We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Laguna Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Art Hotel - Laguna Beach
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Rice, WA
1 review
“First visit to Laguna Beach”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed at the Art Hotel, was well cared for. Clean rooms with iron and ironing board, frig and microwave. Very restful, and homey & nice location. Free parking, close to beach and Trader Joes.
Enjoyed all the murals and artwork. I had to take a double take when I saw painter of the murals, painted on the wall, then go around the corner and saw the same man, dressed the same way painting another wall. But this time he was the real mccoy.
Would definately recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swarmwrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    102
    41
    14
    10
See reviews for
84
102
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California/Italy
Level Contributor
263 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The distorted publicity photos hide a small pool and murky hot tub right on the PCH. Funky with just plain old bad design taste, this motel has decent rooms but little else to recommend it. The "art" is composed of old posters, garish murals, kitsch wood scultures and reproductions from K Mart. Packaged danish and fresh fruit (surprise!) is continental breakfast. Small pool and road noise.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaBernardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gailDC51, Owner at Art Hotel - Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
My husband & I have the pleasure to meet every single guest. At the beginning, middle or end of their stay..
Neither of us exchanged a conversation with this guest which is very unusual.
I believe our personalities are part of the atmosphere here at the hotel, and we love providing "tid bits" that match what the guest is interested in.
We are an economy hotel who's priority is to provide "peace & rest" to our guests and we are certainly not done with our vision of where we want to take this hotel. It would have been fun to share our "ultimate vision" with this guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery Bay, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Just a short walk to the beautiful Crescent Beach and across the street from the festival shuttle stop, the Art Hotel is a perfect location for visitors to Laguna Beach's Pageant of the Masters and art festivals. The rooms are clean and well appointed and the staff is efficient and friendly. The hotel is decorated with whimsical beach murals, paintings, carvings and sculpture that add a sense of fun and lightheartedness to the visit. The small pool is well protected and private with plenty of comfortable seating and shade umbrellas. The hotel does not have a restaurant or vending machines but there is a convenience store next door and several fine restaurants in the area. Parking is underground and might be tight for very large vehicles.

We enjoyed our stay being close to the beach and public transportation but away from the noise and hustle-bustle of the mid-town area. We definately plan to stay there again for next summer's art festivals.

Room Tip: Rooms 113-115 have ocean views, no rooms above or below and are close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain-Ron1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The Art Hotel is located about a mile outside of Laguna Beach center on the main highway. At first glimpse we were not sure about this hotel. However, we were pleasantly surprised. Art work is on display all through the courtyard like setting. Since the hotel is located just off the busy highway ask for a room facing the back. Road noise is loud but the hotel itself was quiet. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Rates are reasonable. Nice pool area with plenty of seating. Owners live on the premises and are friendly and helpful. Laguna beach has a free Trolley so do not let the location deter you. Actually the best beach is just a short walk across the street.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rileyboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2011

While on vacation in Southern California my wife and I stayed here for 2 nights as we explored the Laguna Beach area. The location of this hotel is a little out of the way from the shops and restaurants of Laguna however it is a short ride on the free trolley to get there. If you’re looking to hang out at the beach the public access is a short walk across the PCH and through a small neighborhood. For Scuba divers, the beach provides access to great shore diving.

I think this is a good hotel for people who do not want to spend much money on a hotel and don’t mind something that’s a little out of the way. If you’re like me and you really only need a place to sleep, this hotel works great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWFrenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The hotel was average - nothing special. Breakfast; danishes, fruit, orange juice and such, although free, was tucked away in the corner of the office and replenished in such a manner as to make one think of war time rationing. The carpet in our room felt damp, the decor was dated and there was no view to speak of. However, the things I did like outweighed the things i didn't. I appreciated the free underground parking; the friendly staff, the fun and often unexpected artworkd around the hotel; the convenient trolley stop across the street, which did away away with the parking/traffic conundrum of driving into town; I also loved nearby crescent cove beach and Heisler Park. The hummingbirds, starfish and million dollar views that we witnessed on our morning strolls made up for this otherwise average hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The Art Hotel was rather inexpensive, compared to other Laguna Beach lodging. It was an adequate motel w/cordial owners! Truth be told, I was expecting something on the quaint side, but instead--this place was a funky, outdated motel in need of some contemporary updates.

The Good The most awesome large, soft towels; next to a Stop 'n Go for soft drinks & snacks; across the street from the trolley; across the street from the beautiful Crescent Bay; cool murals & interesting artwork in the lobby & by the pool.

The Okay: Roomy, spacious accommodations & bathroom; microwave & fridge; adequate pastries, water & Sunny D for breakfast.

The Not So Okay: The outdated hairdryer from 1966; the dirty pool, the tacky room decorations--totally outdated in need of a makeover; door into room was tough to open; checkout was @11am--a tad early for a vacation!

The good probably outweighed the bad, but the place was just not what we were expecting--regarding contemporary accommodations.

Would we stay there again? Maybe, if we got a super cheap rate, but probably not.

Room Tip: Take the free Catch the Wave Trolley--runs every 20 minutes in the summer--so you can see all of Lag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebelTraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
3.1 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
392 reviews
2.2 km away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
1.5 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
432 reviews
1.0 km away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
458 reviews
1.0 km away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel - Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel - Laguna Beach

Property: Art Hotel - Laguna Beach
Address: 1404 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1341
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Laguna Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Art Hotel - Laguna Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This affordable hotel is only a skip away from the downtown shops and galleries. Located a stroll from Crescent Bay and Beach. It offers 1 or 2 bed accommodations with microwave, fridge, WIFI, free parking and heated pool, & a talented artist in every room, besides around the entire property. Randy Morgan Gallery is also now on the property. Randy created to bas-relief murals around the pool area in 2016. This hotel boasts of being the closet to the gorgeous Crystal Cove State Park, Crescent Bay Park and Pelican Hills Golf Course. "Free" Trolley is available every week-end: 4-11PM Friday, 11AM-11PM Saturday, 11AM-8PM SUNDAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Art Hotel - Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Inn Laguna Beach
Art Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing