We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tides Laguna Beach
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My partner and I come to California form the UK every year. We decided to spend our first and last weekends at Laguna, we love it there. Our fist weekend we stayed at the Holiday Inn. We have stayed there before and think it is a nice although not cheap hotel. For the last weekend we found the TIdes on Trip Advisor and we are very grateful.
This is an exceptional hotel, I cant believe that it is classed a two star. Our room was clean, decor was lovely. The bed was REALLY comfortable. For being so close to the road there was very little noise. The pool area was great really comfortable. We unfortunately didnt get a chance to sit by the fire at night.
On leaving the owner showed us some of the other rooms and it made us want to come back even more. In fact I want to get their decorator for my house in the UK.
Great price and location, everything a short walk. Will be back soon.

Room Tip: They are all good no tips required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ed30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thanks so much for sharing your nice comments about your recent stay with us. It means a lot when our guests appreciate our "non-hotel" touches. We have lots of fun changing things around all the time. Please hurry back for another visit from the UK soon.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    134
    30
    14
    12
See reviews for
125
198
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Union Grove, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Laguna Beach is Awesome in too many ways to list so just come,..trust me..We are staying at the Tides and lovin it!!! Perfect location, amenities,friendliness, cleanliness, all for a crazy good rate!!! We'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drtmarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thanks so much for mentioning our "crazy good rate" because we are trying hard to give our guests the most for their hard earned buck. We are aware of the current economic mess and believe coming to Laguna Beach should be affordable and take some stress away. Hoping you return soon.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I planned a last minute getaway to Laguna Beach so my 23 year old teacher-daughter could enjoy a few days of R&R while on Spring Break. I found The Tides Inn on tripadvisor so gave it a whirl based on its good reviews. Because we had called only a week before arrival, the best I could do was to book one room for the first night and a second, larger room for nights two and three. No problem, though. The staff (super friendly, helpful, and always accessible) moved our luggage. Both rooms had incredibly comfy beds and ample linens; the shower in the first room was a bit tight. The larger room had a bigger shower, nice deck and kitchen. Admittedly, we did not use the kitchen, but had we stayed longer, good to know we'd have ample room to store PB&Js and some beach drinks and snacks. Great counter space, too, and a cute table and chairs. On our last two visits to Laguna (eight and nine years ago) we had stayed on S. Coast Highway. This was further north, and we loved the location. It was easy walking distance to all the shops and to the beach and very quiet during the week. Nice restaurants nearby, coffee shops and Heisler Park practically across the street. The manager's dog was cute, too and posed for pics with us. We would definitely stay here again; our stay was perfect. High Five for The Tides!

Room Tip: I'd book the larger room because of the shower and kitchen. Second floor was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southernroadmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
We truly love the "High Fives" and thanks so very much. Teachers always need a break and we are glad you enjoyed yours with us. Mother/daughter get-aways are also special. We look forward to your return visit.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We went to Palm Springs, Laguna Beach and La Jolla. This was the least expensive hotel, but closest to the beach/town and the best sleep we had. Room was quiet, very clean and comfortable. Nice mattress and bedding. We did not use the kitchenette but a nice addition for when we stay longer. Flat screen tv and nice AC/heater remote control. Very close to several galleries, restaurants and the beautiful walking path along the coast. I hesitate to review this hotel, so it can be a well kept secret but the owners/inn keepers deserve this rating. We did not use the pool, but it was pretty and they had a nice outdoor flreplace. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for room near the back of property, nearer office to be more off the main road to reduce the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Headed4theBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
We are extremely happy that you DID write a review. Thank you very much. We are trying to keep Laguna Beach affordable for everyone. We love what we do. Hoping to see you back real soon.
Linda, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Originally from So Cal and am a diver and beach nut. My wife and I always come down to Laguna when I visit family in town and were always looking for that 'special' place. We tried some of the higher-end spots but when we found out about the Tides, we booked it.

Two nights and it should have been two weeks. The Host Joe and his wife were absolutely wonderful to deal with. The place is fabulous and I will not stay anywhere else in Orange County but will always come back to The Tides.........

Clean, very much a great value for what you pay, free paking; NOBODY else does that, wonderful pool area with an outdoor fireplace. Just perfect. You are walking distance from just about everything Laguna Beach as to offer...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiverChaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
We really do appreciate your taking the time to comment. Seems like we have the nicest and happiest guests. We look forward to your longer return visit. Thanks so much.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Very charming little boutique-y motel.
The customer service was the clincher, and why I'd certainly come back, if ever in this area again. The evening staff stayed late when we called from Anaheim to see if we could get a room that same night, upon arriving he then mapped us out things we must do and see in town the next day. The morning staff was equally lovely.
Did wish that their awesome birthday rates had applied to one nights stay (minimum is 2!) as we arrived on my birthday, and had been hoping to keep our last night under $100!
Room was simple, clean, and the pillows were fabulous. Pool was really lovely, and while we didn't use it, we really wished we had the time to.
Free parking was great, as well as the free wifi (which is a must when travelling internationally, as data was way too costly to use on our smart phones)
As well, after driving the coast the next day it was apparent just how great the location of the Tides was...as we passed by many of the other well hotels that had been on our list to perhaps stay at that ended up being so far from town.
Really, really hope to go back someday.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kristen_anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
We love being appreciated. Thank you. Hoping you are planning another "birthday" trip of at least 2 days. Laguna Beach is a great place to celebrate anything!
We try to give our guests as much "free" as we can--parking, wifi, beach supplies as well as "no" minimum stay. Looking forward to your next visit.
Linda, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Although an older building, very well maintained. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Each room is decorated differently. Good water pressure in shower. Walking distance to downtown Laguna Beach and the beach. A lovely cliff top park just across the road. Motel is oriented so road noise is lessened. Pool is well maintained. Managers were very friendly and helpful with local information. We would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Phone and speak to a manager, each room is different and only some pictures are on the web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank physiomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Thanks for your good advice for our future guests. Our rooms are indeed different. We do our best to find the one just right for each guest. And thank you for staying with us and taking the time out to comment on our pretty Tides Inn.

Judy and Joe
Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
2.1 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
0.4 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
1.2 km away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
305 reviews
1.0 km away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
433 reviews
2.0 km away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Laguna Beach

Property: The Tides Laguna Beach
Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Laguna Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Tides Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing