We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run down, old and horribly setup.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1,887 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 521 helpful votes
“Run down, old and horribly setup.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The only pro is the location and the views. The con's are many. Every time our upstairs neighbor took a shower we got all his water in our bath tub, we complained they brought someone immediately who couldn't figure out how to get the cap off the clean out, so they pretended for a couple of hours and never did anything. Showers was a fast trickle and your could either take it boiling hot or freezing cold, cause for some reason you could not get a mix that didn't melt skin.
The valet is the most ridiculous thing you have ever experienced. You have to take your car to the valet and then walk back to your hotel room. WTF? So if you are staying in any other rooms than the ones on top of the restaurant you have to walk back up the hill to your room, only for the valet to park your car in front of your room, but you have to walk past your car back to the valet to have him go get it for you. Completely a waste of time.
Rooms are old and worn out and decorated with Ikea products. We were there for a wedding so we had 6 rooms, they were all worn out. Front desk was very nice but never did anything about any concerns we had.
For the price I would highly recommend to stay any where else.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wick1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
I'm sincerely sorry to hear that you were not more impressed with your stay. I wanted to take this opportunity to address a few of your concerns. The situation with your room is regrettable and our staff should have moved you to a different room. I will speak with them about your feedback so we can improve in the future. In regards to the valet, our parking space is utilized for our hotel guests as well as the restaurant patrons of both our restaurants, thus Valet parking is required due to the unique lay-out of our property. I apologize if our front desk staff did not explain its necessity better. I do hope you'll afford us another opportunity to impress you; I know we can show you a great time.

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    374
    168
    141
    129
See reviews for
383
530
49
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at Pacific Edge for 4 nights over spring break. There were several issues with loud hotel patrons and screaming and yelling through the night. This was not conductive to a relaxing good night sleep. The walls are thin and you are able to hear conversations in the adjoining rooms whether you want to or not.
The hotel clerk, Korhan, was extremely helpful and very nice which was quickly noticed as the other clerks were the exact opposite.
Our room was along the PCH and was very loud with traffic noises, even through the night. If you stay here, make sure that you are not in the buildings along the PCH.

Room Tip: Rooms along the PCH are very loud, if you can, get a room closer to the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieCollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
I'm sorry to hear about your experience with other guests; I will pass your feedback along to our security staff. I'm glad you found Korhan accommodating and helpful and I hope you'll afford us another opportunity to impress you. When you book, be sure to request a room in the Reef building if you weren't a fan of the PCH.

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The location of this hotel was amazing. We had a room in the Reef building and the view was great. The bed was very comfortable and so were the pillows. I loved the color and decoration of the room. There were some things I didn't like. Our valet was payed for since we stayed for 5 nights, but it would have been much more convienent if we could have just parked ourselves. The lighting fixtures were cheap plastic and one fell on us one night. The paint at the bottom of the bathroom door was warped. The shower rod was rusty and the door going to the balcony didn't fit the frame right and if you wanted to keep the door open, it made a lot of noise. Liked the hotel since we didn't spend much time in there but would possibly stay again if it was less expensive and the valet rules changed.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmoris821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review! I'm so glad you enjoyed staying with us in one of our Reef building rooms. We're lucky to have such a beautiful view. In regards to the valet, our parking space is utilized for our hotel guests as well as the restaurant patrons of both our restaurants, thus Valet parking is required due to the unique lay-out of our property. I apologize if our front desk staff did not explain its necessity better. We would love to welcome you back again soon.

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

It is a great location actually laguna beach you are very close to the ocean there are multiple room options . There was a huge storm when we were there they helped us a lot changed our room so the service is also great! I would definitely suggest to stay there also you would have a 20% off in the. Next restaurant where you can have a ocean view breakfast. Actually they have several discounts in town. I definitely suggest.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thanks so much for your great review. I'm happy to hear that our staff was able to accommodate your needs during that storm. We would love to welcome you back again any time!

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My two daughters and I stayed one night to enjoy the ocean. We were in an ocean view room that was larger than most standard rooms with 2 queen beds. The decor was bright, cheery and "beachy". The room was very clean and the beds & linens were very comfortable. The in-room mini fridge was convenient. The balcony was a nice size and we watched the beautiful Pacific Ocean sunset from it. We slept with the balcony door open so we could hear the sound of the ocean all night. We ate at the fancier of the 2 restaurants on the property and the food was delicious. I was very impressed with the staff at the hotel. The front desk employees were happy to help with anything and were knowledgable about the area. We were within walking distance of everything in Laguna. I hope to visit this hotel again soon!

Room Tip: Worth it to get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Kris,

It's wonderful to read your review. I'm glad you and your daughters enjoyed your stay with us and found the atmosphere cheerful and beachy. I'm also thrilled to hear that you found the staff impressive; they will be so happy to hear from you. We would love to welcome you back again soon.

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here four nights in March. The property and rooms are a bit dated but you really can't beat the views in the ocean front rooms; you are so close to the beach that you can literally hear the ocean the entire time you are in your room, unless you are in a room next to the Deck, then all you can hear is loud, thumping music in the evening. We were checked into room 501 and were so happy when we walked in our room and saw the incredible view. We'd had a long travel day and were dealing with the time zone change so we were going to call it an early night. At about 8:00 pm, the music started and it was so loud that I could sing along with every song. I called the front desk and they said the music would be over at 11:00. I ended up going to the front desk to see about changing rooms; my mother just coudn't take it. There were no other rooms available but could move the following day. They indicated that this is a frequent problem with this particular room. I must say that the staff were very nice and although it was very inconvenient to pack everything up, they did move all our luggage the next day. What I found strange was that I had received two form email messages from the GM, Bill Tremper, prior to our visit letting us know we could make dinner reservations or reserve cabanas. I also received a message after we checked in wanting to know if the hotel was exceeding our expectations. I replied to the message and informed Mr Tremper of our issue with room 501 and our surprise that they book this room with no warning or price adjustment for the impending noise. I never received a reply from him, other than another form message after we had checked out saying that he hoped everything was great with our stay. We had to have engineering to the new room twice to fix the television and he finally just installed a new one. All the staff we encountered were so very helpful and friendly that clearly the hotel is doing something right with customer service training. Staff were really top notch. The rooms were spacious and clean, just a bit dated. We had a small kitchenette in our second room. I will have to say that the professional photos on this site don't match up with what we saw in our two rooms. Just don't go expecting the room in the pictures and you probably won't be disappointed. the balcony was spacious. The location to the rest of the town was great and we could walk everywhere. It was a bit inconvenient to have to use valet parking but we never had to wait more than just a couple of minutes but it does get expensive at $20 a day and tipping everytime you need your car. We would definitely stay here again despite the problem we encountered.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room but avoid a room near the Deck if you don't want to hear music every even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saqsaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
So lovely to read your review! We truly appreciate your comments. I do apologize about the problem with room 501; while I'm glad the staff was able to accommodate your needs it's an issue we'll have to address. I'm also sorry that I didn't respond to your message; I'll be sure to get in touch soon. I do hope you enjoyed your trip overall; we would love to welcome you back again soon.

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed two nights - first one in an ocean view room. And what a view -
Beautiful sunset with dolphins and whale included - amazing and the best feature of the hotel.
Second night in a village room which was large but felt more like a motel then a hotel.
We had only a paper thin door between us and the neighbours with a yapping dog which they left behind in the morning...!

Otherwise nice retro style - perhaps a little worn out considering what they charge.
We stayed in another joie de vivre in San Fransisco which also had great style but was a bit more upkept.
The pool was closed when we were there and the smaller pool was in the shade by the road so not great. They do put out sun loungers for you on the beach which is nice.
Conveniently located right next to the beach House.

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja_1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed our ocean view room--it's certainly a beautiful view and we're fortunate to see it every day. We truly appreciate your feedback about the rooms. We would love to welcome you back again any time!

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.8 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.9 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.2 km away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.2 km away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
1.2 km away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing