We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is where u should stay in Laguna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is where u should stay in Laguna”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

It is a great location actually laguna beach you are very close to the ocean there are multiple room options . There was a huge storm when we were there they helped us a lot changed our room so the service is also great! I would definitely suggest to stay there also you would have a 20% off in the. Next restaurant where you can have a ocean view breakfast. Actually they have several discounts in town. I definitely suggest.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thanks so much for your great review. I'm happy to hear that our staff was able to accommodate your needs during that storm. We would love to welcome you back again any time!

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    377
    171
    143
    129
See reviews for
386
539
50
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My two daughters and I stayed one night to enjoy the ocean. We were in an ocean view room that was larger than most standard rooms with 2 queen beds. The decor was bright, cheery and "beachy". The room was very clean and the beds & linens were very comfortable. The in-room mini fridge was convenient. The balcony was a nice size and we watched the beautiful Pacific Ocean sunset from it. We slept with the balcony door open so we could hear the sound of the ocean all night. We ate at the fancier of the 2 restaurants on the property and the food was delicious. I was very impressed with the staff at the hotel. The front desk employees were happy to help with anything and were knowledgable about the area. We were within walking distance of everything in Laguna. I hope to visit this hotel again soon!

Room Tip: Worth it to get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Kris,

It's wonderful to read your review. I'm glad you and your daughters enjoyed your stay with us and found the atmosphere cheerful and beachy. I'm also thrilled to hear that you found the staff impressive; they will be so happy to hear from you. We would love to welcome you back again soon.

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here four nights in March. The property and rooms are a bit dated but you really can't beat the views in the ocean front rooms; you are so close to the beach that you can literally hear the ocean the entire time you are in your room, unless you are in a room next to the Deck, then all you can hear is loud, thumping music in the evening. We were checked into room 501 and were so happy when we walked in our room and saw the incredible view. We'd had a long travel day and were dealing with the time zone change so we were going to call it an early night. At about 8:00 pm, the music started and it was so loud that I could sing along with every song. I called the front desk and they said the music would be over at 11:00. I ended up going to the front desk to see about changing rooms; my mother just coudn't take it. There were no other rooms available but could move the following day. They indicated that this is a frequent problem with this particular room. I must say that the staff were very nice and although it was very inconvenient to pack everything up, they did move all our luggage the next day. What I found strange was that I had received two form email messages from the GM, Bill Tremper, prior to our visit letting us know we could make dinner reservations or reserve cabanas. I also received a message after we checked in wanting to know if the hotel was exceeding our expectations. I replied to the message and informed Mr Tremper of our issue with room 501 and our surprise that they book this room with no warning or price adjustment for the impending noise. I never received a reply from him, other than another form message after we had checked out saying that he hoped everything was great with our stay. We had to have engineering to the new room twice to fix the television and he finally just installed a new one. All the staff we encountered were so very helpful and friendly that clearly the hotel is doing something right with customer service training. Staff were really top notch. The rooms were spacious and clean, just a bit dated. We had a small kitchenette in our second room. I will have to say that the professional photos on this site don't match up with what we saw in our two rooms. Just don't go expecting the room in the pictures and you probably won't be disappointed. the balcony was spacious. The location to the rest of the town was great and we could walk everywhere. It was a bit inconvenient to have to use valet parking but we never had to wait more than just a couple of minutes but it does get expensive at $20 a day and tipping everytime you need your car. We would definitely stay here again despite the problem we encountered.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room but avoid a room near the Deck if you don't want to hear music every even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saqsaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
So lovely to read your review! We truly appreciate your comments. I do apologize about the problem with room 501; while I'm glad the staff was able to accommodate your needs it's an issue we'll have to address. I'm also sorry that I didn't respond to your message; I'll be sure to get in touch soon. I do hope you enjoyed your trip overall; we would love to welcome you back again soon.

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed two nights - first one in an ocean view room. And what a view -
Beautiful sunset with dolphins and whale included - amazing and the best feature of the hotel.
Second night in a village room which was large but felt more like a motel then a hotel.
We had only a paper thin door between us and the neighbours with a yapping dog which they left behind in the morning...!

Otherwise nice retro style - perhaps a little worn out considering what they charge.
We stayed in another joie de vivre in San Fransisco which also had great style but was a bit more upkept.
The pool was closed when we were there and the smaller pool was in the shade by the road so not great. They do put out sun loungers for you on the beach which is nice.
Conveniently located right next to the beach House.

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja_1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed our ocean view room--it's certainly a beautiful view and we're fortunate to see it every day. We truly appreciate your feedback about the rooms. We would love to welcome you back again any time!

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Clean room, a little dated. Hot tub--not hot, just warm.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower on the beach are away from the "The Deck" outside bar with entertainmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anngoolsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thanks for your great review! I'm glad you enjoyed the view and found the room clean and comfortable. I do apologize if your hot tub was not hot enough. Of course, our front desk staff would be more than happy to address such concerns if you alert them. We would love to welcome you back again any time.

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The location can't be beat and the character of the hotel is exactly what we were looking for..laid back surfer style centrally located with a view and beach! The decor was very California surfer cute and not stuffy. The staff was friendly and helpful and the bed was very comfortable. The fridge in the room was a bonus too. This was our first trip to Laguna Beach and are going back again. Highly recommend if you want a low-key relaxing beach getaway, a departure from traditional hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view with balcony. Amazing views of Laguna Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flikflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thanks for the great review! We truly appreciate your kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel and found the rooms comfortable. We would love to welcome you back again the next time you're in Laguna Beach!

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed at the Pacific Edge hotel recently and it was a nice experience. I have stayed at the Joie de Vivre hotel in Sacramento and San Francisco before so i decided to book the one in Laguna. This was a different experience, not bad at all, just different.

First you need to book a room with view on the beach, no other type of accommodation. You will open your window and feel you are on the beach. loved it (even if you are very close to all the neighbour, you can see what they are doing too, kind of fun too). Second the room are spacious and comfortable with kitchenette, small bathroom (well you will spend your time on the balcony or beach so not a problem).

This is a nice relax, casual hotel, good value in the 300$ range max. The staff is very friendly, make me feel i was on a surf hotel, lay back, cool ambiance.

I am glad i stayed there and get to experience the hotel and enjoy the view on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thibaut a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're happy to have made your trip a great one — those beach views will make anyone feel relaxed! You seem to have had a wonderful stay with us. If you have any further feedback on how we could have raised your rating from 3 stars I'd love to discuss your particular stay with you.

Take care,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.8 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.9 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.2 km away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
2.2 km away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
1.2 km away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing