We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High schoolers delighy”
Review of Cheese Steak Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cheese Steak Shop
Ranked #53 of 82 Restaurants in Lafayette
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile

High school and middle school
Boys for that matter love this place. My kids have had it for their birthdays, they call it in and pick it up. I get it for them all the time as a "treat". Would not dine in ..it's kind of ..dirty. But sandwiches hot and good. I actually ordered chicken and cheese only last night since I was hungry but do not care for philly cheese steak and have to say rolls are soft and delicious and the sandwich was really yummy. This is kind of a pizza alternative type meal, good for college and high school set or casual sat lunch. It isn't really adult food for the most part. But an alternative to pizza or Taco Bell. Chipotle is near by and vitality bowl across the street which is much more grown up

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank drmader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 8 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2016

I was told by a friend that these were good sandwiches so we tried it and were surprised! Normally I wouldn’t have tried it but was glad I did.

The sandwich was very fresh and the pepper/onion topping with just the right amount of spice and flavor.

It’s a good fast food spot!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank casilva54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2015 via mobile

Lovely greasy sandwiches that are filled with beef, provolone cheese, onions, and peppers. There is no fast food that can compare with these sandwiches. French fries maybe yes, but you don't need fries with the Cheese Steak! Really great value compared to fast food or fine dining, plus you build credits towards future sandwiches. A feature I am using to build towards retirement. Double points on Tuesdays and Sundays!

Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2014

Its not like being in Philly, but its not a bad cheesesteak and its certainly better than the nearby alternatives of McDonalds, Jack in the Box or Taco Bell.

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2014

They have very good cheese steaks for the West Coast.

But I originated in Philadelphia so I am spoiled by those and pizzas there, New York City, and New Jersey.

Their hoagies are probably good but don't expect New Jersey ones. You can't find those anywhere but Jersey (tomatoes and other ingredients so excellent there don't ship well).

Date of visit: February 2014
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheese Steak Shop also viewed

Lafayette, CA
Lafayette, CA
 

Been to Cheese Steak Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing