We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Empress Excels!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We loved our stay at this charming boutique hotel! The Empress has that great casual-elegant La Jolla vibe. Location is ideal; a short walk to the shore, dining, and shopping.
The staff was topnotch and graciously accommodated everything we needed or asked for. They are very service oriented and go above and beyond to make your stay special.
The bed was very comfortable with good quality linens, and the room was quiet and restful.
We've stayed here twice now and the experience was well above par both times.
We'll be back!

Room Tip: some 5th floor rooms offer ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Amy F,

We are happy that your enjoyed your stay with us! Our location is central to everything that La Jolla has to offer. I appreciate your mention of our associates as it is our goal for all guests to experience exceptional service. I am glad that your enjoyed your room and the amenities that we provide. Thanks for staying with us!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2018

I've booked this hotel twice now while in San Diego on business. The location is exceptional if you like an upscale environment and being close the beach. The front desk is always very welcoming and happy, truly creating a positive experience both times I've entered. No attitude or "too cool" mentality. Just service with a smile. I will definitely go back for business and or pleasure. Room 506, has the best view and a large jacuzzi. The room would be good for a romantic get-away and or for a family of 4.

Empress will be my go-to from here on out, if there's availability.

Room Tip: room 506 spa suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Eric R,

We appreciate your recent stay with us for your business trip. I am glad that you like our location which is central to everything that La Jolla has to offer. Thank for mentioning our associates as it is our goal for all guests to experience exceptional service. I am glad that you like our Spa Suites and that amenities that we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

We just celebrated a family bar mitzva at Chabad La Jolla down the block and used the empress as a base for our family and friends.

The service accommodations and location could not have been any better
Trisha in sales the entire front desk staff and the hotel ambiance is truly a La Jolla gem.

Empress hotel is our impress hotel they take care of all our corporate needs and personal needs like family with courtesy professionalism and class.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rbse2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear rbse2015,

Thank you for your recent stay with us to celebrate a family bar mitzva. I appreciate your mention of our associates as it is our goal for all guests to experience exceptional service. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Room was spacious and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is close to everything I wanted in La Jolla. It is very close to the children's pool where the seals hang out. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmbaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Jmbaltimore,

We are happy that you enjoyed our spacious, comfortable rooms. I appreciate your mention of our associates as it is our goal for all guests to experience exceptional service. Our location is central to everything that La Jolla is famous for. Come back and see us in the near future. Thanks for your review.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

This is the second time we have stayed at the Empress and we would certainly stay here again. Rooms and bed very comfortable, well appointed, and very clean.
Staff is excellent with travel and dining recommendations.

Room Tip: We always request a room on upper floor away from the elevator. Request noted and honored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Richard A,

Thank you for staying with us! I am glad that you enjoyed our rooms and the amenities that we provide. I appreciate your mention of our associates as it is our goal for all guests to experience exceptional service. Come back and see us again soon!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Great location walking distances to everything! Loved the overall charm of this boutique style hotel. Found the staff to be extremely friendly , helpful and knowledgeable of the area. Would definitely stay here in the future!

Room Tip: higher floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear sue j,

Our location is central to everything that La Jolla has to offer! I appreciate your mention of our associates as it it our goal for all guests to experience exceptional service. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

This is a lovely, comfortable hotel in a great location.We liked the hotel so much the first time that we came back. It's walking distance to many great spots in La Jolla. Breakfast included is a nice addition. The staff are welcoming and helpful. Great for a getaway!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank njc2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear njc2018,

Thank you for your recent stay with us! We are glad that you liked the Empress Hotel and the amenities that we provide. Our location is central to so much of what La Jolla has to offer! I am happy that you liked our breakfast and the amenities that we provide. I appreciate your mention of our associates as it is our goal for all guests to experience exceptional service. Come back and see us again for another getaway!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,127 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,228 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 7766 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Empress Hotel of La Jolla)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#3 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range: $268 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California comfort at our charming boutique hotel in the scenic village of La Jolla, California. Situated just steps from the San Diego Area's famous sandy beaches and downtown La Jolla, while also being only minutes from popular attractions like SeaWorld and Torrey Pines golf course, our hotel is the perfect location to embark on an unforgettable vacation or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel La Jolla
Empress La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing