We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONLY REAL FINE DINING IN ORANGE COUNTY”
Review of Studio

Studio
Ranked #8 of 186 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Montage Resort Drive & South Pacific Coast Highway
Description: With a panoramic oceanfront location and modern french cuisine with California influences, Studio is the portrait of beachside indulgence a refined and inventive menu reflects masterful attention to detail accented with an elegant, creative touch. Set on an oceanfront bluff in the artistic village of Laguna Beach, Studio is designed to captivate the senses. Ocean breezes, panoramic views and lush landscapes create a refreshing sense of place at the water's edge and a fitting backdrop for the shared enjoyment of fine food and wine.
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

Many restaurants say they are fine dining but they are trurky not. Studio however is the ultimate definition of fine dining as it used to be. Elegant atmosphere, ocean view, and service that moves seamlessly, impeccably and quiet like a fine gold watch, not missing a beat. The food leans a bit more glam in look than needed but it sure is beautiful. And every single plate is superb to eat. Expect to spend a lot. But for that special occasion its worth it.

We’ve been to many fine dining establishments in OC but none live up to this for the overall dining experience.

Thank Dizzytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 348 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2017

Gorgeous setting, excellent wine list and the food is always uniquely and perfectly prepared. Among the very best dining experiences you'll find on the west coast. Wild seafood is so fresh you'll be looking for the boat's dock. Service is six star. Perfection.

Thank Calibre57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017

We celebrated our joint anniversaries with our best friends - it was a fabulous experience! The service was among the best I have ever received - the sommeliers were so knowledgeable, as was our lead server.

The food was outstanding across all of the courses - even though we declined a dessert, they presented us with custom anniversary congratulations small bite dessert trays. Definitely a wonderful way to finish our special night out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sallen512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick_Riess, General Manager at Studio, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Studio restaurant. We are honored that you chose to spend your anniversary with us and enjoyed the food and service. Wishing you a happy anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Rick Riess
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017

I love this restaurant and tried the sparkling drinks, the sauteed sea bass is amazing, the alaskan halibut is so good so as the chilled oysters and charred octopus, the house recommended dessert, Guanaja Chocolate Sphere was very good also the Dulcey Ganache Carrot Cake. Everything taste amazing. The Chef, Craig Strong has very good creations.

Thank 693mariaelisac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick_Riess, Managing Director, Montage Laguna Beach at Studio, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Thank you for your kind review regarding your experience at Studio restaurant. We will make sure to share your mentions with Chef Strong and the culinary team and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Rick Riess
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2017

This is our third time dining here, and Studio has still got it. The food is excellent, and an outside table is the only way to go for a summer evening dinner.
As with any restaurant, the overall experience is only as good as the waitstaff, and it's true here, too. Expectations do tend to run a bit high because of the class of restaurant (and the prices being charged), and here's where Studio needs a little work. Our server and first sommelier were great, as well as the food runners and bussers. The second sommelier that helped us (apparently, the first one had to leave abruptly and didn't get a chance to let us know!) seemed less friendly. The bartender where we had a cocktail beforehand was also not as friendly. The team of young hosts at the front door were nice enough, but a couple seemed to lack polish: one didn't seem like she could find our request for an outside table (even though we confirmed it three times over the course of a week), and another yawned in our face as she tried to find our name on the reservation list. There seemed to be a disconnect in the quality of service between the waitstaff and the front of the house.
Overall, a 4-star experience in a 5-star restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cja2k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick_Riess, Manager at Studio, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share a review about Studio restaurant. We have noted your feedback, share them with the Studio team and hope to implement improvements on each topic during your next visit. We hope to welcome you back to Montage Laguna Beach in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rick Riess
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Studio also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing