remains today a classic hotel that rivals anything in the West. Commanding views of the California coastline, the Grande Colonial overlooks the shores of the Pacific Ocean and is ideally located just steps away from miles of beautiful beaches renowned to Southern California. Within walking distance are world-class shopping, dining, and entertainment and within a short drive are an abundance of golf, recreation and visitor attractions.The hotel features 93 air-conditioned, non-smoking guest rooms and suites (some with fully-equipped kitchens and fireplaces). With its ideal location, gracious service and environment of extraordinary comfort, the Grande Colonial hotel provides the ideal destination for travelers to La Jolla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Colonial La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grande Colonial La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Grande Colonial Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing