We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,113)
Filter reviews
1,113 results
Traveller rating
708
319
58
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
708
319
58
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanhattan restaurantvalet parkingpiano barspa suitecontinental breakfastwithin walking distanceboiled eggsstreet parkingsmall hotelyogurtshops and restaurantsheart of la jollaperfect locationfront desk staffstarbucks coffeeshort walk to the beachturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 1,113 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2018

I've booked this hotel twice now while in San Diego on business. The location is exceptional if you like an upscale environment and being close the beach. The front desk is always very welcoming and happy, truly creating a positive experience both times I've entered. No attitude or "too cool" mentality. Just service with a smile. I will definitely go back for business and or pleasure. Room 506, has the best view and a large jacuzzi. The room would be good for a romantic get-away and or for a family of 4.

Empress will be my go-to from here on out, if there's availability.

Room Tip: room 506 spa suite
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear Eric R,

We appreciate your recent stay with us for your business trip. I am glad that you like our location which is central to everything that La Jolla has to offer. Thank for mentioning our associates as it is our goal for all guests to experience exceptional service. I am glad that you like our Spa Suites and that amenities that we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2018

We just celebrated a family bar mitzva at Chabad La Jolla down the block and used the empress as a base for our family and friends.

The service accommodations and location could not have been any better
Trisha in sales the entire front desk staff and the hotel ambiance is truly a La Jolla gem.

Empress hotel is our impress hotel they take care of all our corporate needs and personal needs like family with courtesy professionalism and class.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rbse2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear rbse2015,

Thank you for your recent stay with us to celebrate a family bar mitzva. I appreciate your mention of our associates as it is our goal for all guests to experience exceptional service. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2018

Room was spacious and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is close to everything I wanted in La Jolla. It is very close to the children's pool where the seals hang out. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmbaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

Dear Jmbaltimore,

We are happy that you enjoyed our spacious, comfortable rooms. I appreciate your mention of our associates as it is our goal for all guests to experience exceptional service. Our location is central to everything that La Jolla is famous for. Come back and see us in the near future. Thanks for your review.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2018

This is the second time we have stayed at the Empress and we would certainly stay here again. Rooms and bed very comfortable, well appointed, and very clean.
Staff is excellent with travel and dining recommendations.

Room Tip: We always request a room on upper floor away from the elevator. Request noted and honored.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

Dear Richard A,

Thank you for staying with us! I am glad that you enjoyed our rooms and the amenities that we provide. I appreciate your mention of our associates as it is our goal for all guests to experience exceptional service. Come back and see us again soon!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2018

Great location walking distances to everything! Loved the overall charm of this boutique style hotel. Found the staff to be extremely friendly , helpful and knowledgeable of the area. Would definitely stay here in the future!

Room Tip: higher floor for better views
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Dear sue j,

Our location is central to everything that La Jolla has to offer! I appreciate your mention of our associates as it it our goal for all guests to experience exceptional service. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews