We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View Perfect Location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This Hotel is getting a bad rap on these reviews!
I booked the La Jolla Cove Suites and as I was reading these reviews I thought I made a mistake in choosing this hotel. Once I get there some of these reviews do not do this hotel any justice.
The views from the balcony are fantastic. Yes you hear the seals at night barking, but that is not this hotels issue to solve. You are right on the beach you need to expect mother nature from the ocean.
The room was very spacious with a living room and bedroom combination. The bathroom is small, but we didn't plan on staying in the bathroom for the weekend.
This is a older hotel, but they are making updates to keep this hotel modern. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel it is not, but a 3.5 star it is and we had a great weekend at La Jolla Cove Suites.
This will be the first time I have ever written a review of any hotel I have stayed in and I usually try to read these to find a hotel wear ever I stay, but once I got to this hotel I knew I needed to write to let you know this was a very good hotel for us last weekend!
We wil return again and again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hockey2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Dear Hockey 2710,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your very first Trip Advisor review and we are honored that you chose our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and greatly appreciate your kind and thoughtful comments. I will be sure to share your feedback with our entire staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Kimburley Van Haaster
Assistant Guest Services Manager
La Jolla Cove Suites
858-459-2621
kvanhaaster@lajollacove.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at the La Jolla Cove Suites for a family wedding. We reserved a "condominium" style 2-bedroom suite, a great value at the wedding package rates. It was perfect for our group with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There was a small kitchenette, dining area and living room along with 3 balconies overlooking the ocean. The suite was clean and comfortable. A problem with the refrigerator was quickly resolved. The usual breakfast room was under renovation so breakfast was moved to a conference room, which was small and cramped. The breakfast was unremarkable with cereals (stale raisin bran), muffins and bagels. There are many restaurants within walking distance so you can go elsewhere for a better, more traditional American breakfast if you desire. Shops and a Sunday market are also within walking distance. There is a park and a walkway along the water across the street.

Room Tip: We had suite 225.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sszeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We keep going back to this property located across from Scripps park despite the fact that it is unchanged from the day it was built. A few "upgrades' over the years include kitchenttes and new countertops in the bath.
We love the view and location to downtown La Jolla,but be forewarned : in the summer the barking of seals can be heard, it sometimes smells like fish, and there is a lot of traffic.
We have stayed in both the studio and one bedroom - the beds are not especially comfortable in either.
To their credit, the staff keeps the place very clean and cosmetic improvments appear up-to-date. There is a space heater in the winter, but we blew a fuse when too many items were plugged in. The staff was quick to respond.
We paid $179 a night which is about average for La Jolla, and right on par with beachfront properties. We were charged $15 a night for parking at this visit, but haven't always been charged.
Staff is helpful and resolved a dispute with our bill satisfactorily. Like I said, a lot of downsides, but we always have a good time, so we will go back.

Room Tip: Beachfront view is spectacular, but noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1roundface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel may be located well, but it is not worth the money! The hotel is old and in poor condition, despite recent "remodeling". We were first provided rooms without running water --that's right, no water at all! Toilets wouldn't flush! When we inquired, we were told the main valve was shut for repairs, but would be back on within an hour. After a 2 hour wait, we inquired again and were informed they were unsure when the water would be turned back on. At which point, they offered us a bathroom in another hotel room. We weren't offered a room with running water, just a bathroom located in a different building. After complaining, they gave us new rooms. However, these rooms had the carpet and furniture cleaned earlier in the day. Everything was soaking wet! We went from having no water to having too much! Squish on the floors and squish on the chairs. In addition, these new rooms had NO heat in the main living areas (kitchen, living room, dining room)! We stayed there in January and even in Southern California, heat is needed, especially at night.

This was a horrible stay! Don't stay here!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljcskmv, Guest Relations Manager at La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear JN,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not met and so it was a cause of great concern to our managemnet team to hear of inconveniences during your stay at our hotel and for that we do sincerely apologize.

We have since taken steps to prevent any re-occurrences such as the ones you and your family experienced and as a gesture of our regret we would like to offer you a 2 night complimentary future stay at a time of your choosing.

It is our sincerest hope that you will give our hotel the opportunity in a future stay to show you a much higher quality experience.

Sincerely,
Kimburley VanHaaster
Assistant Guest Services Manager
La Jolla Cove Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this property. We were upgraded for free to a Terrace 2bed 2bath suite with a huge balcony. Beautiful view of the cove. Our package had complimentary parking and also a late check out of 2pm. The staff was very friendly and aimed to please. The beds were not the most comfortable but we lived thru it. We also received a Romance package which included rose petals upon entry into the suite and also on the bed, a candle, two wine glasses, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. It was a wonderful stay. It is quite a walk from the main office area up alot of stairs but they do have a parking area you can drive to off of Prospect St. that makes it a little easier.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We are fond of La Jolla Cove Suites in spite of a 60's deja vu experience once you go inside. Having an unobstructed view of the ocean from the balcony, the huge roof deck, and parking right across from the cove are priceless. Our unit was clean and the staff were friendly. Lack of wi-fi in our unit (business room with pc's and wi-fi available), borderline kitchenette, and not-so-great decor and lighting are the downside. We've been before and will go again!

Room Tip: We've stayed with friends in a two bedroom/two bath suite when we've been there. Definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank haricotsv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We had an amazing 10-day stay at LA JOLLA COVE SUITES in La Jolla, California -- from Christmas Eve 2011 through New Years 2012. Our party was my boyfriend and myself and my two daughters. We absolutely loved it! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return! The staff was hands-down the friendliest that I’ve encountered in a long time -- from the guest services Staff and Manager, right down to housekeeping. They were quite organized and very accommodating. The suite was huge and the kitchen (complete with stove, microwave, and refrigerator) had enough supplies to get through making basic meals. The suite even had a wet bar!! The rate for this amazing suite was exceptionally reasonably priced -- especially given this prime location in La Jolla. It was like being at home away from home for 10 days but in a much nicer place than New Jersey. We had a booming balcony – with FOUR sliding glass doors -- overlooking the cove and beautiful Pacific Ocean where we could watch dolphins, seals, a wide variety of birds and whales too!! Anyone who is considering going to La Jolla and staying anywhere other than La Jolla Cove Suites will NOT get an ocean view as it is the only hotel with a true ocean front view. The suite was extremely spacious and impeccably clean. The suites are spread out nicely allowing for guest privacy. A fresh continental breakfast is included daily with enough variety for a light breakfast and you can dine outside on the rooftop. There is a pool area complete with hot tub that was also immaculately kept. We were in the hot tub almost every evening. Everything is within walking distance and La Jolla Cove Suites is situated on the main drag of Prospect Street on the top side and cove side on the lower portion. For shopping and dining out, there are plenty of options to suit any budget – from very affordable meals and great shopping deals to the finest of dining and high end retail stores. I would highly recommend La Jolla Cove suites and look forward to returning for another stay at beautiful La Jolla Cove Suites!

Our many thanks to the staff of La Jolla Cove Suites for your hospitality and making our stay special and truly memorable. <3

Room Tip: The terrace suites are the BOMB!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MicheleE-DavidG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,190 reviews
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,379 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#11 of 24 in La Jolla
1,032 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites

Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $162 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the La Jolla village,the closest hotel to the ocean with unobstructed views from its guestroom balconies of the La Jolla Cove, ocean and Scripps Park. Why stay anywhere else then right on the Pacific Ocean when visiting California ? Start your morning off with a deluxe continental breakfast located on the Hotel's 5th Floor Rooftop with unparalleled vista views of the Southern Californian coastline. Your day will be filled with as much or as little activity as you would like,either relaxing poolside in our heated saltwater pool,playing a round of outside billiards or ping pong with your family by the pool, taking a sightseeing walk through the village and along the coastline to watch the sea lions in their natural habitat and ending your day catching a west coast sunset from your own oceanfront balcony or around the rooftop firepits under the stars.A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Cove Suites
Cove La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing