We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOCATION! LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“LOCATION! LOCATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is a great place!! It is prim location. You can walk on the beach , or walk the shops. You can walk 5 minutes up to the beautiful center of Laguna. Everything is there or in 5 minute walking distance, movie theater, Art museum, shops, and restaurants. This resort is ON the beach!! However, this is only if you get the right rooms. If you are not in the building I mention then this place is not on the beach and I don't feel worth it. The Reef rooms are all on and facing the beach. We really liked being on the first floor. The first floor is is a balcony room and We loved sitting them and watching the waves crash. Rooms 134,128,122,116. Are the least desirable. Very close to next tower. Rooms 139,133. 127, 121 are on the end with a great view. All have wonderful balconies with two chairs. The reef Tower is also on the beach. However Rooms 115,112,109,106,103 best views. But the first floor in this tower does not have direct access to the beach and you have to walk around. The second floor front has best access. NO NOT stay in building Seas,Bahia, or back of Surf wing unless great deal and need kitchen. Seas and Bahia are across a small street. The pool is just basic. The beach is amazing. If you call ahead of time they have Complimentary beach towels, lounge chair and umbrellas. Nice. they set them up for you. We ate at the Beach house. Perfect for romance. The deck is yummy. I would encourage you to order from the Deck for breakfast and stay in your room. Same price. This hotel also offers different pillow choices and the beds were very comfortable. I'm kinda of a bed snob. Small fridge and great coffee machine with coffee. Once out of Hotel to the right is Ralphs. This is a great place if you want to stay in the heart of Laguna and relax on the beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 118. Like the view and direct access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kimberly3900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Kimberly,

You're right! We are in the perfect location to access the beautiful city of Laguna and, of course, the beach. I appreciate that you took the time to leave the tips regarding the rooms. We like to provide several different layouts and views so that there is something to accommodate each of our guests. I'm delighted to hear that you were so impressed with both the Beach House and The Deck. They're excellent places to enjoy the freshest seafood with a gorgeous view. Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to see you next time you're in Laguna Beach!

Sincerely,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    374
    168
    141
    129
See reviews for
383
530
49
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Our trip to Laguna Beach was a memorable one. We absolutely loved staying at The Pacific Edge Hotel! The staff was over the top friendly and our room was to die for! I highly suggest staying in an ocean front room! We stayed in a 1st level ocean front room. We slept with the balcony door open listening to the waves that would come up right below our balcony! Unbelievable and unforgettable stay!! We will be back!! A+++++

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charitymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
I'm thrilled that you had such a fabulous vacation! It's great to hear that everyone made you feel so welcome. I'm glad you were able to sleep with your balcony doors open. Hearing waves crash on the shore is the perfect way to be lulled into a restful sleep! Thank you for the kind words. We're looking forward to seeing you next time you're in Laguna.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed in a standard double. For the price, we could not complain. It was small and lacked a couple items such as a clock and a safe. The bathroom was small, shower only with little counter space. The room also was short on electrical outlets, at least convenient ones if you have laptops etc. The TV was an older model. You have to put down $50 a day on your CC for incidentals such as movies in your room. Our remote was universal and did not have the proper button to watch movies. I guess that is a good way to not run up your CC :) Standard cable, very few channels but enough to find something. They do have channels that tell you about the area that gives great info, worth sitting through.

Note: You do pay for parking daily which is taken out of your incidentals on your CC. This is also valet only so make sure you have $1's if you plan on going in and out. They do take your bags to your room and are available 24/7. If you chose to use the computer in the lobby, the first 20 minutes are free. You are also charged for printing. They have the option of b&w or color, of course color is more.

The room itself was very clean. The staff was beyond wonderful. The room has a Krueg in it and they give you plenty of coffee. Our housekeeper noticed I drink a lot and made sure I had several in the room every day. Beds were COMFY! They do give you a hard and soft pillow :) The lobby is very cute. They have coffee in the morning (made in Laguna) and during the day yummy water flavored by with oranges.

There are 2 restaurants at this hotel. The Deck is located outside. They have heaters going in the evening if it is cold. Every night they have something different going on. If we hadn't had other plans, we would have done sing for your dinner night which sounded fun. We did eat at the Ocean Beach House which over looked the ocean. When we were leaving, we started to read the history of it, it was an old house. It was fun to walk around and look at. As you walk through the entrance you can see that it was a house with a hotel built around it (hence the name). Again, staff here was awesome. The food was fantastic. The same food can be ordered through room service. We did hear that if you plan to go for breakfast on the weekend, there can be a 2 hour wait. That is when you really may want to consider room service.

2 pools and one hot tub. Didn't go in but felt the pool and it was warm.

The location of this hotel cannot be beat. It is right on the ocean. We walked down to the main beach from the hotel in minutes (walk is much shorter via the beach than the sidewalk). Keep walking...it is beautiful. We could see a whale, if you have a chance to bring binoculars, do so. They charge all over town or if they are free, they are broken.

On the corner, there is a Ralph's to get some groceries to keep in your fridge (no microwave). There are restaurants and cute unique shops within blocks. No need to drive.

I could see the bigger rooms from the beach and they appeared to be very nice. If we had planned to be in the room more (we were visiting our first grandchild) we would have upgraded. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, the staff was wonderful, you are on the ocean...what more could you ask for? I do admit the charges here and there are a bit much but if you go anywhere in south CA, that is how it is.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you plan to be in the room a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay! You left some great tips — especially about the binoculars for spotting whales! I'm glad everyone made you feel so welcome, and that we could help you relax in between visiting your grandchild. Thanks again for the review. We hope to see you next time you're in Laguna Beach!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

PacEdge is a very nice hotel, I've stayed here a few times. A good value-for-price hotel, especially if you get the upper ocean view with a balcony. I'd recommend it to all families, couples, and large groups. The hotel staff is friendly and prompt, discreet which is nice in a multi-building hotel. Being a part of JDV is a tremendous perk too, and it gives a beautiful beach city to their collection.

Room Tip: The best rooms I believe are the Ocean-View rooms, with a balcony looking out at the ocean. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aharrell87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's our pleasure to make you feel comfortable and help you see the best that Laguna Beach has to offer! Thanks for the wonderful review. We'll see you next time you're in town!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I picked this hotel for our 14th anniversary. Right when we walked in the room and looked out the balcony, it was BREATHTAKING! It was so beautiful words can't explain. We sat on the balcony for hours enjoying the view and the weather. We slept with the balcony door open to enjoy the waves at night. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a romantic getaway!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica10225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Jessica,

I'm thrilled that we could be a part of such a wonderful occasion! Laguna Beach is a breathtaking backdrop for any celebration. I'm so glad to hear that you were able to sleep with your door open and let the waves lull you to sleep. There's really nothing more relaxing than that. Thanks for the review. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I highly recommend this hotel! The front desk was very friendly and helpful , room service was prompt, within walking distance to shopping and restaurants, spectacular views .....can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gradillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you so much for your great review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff helpful and efficient. We would love to welcome you back again any time--it's hard to beat that view!

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We are staying at Pacific Edge for two nights. I wish it were longer! We originally booked a non-ocean view room, but since the hotel is not full, they upgraded us very cheaply to a super ocean view room! I think it's easier to upgrade if you book directly on the hotel's website. We are lucky to have some great weather as well as the upgrade. We are on the bottom floor, and the ocean is so close it feels like we are on a boat. I could not have expected more for our 2-day holiday! We also brought our dog and I appreciate how accommodating they are towards families with dogs. Little things I like: great single cup coffee brewer with tasty coffee (though we used our own milk), cute decorations, nice beds and bedding. I little annoying (but not enough to take a star away): pillows are too big and fluffy for me, and the valet parking is a hassle. Great customer service overall!

Room Tip: Go for ocean front if you can afford it! Or wish for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorCalVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thanks so much for your great review! I'm glad you have enjoyed staying with us--we've loved having you. We appreciate your kind comments and would love to welcome you back again any time.

Bill Tremper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.8 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.9 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.2 km away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.2 km away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
1.2 km away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing