We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our regular retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
North Hollywood, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our regular retreat”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We regularly frequent JDV hotels. We are members and watch for deals from JDV and/or Hotels.com. The hotels are relatively pricey, but worth it. For reference, our other favorite chain is Kimpton. We discovered Pacific Edge after we stayed at the Huntington Beach sister property Shorebreak. We like Pacific Edge because it is pet friendly, Laguna is a vacation paradise and the beach front rooms are literally on the beach. You don't get many rooms where you could throw a stone into the water from your balcony. We love to bring our two terriers and enjoy the pet friendly beaches. For other dog owners,it is such a relief to take a vacation where you can bring your dogs and it is comfortable. They can sit on the beach with you, eat at awesome restaurants like Sundried Tomato Cafe and get groomed at Anything Canine. The hotel rooms are what you should expect for a room directly on the beach. Basic, colorful and clean. There is a small fridge and Kuerig coffee maker. We always request a micro. There are a million wonderful places to eat, but we love breakfast take out at our table in front of the sliding glass doors while we watch the ocean. We get awesome fresh juice and other delightful food from Orange Inn, which is just behind the hotel. The hotel offers a facility to work out off site. It is nothing fancy, but gets the job done. We usually use the beach for work outs. The on site spots to dine and drink are totally appropriate. Outdoors, on the beach, live music, good looking people and classic California menu. There is something for everyone in Laguna and you can't pass up the experience of staying in one of the beach front rooms at Pacific Edge. We go back as often as possible.

Room Tip: Must get room on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOCJAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
You're right — there is something for everyone in Laguna, and we try to mirror that in our hotel. It is lovely to hear from you, especially since you've come back to us time and time again! I'm glad that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay. Of course, let us know if there is anything we can do to make your time with us that much better! We'll see you next time you're in Laguna.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    377
    171
    144
    129
See reviews for
387
539
50
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Pulling up to the hotel it doesn't look like much, decorating the front lobby again and exterior would help as it feels like a motel at first, don't expect a resort. But dont let that impression fool you, it only gets better from there if you have an oceanfront room awaiting you. It is located in a very convenient location, very easy to walk down the street to visit all the shops and restaurants of Laguna beach. Ralphs is a block away. The hotel is separated into several buildings and separated by an alley. We requested early check in and a quieter room, upper floor for the oceanfront king we booked. We were given room 705 in the Surf bldg which was beautiful, very large, top floor, kitchenette, 180 degree views, literally hanging over the shoreline. Stunning, great people watching, can't be beat. We viewed another room in the reef bldg to be sure and it was much smaller and did not have as huge a deck. I was very impressed by the staff and their willingness to accommodate. When we could not get real creamers for our coffee since room service wasn't open til 8am, the front desk sent us coffee in to go cups and creamers from the lobby!
The room service is also very good and fast, serviced by the Beach House restaurant kitchen I believe. Great burger, chicken fingers, fries, lobster bisque, lobster quesadillas, ahi sashimi, yellowfin, spinach salad, chocolate lava cake, all very very good, high quality items.
The bed is very comfortable with high end linens. Great blow dryer hanging in bathroom, love that they thought of that for us girls with long hair. They could use more shelves somewhere to place your toiletries and make up bags.
They set up the beach umbrellas and beds for guests. The Deck is a fabulous oceanfront lounge for cocktails. I wish the pool and hot tub were oceanfront but it is a lovely area, could use more flowers and foliage for my liking. The resorts are all too far to walk to town, it is nice to be able to explore the area without renting a car. The mall at Newport beach was a short 15 minute cab ride away and worth the visit.
Overall I would recommend this hotel if you book oceanfront and being very close to the water is what you want. If you're not happy with something, just ask, they will try to accommodate you. Excellent service makes this place worth the visit.

Room Tip: Room 705 in the Surf building was fabulous, top floor, very large with great deck and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovehvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
We always love hearing such thoughtful, thorough comments from our guests. Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. It sounds like you had a fantastic stay! The oceanfront view truly can't be beat. I'm thrilled that you were so impressed with our staff. They really will go above and beyond to make sure that your time with us is fabulous. Thank you again for the review. We'll see you next time you're in Laguna.

Warm regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

From the beginning there is no place to park for check in, but after finding a parking meter on the street and checked in we were directed to return to our car and drive around the block to valet parking. Maybe they don't understand the meaning of valet parking which turns out to be in the middle of the street with traffic passing through from both directions. No real system of organization here. After checking in our car comes the really confused part. With our luggage in hand we find our way into the smallest elevator I have ever been in. When we get to what we think is our floor, we realize we can't get to our room (#20). So we take the elevator back down to lobby level where we started. (Why didn't I unload luggage here in the first place?) So now I have to climb a flight of stairs with my luggage. But it is a good thing I made this hike because now I know where I have to go to get ice. Down the stairs, then down the elevator and back out to valet area for ice. Once into the closet sized room we are greeted by a dank smelling room with a broken noisy rusted A/C which is actually blocked by a heavy curtain that doesn't move. We had to use a chair to hold the curtain from blocking the A/C. A huge bulky analog TV actually takes up most of the room on the dresser. The counterless bathroom was the biggest disappointment. One 2 foot long 2 X 8 inch board serves as a shelf. A couple more bathroom shelves and a flat screen TV alone would improve the quality of this room along with a properly funtioning A/C. No information was provided on the room or amenities, but we were able to obtain some information from front desk. Hotel website says two heated pools - we found 0. The deck lounge was disorganized chaos at best, with watered down drinks, sub-par food, and lousy service. And the hits just keep on coming. When we left and complained, we were told we should try to book an Ocean Front room. After $500 for 2 nights in a closet I wonder what that would cost me. Laguna Beach is beautiful with lots of great places to stay, visit, and eat, but the Pacific Edge is not one of them. You can do so much better for this kind of money.

Room Tip: Absolutely avoid rooms 16-20. Ocean front rooms appear to be in newer condition from outside but I c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich-N-LorasView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
I'm sorry to hear about this. It is disappointing that you were unhappy with your room. Did you ask to move? We're always happy to accommodate those requests whenever other rooms are available. It is also unfortunate that you were unable to find the pools. However, I can assure you that we do indeed have two pools on our property, as well as a jacuzzi. Remember that we are always happy to help, so don't hesitate to reach out if you need assistance locating anything in the surrounding area.

The experience you described does not meet our standards, and I apologize. I appreciate your honest feedback, and I will share your review with our hotel staff as well as The Deck's staff to see what we can do to improve. I know we can do better. I want to make this right for you. Please call me at (949) 494-8566 if you'd like to discuss this further.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I stayed here recently for a few days while visiting with a friend from abroad. The Service was friendly, helpfull and attentive.. sadly the rooms are a little worse for ware. I had resonable expectations from the Pacific Edge Resort, however even though we upgraded to a partial Oceanview room I was disappointed. The room was painted recently but it looks as if they just painted over old wallpaper and any old colors and cracks in the paint. the look they are trying to achieve is visible but instead of relaxed beachy and a little bit weathered it comes across as a patch job that was rushed through just to cover up what as there before.

Normally I wouldn't be bothered by a little age or even sometimes a little dirt (it's close the beach so it would be understandable) in this case though, I was really bothered. Leaning on the outside balcony to view the ocean my elbows were covered in white paint chips, heated by the sun they transferred to some of my clothing. there were small cracks through out the room and a subtly moldy smell. Now for the goods things!!

The lobby is inviting and so is the hotel staff, the extras including the Keurigs in room coffee makers were a nice touch, extra blankets in pastel OC beach colors were good too. I like the idea of this hotel and it's location but the few things that bothered me where the things that hotels usually rely on to make a good impression. I am sure this hotel is well run, but they should be taking the time in the off season to have a look at upgrading rooms that seems shabby in a not so Chic way!!!

Room Tip: TIP: get the upgrade, our room was supposed to be a standard rooms, and my complaints are about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arowetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you were a bit disappointed with your room. We have an excellent cleaning staff to make sure that each room is in tip-top shape, and I will discuss your review with them in hopes of eliminating any lingering odors. It's also unfortunate to hear about your experience with the paint chips on the balcony. I will have our maintenance team take a look at this. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

I'm glad that our staff made you feel welcome, and that you found your room so well appointed. We really appreciate reading thoughtful, thorough reviews like yours. It is constructive criticism like this that inspires us to do better. Thank you again. We hope you'll give us another chance to wow you next time you're in Laguna Beach.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We have been staying at this hotel, formerly Vacation Village for over 20 years. The new management has made a number of improvements, mostly cosmetic. The main improvement for me is that the beds are so much more comfortable and there is the convenience of room service. The best thing about this hotel is the closeness to the ocean. Oceanfront rooms practically overhang the waves. I would not stay here if I could not have an oceanfront room.

Room Tip: Oceanfront all the way. Spend the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janethebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
It's great to hear from you. We truly appreciate the kind words, especially since you've been staying at this property for over 20 years. I'm glad to hear how impressed you are with our recent improvements. Our comfortable beds really do guarantee a restful night's sleep! Thank you for the wonderful review. We'll see you next time you're in town.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is a great place!! It is prim location. You can walk on the beach , or walk the shops. You can walk 5 minutes up to the beautiful center of Laguna. Everything is there or in 5 minute walking distance, movie theater, Art museum, shops, and restaurants. This resort is ON the beach!! However, this is only if you get the right rooms. If you are not in the building I mention then this place is not on the beach and I don't feel worth it. The Reef rooms are all on and facing the beach. We really liked being on the first floor. The first floor is is a balcony room and We loved sitting them and watching the waves crash. Rooms 134,128,122,116. Are the least desirable. Very close to next tower. Rooms 139,133. 127, 121 are on the end with a great view. All have wonderful balconies with two chairs. The reef Tower is also on the beach. However Rooms 115,112,109,106,103 best views. But the first floor in this tower does not have direct access to the beach and you have to walk around. The second floor front has best access. NO NOT stay in building Seas,Bahia, or back of Surf wing unless great deal and need kitchen. Seas and Bahia are across a small street. The pool is just basic. The beach is amazing. If you call ahead of time they have Complimentary beach towels, lounge chair and umbrellas. Nice. they set them up for you. We ate at the Beach house. Perfect for romance. The deck is yummy. I would encourage you to order from the Deck for breakfast and stay in your room. Same price. This hotel also offers different pillow choices and the beds were very comfortable. I'm kinda of a bed snob. Small fridge and great coffee machine with coffee. Once out of Hotel to the right is Ralphs. This is a great place if you want to stay in the heart of Laguna and relax on the beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 118. Like the view and direct access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kimberly3900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Kimberly,

You're right! We are in the perfect location to access the beautiful city of Laguna and, of course, the beach. I appreciate that you took the time to leave the tips regarding the rooms. We like to provide several different layouts and views so that there is something to accommodate each of our guests. I'm delighted to hear that you were so impressed with both the Beach House and The Deck. They're excellent places to enjoy the freshest seafood with a gorgeous view. Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to see you next time you're in Laguna Beach!

Sincerely,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Our trip to Laguna Beach was a memorable one. We absolutely loved staying at The Pacific Edge Hotel! The staff was over the top friendly and our room was to die for! I highly suggest staying in an ocean front room! We stayed in a 1st level ocean front room. We slept with the balcony door open listening to the waves that would come up right below our balcony! Unbelievable and unforgettable stay!! We will be back!! A+++++

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charitymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill T, General Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
I'm thrilled that you had such a fabulous vacation! It's great to hear that everyone made you feel so welcome. I'm glad you were able to sleep with your balcony doors open. Hearing waves crash on the shore is the perfect way to be lulled into a restful sleep! Thank you for the kind words. We're looking forward to seeing you next time you're in Laguna.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.8 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.9 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.2 km away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.2 km away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
1.2 km away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2415 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing