We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great views”
Review of Studio

Studio
Ranked #8 of 188 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Montage Resort Drive & South Pacific Coast Highway
Description: With a panoramic oceanfront location and modern french cuisine with California influences, Studio is the portrait of beachside indulgence a refined and inventive menu reflects masterful attention to detail accented with an elegant, creative touch. Set on an oceanfront bluff in the artistic village of Laguna Beach, Studio is designed to captivate the senses. Ocean breezes, panoramic views and lush landscapes create a refreshing sense of place at the water's edge and a fitting backdrop for the shared enjoyment of fine food and wine.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

Good food with great views. Atmosphere is first class, with service to match. Take a walk along the beautiful trail on the ocean cliffs after your meal.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank AZ1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie_Houston, General Manager at Studio, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Thank you for joining us at Studio! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Anne-Marie Houston
General Manager
Montage Laguna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 348 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I dined here to celebrate my birthday and found it outstanding in every respect. We were seated outside with a postcard view of the surf looking South with the Dana Headlands in the distance. To the North we had the Treasure Island Beach cove and the sunset. Service was perfect (thank you Saul). And, yes, the food was outstanding, too: perfectly prepared, beautifully plated, and out of this world flavors. Every bite was wonderful. Overall, just a delightful, exceptional white table cloth dining experience in a perfect setting.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank jr1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie_Houston, General Manager at Studio, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Thank you for celebrating with us at Studio! I am delighted to hear that your experience lived up to expectations and that we were able to provide the perfect backdrop for your birthday celebration. We do hope to welcome you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Anne-Marie Houston
General Manager
Montage Laguna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2018

Okay, only one teeny complaint, otherwise ratingis 5-plus stars for food, service & ambiance. So first let me say WOW!! Our party of 7 all had the tasting menu,including the wine pairing. An exceptional gastronomic experience!!! Not a single miss. Even when we did not agree with a wine pairing on one course, the somelier brought us another!!!
So, here's my complaint....this is not a 'bargain' dinner, nor did we expect it to be....BUT seriously?! Don't you think charging for WATER and for COFFEE on top of the already hefty price tag is just a bit petty?!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cruzinthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie_Houston, General Manager at Studio, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Thank you for joining us at Studio! I am delighted to hear of your five-star experience and appreciate your feedback as we are always seeking ways to improve. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Studio in the future.
Sincerely,
Anne-Marie Houston
General Manager
Montage Laguna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018

Over the years, this restaurant has proven to be a wonderful dining experience. My most recent visit was no exception. There were five of us--three chose the multi-course tasting and two chose from the menu. Everyone was thrilled with his/her choice. Wait staff was wonderful, as well. We sat outdoors and enjoyed the location and scenery. Wine list is great but expensive. Corkage is $50 per bottle. Looking forward to a return visit.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shannydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie_Houston, General Manager at Studio, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Thank you for dining with us at Studio! From the culinary experience to service and location, it sounds like you had a perfect evening! On behalf of the entire Studio team, we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Sincerely,
Anne-Marie Houston
General Manager
Montage Laguna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Other than being seated in the back dining area with mainly views of the hotel lawn, our dinner experience was excellent and overall very deserving of a top rating. From the Friday evening business overcome by excellent valet staff, to our greeting, the venue an our wait staff and food; it was superbly done all the way around. The wine list is to die for (how many vintages of Screaming Eagle? 14!) and everyone made us feel un-hurried, appreciated and welcome.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank matthewc397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie_Houston, General Manager at Studio, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Dear Matthew,

Thank you for joining us at Studio. I am delighted to hear you had a memorable experience in all aspects and I look forward to sharing your comments with our team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back as our valued guest, hopefully in the near future!

Sincerely,
Anne-Marie Houston
General Manager
Montage Laguna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Studio also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing