We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not our best HIE experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not our best HIE experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Pros:
First of all, this place is very reasonably priced for La
Jolla. And it is just a couple blocks from the ocean.
We had a first floor suite next to the road and the
room was updated, spacious and comfortable.
Cons:
Zero water pressure - basically a trickle. And if you
want a hot shower, you might be out of luck, like we
were.
Also, the bathroom light would turn off and on
when inside the room. Very weird.
This hotel is situated next to a busy road. Although it
quiets down pretty well at night, turning on the fan
seemed to create the right amount of white-noise to
block it out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express La Jolla during your recent visit. We are happy that you enjoyed the accommodations, location and value. I am so sorry the shower and light did work the way we promised.

Each of our showers is equipped with a temperature limiting device which reduces the risk of scalding. When they fail, the pressure and temperature is extremely limited which is what you experienced. Our engineer has instructed his staff about the simple repair and I have shared your comments with the desk in order to better handle this situation in the future.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope to see you on your next visit to La Jolla.

Best regards,

Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    118
    62
    23
    14
See reviews for
102
89
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I just spent one night here. The room was lovely... I think. I could barely see it! The windows faced the interior stairwell/entrance, so with the blinds open anyone standing there was basically in my room. Even so, with the blinds open, it was dark. I had to open the room door to get light and good air into the room. Even with all the lamps on the room was dim and that made it seem dismal. What could have been fabulous was rendered rather yucky by that simple fact. Also, there are no decent mirrors in the room, just one above the sink. Nothing you can get close to for applying makeup, and nothing to see below chest level. Did my shoes match? Who knows! The room was large and comfortable, with closet, micro, fridge. I liked the shower area but the water didn't drain fast enough so I stood in water while showering, which was a bit gross. Breakfast was fine--standard motel.

Room Tip: I was told that rooms on the 3rd floor have ocean view. I would select a room that has windows facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
We are happy you chose to stay with us and it is great to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations. Thank you for the terrific suggestions regarding mirrors and lighting. I apologize that we did not find the slow drain before you arrived. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yuma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We were in town to see the golf tournament at Torrey Pines. We knew we wouldn't be spending much time in the room making lower price and location our main critera for selecting a hotel. It was a great choice. Comfortable beds, free parking with plenty of parking spots, free internet, free hot breakfast, kitchenette, good TV channels. An added bonus was there several restruants very near the hotel and the beach was only a block or two away. We'll stay here again if we find ourselves in La Jolla.


Tips: There are three restruants next door or across the street from the hotel. Chinese, Mexican, and Italian. We ate in the Chinese and the Mexican ones. Very good. Seem to be popular with the locals.

If arriving from the south, don't take La Jolla Parkway. The traffic is a mess. Come up trough Paciic Beach to La Jolla.

Room Tip: We had room 134 by the pool. It was a large quite room with two full beds and a hide a bed sofa. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdogyuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express La Jolla during the tournament. What a spectacular finish! We look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
472 reviews
348 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We arrived in the early afternoon and were greeted by Juanita, who helped us select a large, quiet room for our three night stay.

When we left our room the first morning, we encountered guests in a neighboring room who asked if we were awakened by a noisy marital spat that had disturbed others in the middle of the night. We hadn't.

On subsequent days we noticed that some rooms at this hotel are small, dark, and in locations where noise is likely.

We liked our room, the hotel's location, the breakfast, and the free parking.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We are happy our service, accommodations, location and amenities exceeded your expectations….I hope our weather did as well. We look forward to your next visit. - Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Hotel was dated. WI-FI connectivity was sporadic. When I called the front desk about poor connectivity it they suggested that I call the ISP - that's the job of the front desk, not the job of the guest. No parking near rooms, breakfast was average at best. Broken light switches. A poured concrete top on the nightstand with rough edges - really? On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable and the room had a mini-fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redandbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express La Jolla during your recent visit. We are happy you did and that you found our beds very comfortable. We have 24 hour technical support for guest Wi-Fi. This support team can determine the exact problem and location. Remotely reboot, reroute and or assist with laptop configuration in a much more efficient manner than we can. Please accept my apology for not communicating this service appropriately while you were here.

Best regards,

Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

I stayed here December 27-30, 2011. It's very close to the best beach in La Jolla, and about a 5 minute walk to local eating establishments (10-15 minutes walk will get you near the center of La Jolla with loads of restaurants, shopping etc). The room was nicely appointed, and there was always a place to park which is a plus in where parking can sometimes be an issue. Everything in the room worked fine, including the wifi which for some reason often has problems in hotels. The free breakfast was good, with eggs, sausage/bacon, cereals, bagels and breads, etc in a comfortable eating area. The staff was very nice. It's not a full service hotel with a concierge, room service etc - it's a middle tier hotel that is a lot less expensive than pretty much everything else in its area. The only thing some folks might have a problem with is some road noise, which you would have in any low-rise hotel near the street. I didn't have a problem with it, and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohio44124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at our Great little hotel near the best beach in La Jolla last week. I had the opportunity to walk down to the beach on Saturday and spend a little time in the sun…It sure was beautiful.

Happy New Year! We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Had wedding guests stay here. Overall mediocre reviews from the entire family. One pair of guests stayed elsewhere due to ?mold? issues. General manager Susan Knapp is great. The hotel IS within walking distance of the best beach in La Jolla / San Diego but culinary options are limited unless you have a car. Cautiously recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, 27 December 2011
Thank you for the recommendation. I’ve recently taken over for Susan, and from what I understand she is terrific. I love our location near an awesome beach and close to Downtown
La Jolla and all the fabulous restaurants and shopping.

Best wishes for a Happy New Year!

Larry

P.S. We’re working hard to eliminate caution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
1.7 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.8 km away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
2.3 km away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
2.0 km away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
2.2 km away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express La Jolla

Property: Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
Address: 6705 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express La Jolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla hotel, boasts an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests of the hotel can expect unmatched customer service to compliment the convenient location. Minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel's property is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions.The hotel's guests enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Wind-n-Sea Beach and Pacific Beach. Recreational activities abound in La Jolla Cove, known for exciting diving, snorkeling, swimming and kayaking. The hotel's location in the San Diego area makes attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo easily accessible.Perfectly suited for business and leisure, the hotel's amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center. Guests appreciate being close to area businesses, including Qualcom and Scripps Hospital, as well as UC San Diego. The nearby Torrey Pines Golf Course is perfect for a round of golf with clients.Among hotels in the San Diego area, this La Jolla accommodation provides superior amenities for guests. Start your day off right at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. The outdoor pool is a great place to enjoy the California weather, and a Jacuzzi is perfect for relaxing. Plan your next Southern California vacation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Holiday Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing